We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upper Deck Tour - one day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours - CLOSED

Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 2 hour narrated tour of Boston and Cambridge featuring 21 stops and hundreds of Boston sightseeing attractions! Free Super Duck Harbor Splash and other free bonus tours with a Premium trolley ticket! Hop on hop off all you want throughout Boston and Cambridge! Get off an Upper Deck Trolley at any of our 21 stops to shop, sightsee, and eat. Rejoin the tour at your convenience! Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours' modern luxury trolleys feature comfortable seating above traffic for the best views, climate control, and open air photo opportunities all over Boston from elevated seating platforms. Join us!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
East Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Upper Deck Tour - one day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed our tour and did find it the most stops with very well informed drivers. We enjoyed Mr Sunshine the most. Our bad experience was our last pick up just before 5:00. We waited at stop #4 to be picked up. The trolley came by but did not stop for us. We called the company and they said the trolley was at stop #1. We waited. No trolley. We called again. We were told the trolley was at stop #1. We had to take a cab to North Station or miss our train. Not a good ending to a very nice day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1Tutu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    206
    57
    36
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great use of time if you only have a couple of days in the Boston area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend this tour. We were only in Boston for three days and we chose the two day package. The drivers were very knowledgeable and friendly. The women at the Cambridge booth were especially helpful and nice!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lmlupner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Terrible tour guides!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I visited Boston as a day trip. I had been before and taken a tour with a different company and the tour guides were wonderful and gave crazy amounts of history and stories, along with a good dose of humor. So, when my husband came with me this time, we looked up the highest rated tour and the upper deck tour seemed to be the winner...bad decision! The buses were comfortable and nice but the tour guides were TERRIBLE!!! We got off several times hoping the next bus driver would be better... We had a total of 5 drivers and only one was decent. The others were dull, boring, angry with the world or spent their time talking about whatever they wanted. No joke, our first driver spent 3-5 minutes talking about mosquitos...all while we are passing by very historical sights. So disappointed. Next time we'll find a different tour company to use.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kjpugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSilverman, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Sorry you were disappointed in your experience with us Kjpugh - especially since this is your first review on TripAdvisor. We'd like to know who the various drivers were that you had on your tour so we can help improve our service. Would you be able to to take a look at our staff page and let us know who the guides were? See bostonsupertours {dot} com/about/crew/ and please let us know.

We'd also like to offer you and your party complementary tickets next time you're in Boston. Feel free to contact me directly and I'll make sure you have a great experience.

Thank you for sharing your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent tour with quality staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This company should be very proud of the staff they have. The bus drivers/guides, are real characters, very knowledgeable and we really laughed. Alice on the foot tour around Cambridge was so good and knew her history. If you use a company to tour around Boston, choose this one!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hubiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“This is the one to go with!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I can't imagine why anyone would go with any other tour group. The bus is elevated, the windows are large and the seats are comfortable and spaced out. I saw a packed trolley that looked like a sardine tin. There wasn't any room for people to get on. That tour had to be the "budget" group where people saved $10. Penny wise-pound foolish.

Our tour guide, Mr. Sunshine was fantastic. He had a nice and mellow voice to listen to, and he was very informative. Since it is hop-on/hop off we also had another tour guide who took a more comedic approach. He had us laughing out loud a couple times and I'm a pretty tough audience when it comes to comedy. Not sure his name but his schtick was "that's my favorite place." I wanted to stay on longer just to hear his routine.

They hit the big sites. Plenty of buses/never a wait. Clean. Comfortable. 5 stars! Worth the money. Don't be cheap. How often do you visit Boston? Do it right.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluelouboil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing