We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a 'must do'”
Review of Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours - CLOSED

Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 2 hour narrated tour of Boston and Cambridge featuring 21 stops and hundreds of Boston sightseeing attractions! Free Super Duck Harbor Splash and other free bonus tours with a Premium trolley ticket! Hop on hop off all you want throughout Boston and Cambridge! Get off an Upper Deck Trolley at any of our 21 stops to shop, sightsee, and eat. Rejoin the tour at your convenience! Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours' modern luxury trolleys feature comfortable seating above traffic for the best views, climate control, and open air photo opportunities all over Boston from elevated seating platforms. Join us!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a 'must do'”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We bought the three day premium ticket that included a tour of Cambridge. The buses are high and give a good view as the drivers give an excellent running commentary of points of historical interest. We used our ticket on all 3 days and so met lots of different drivers who all had extra stories to tell on the route. All were patient and thoughtful and tried to tailor their talk to whoever was on the bus (if you are British, you might need to develop a thick skin or wear a badge to say that your ancestors were Irish!). Irish Pat was particularly entertaining and Cindy remembered details about customers from the previous day, asking them if they had a good evening etc. Each driver we saw was as flexible as possible and all offered to stop anywhere on the route during the last loop of the day so that customers were as close to their destination as possible.
We went on the Cambridge Loop to visit Harvard and the Natural History Museum (included with our ticket). The splash tour (also included) was really informative and the crew were friendly and entertaining. We also visited the art gallery (included with tour) and were pleasantly surprised to find something to interest all of us.
Without the tour, we wouldn't have seen or understood a fraction of what Boston has to offer. I couldn't imagine that the staff on other tours are friendlier or more helpful. We were walking towards a bus stop with a brochure in our hands and the trolley stopped to pick us up as we had been spotted by the driver. It's like being looked after for 3 days!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pengu1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSilverman, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback pengu1n! Your experience is exactly what we strive to provide to all our guests. It's true that our vehicles are the highest riding with the best views in Boston, and our experienced and thoughtful tour guides are the icing on the cake. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    206
    57
    36
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
here and there
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top notch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great value for money! Knowledgable tour guides and a great city to see! Apart from continual references to throwing out the British, which is interlaced with the city's history, a fab way of getting around Boston and Charlestown! The Cambridge Loop is very good too! It's worth spending the extra money on the ticket to be able to visit the extra attractions and take the weight off your feet at the same time!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kobing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great tour - worth paying for premium online if in Boston for a few days”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed my tour on the trolley. The drivers were great telling us the history of each area, one of the drivers was exceptional who really looked after us and made us feel very welcome.

The trolley was comfortable and warm - we were able to pen the plastic windows and some of us did when the weather improved. They do need to replace the plastic windows for low season though as they are not that clear to see out of.

Purchased the 3 day premium pass and did the loop and several parts again!

Also did the Cambridge loop, Splash duck tour, Harvard Natural History Museum, The Old South Meeting House and Institute of Contemporary Art.

Advice - can join parts at different points to save going all the way around if your willing to walk a few blocks. Useful if your trying to get to attractions
Stop 3&5 close together to avoid Splash Loop.
1 &6 close together 5 blocks -
Can avoid Splash loop or stops 7-21
7 &19 one block away - 19 gets you back into downtown Boston
14&18 separated by grass area in front of library.

Helpful?
Thank Si_uk_says
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Many choices for tours but liked the high vantage point”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

You will have three or four competing companies. Upper Deck was recommended by our concierge and we got the three day tour which included several other "tickets" most notably the harbor splash. We chose this company because it is the only one--that we could tell--that goes to Cambridge / Harvard; you have to change buses but you do get the extra visit. We enjoyed our local guide Bill and learned much about Boston. This company has less buses compared to their competitors and thus less frequent but that did not affect us. Sitting up high is an advantage if you sit up front there are three series of seats that are like stadium seating and you can have a great unimpeded view. To do the whole loop with Cambridge/Harvard is more than 3 hours.

The harbor splash was fun and mostly because of the crew.

I believe starting with a tour like this will give you a sense of what the history of the town is and then you can plan your walking visit.

Highly recommend a tour and this company did an excellent job.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zoomer2You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanSilverman, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Zoomer2You! Our stadium seating really puts us head and shoulders above our competition, along with the fact that our vehicles are the newest and cleanest in Boston. And yes, only Upper Deck Trolley Tours goes to Cambridge and Harvard. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlaois
1 review
“drivers and country”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

we went on the tour in boston tour for one day it was quite informative the two drivers were bill and paddy full of information and crack well done lads keep it up very work. I learned that the population was 600.000 with out the students and 900.000 with them it seems to be a very popular place for univerisity harvard and cambridge two to mention well worth the trip thanks from paddy vero

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Upper Deck Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing