We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“113 Beacon St. --Apt. 6 FRONT”
Review of Back Bay Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Back Bay Beacon
Ranked #20 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“113 Beacon St. --Apt. 6 FRONT”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a 3 BR, 2 BA condo my friends and I rented for 7 nights for about $3200. The location is great. It might've rated four or five BUT...
When we arrived, the AC wasn't working and it was 84 degrees in the condo with no window that opens. Stifling. I called Ferne, the InnBostonReservations property manager, and the repairman did immediately fix it.
However, there were no kitchen towels, no paper towels, and not enough toilet paper--all things provided by owner supposedly. Plus the WIFI was difficult to successfully log into, and if you paused use for even 1 minute, you lost the connection. I emailed Ferne. She replied by giving me a support number for WIFI and said the rest would be taken care of. (Why would we have to call a technical support number for WIFI we didn't own? )
We received 1 roll of paper towel which was delivered while we were out. When I called Ferne a few days later AGAIN for TP, she said nothing could be done that evening. She also said people write emails and sign her name so she wasn't aware we needed any. But this was untrue because she did reference other parts of the email exchange between us so I knew she'd read my notes (sent on different days) saying we still didn't get TP or kitchen towels.
The condo itself was nice except the dining room chair pads were stained, gross, and the chairs were wobbly. One actually fell apart. We were never able to use the TV because there were 3 remotes and no instructions.
We felt for the price, we shouldn't have to be warning each other not to use that chair, calling and emailing the manager for repairs and supplies, or using our precious vacation time shopping for toilet paper and other things that were supposed to be provided. Also, if my phone didn't have 4G, the WIFI issue would've been serious. We couldn't use our other devices. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnesotajul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
12
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Germantown
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very conveniently located to Copley Square, Freedom Trail and Boylston Street. Food at the two restaurants was very good, the breakfasts were outstanding. I stayed in two queen room, ample space and great nights sleep. Within walking distance to sights, dining, and historic attractions.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms at the top facing the John Hancock building have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just stayed at the penthouse this past weekend and it was amazing! The views, the rooms and the kitchen and bar area stocked with dishes and glassware. The bathrooms are gorgeous and super updated. Honestly though, my favorite part about this building is the elevator and access to the roof. I had a few other friends staying with me and everyone was blown away! There is plenty of space to have guests sleep and hang out in the large living room/dining room area and you honestly cannot beat the location. Thank you Back Bay Beacon you made this girl seriously happy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very clean and excellent location in my favorite neighborhood. The only thing that was wrong was that the washer was broken- it didn't agitate and our clothes didn't get clean. We had to schlep it down to the Beacon street laundromat twice. Other than that- great layout and perfect for a family of four. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASUkiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

You really can't beat this location, within a block of the Public Garden and very near Copley Square, the Freedom Trail and the T. We were in Unit 5F, which had clearly been renovated since some of the reviews for it last year. This is not a huge unit, but has two distinct bedrooms and some good living space. It's not the brightest space, but it's your typical Boston brownstone. Worked out great for our family of 4.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoos90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at the Back Bay Inn - Room 4R. The location of this Inn is fabulous. One block from Boston Common Park makes it easy to get anywhere in the city. This charming Brownstone has been neglected. The unit was furnished with second hand furniture and cheaply finished. The window in the bedroom is being held in place with tape and will fall at any moment. Making reservations on line was a nightmare. The management company owns multiple buildings in Boston and will move you to another property based on availability without clearly telling you. It took multiple phone calls to get it straightened out and each time the price kept going up. Won't be back. Boston was fabulous though!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hughchoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

san francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We needed a last minute place to stay for 2 nights before heading out to the Cape. This was literally the only place available to rent....so it was better than sleeping on the street. Just barely.

The 2 bedroom we stayed in was on 5 or 6 levels, it was like a 1980's funhouse. You entered into the mini kitchen, went up a few steps to a living room/dining room that had stained carpets and smelled of smoke and mildew. Then you went up a few more steps to a narrow strip that might have been a "library" or upper livingroom. More steps up to a landing with a bathroom and even more steps up to a bedroom on either side of a landing.

This may once have been a beautiful apartment, the building from the outside is lovely and the location is perfect, just next to the Public Garden. It was obviously chopped up to make smaller units but I'm not sure an architect was consulted. This is certainly not a B+B.

It was certainly an interesting stay. Rather dark and stuffy. I would not stay here again unless it was for a bet where I stood to make a lot of money.

On the plus side, parking was easy and there are some great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spiderkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
1,901 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 83 in Boston
2,678 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
7,270 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Bay Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Beacon

Property: Back Bay Beacon
Address: 113 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02116-1533
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Back Bay Beacon 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy architecturally unique suites in a Boston Back Bay brownstone.This 150 year old brownstone is located in one of Boston's most prestigious and historical neighborhoods. Just steps away enjoy sailboats and summer concerts along the Charles River, or relax in the Boston Public Gardens. You can experience the buzz of Boston's Financial District and marvel over the gold embossed State House built in 1798 where the metal work of Paul Revere is proudly displayed.After a long day at the office or an exciting city tour, you'll be glad to return to all of the comforts of home. Beacon on the Common provides an eclectic selection of private suites that tastefully mix old world charm with modern appointments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelPower and Priceline so you can book your Back Bay Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing