We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run like the wind, there are much better rentals in Boston”
Review of Back Bay Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Back Bay Beacon
Ranked #19 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I also take no pleasure in giving a bad review, in fact, this is my first review. 113 Beacon is a lovely brownstone in the heart of Back Bay; close to the Public Garden, great restaurants, shopping and tourist adventures. Our unit was 1-Front, next to the street & front entry and had a gourmet galley kitchen, hardwood floors, & much old-world charm. However, a back unit was rented to a group hosting a bachelor party, complete with a stripper. Our first night, the large group loudly partied in their unit, the halls & on the front stoop where they smoked in front of our AC. It smelled like they were smoking inside our unit. They slammed doors, yelled, and generally acted like a bunch of drunks at a Frat party. We called management at 2 AM & she promised to do something, nothing was done. Two more calls went to voice mail. We called the police at 2:30 AM. They did a drive-by but the partying continued. We called again around 3 AM and 2 cruisers w/ 4 police came and broke up the party on the front steps. The party continued all night inside their unit. Management called the next morning, apologized, & said if it happened again, she would send her "bouncer." On Sat night, the group returned about 2-3 AM & partied in their unit, again smoking on the stoop. We called the rental agent's home phone but it went to voice mail. So much for responding with the bouncer. For the same money, we could have stayed at the Marriott in Copley, had a restful sleep, and been better protected from other guests. Look elsewhere, this place was no bargain at any price.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel or B & B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AltheaH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas D, Manager at Back Bay Beacon, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Back Bay Beacon for your recent trip to Boston.

We appreciate your kind remarks on the location of our building and the quality of your rental!

We can't apologize enough for the problems that you experienced at the hands of some extremely inconsiderate guests. We do not condone parties of any type at our property, and we do enforce quiet hour's from 11 pm to 7 am. Unfortunately, these guests required police involvement in order to be controlled.

As for the delay in reaction, I believe that you were in contact with the third party Booking Agent that made your reservations, and not our property management office. We would have had police there immediately.

We know that a refund does not make up for a horrible stay, but we hope that you know that we did refund you and that we hope you will consider returning in the future. Our two and three bedroom fully furnished apartments with kitchens are an extremely good alternative to the typical hotel stay, for the traveler that does not need the extra services, but wants to feel like they are living in Boston during their stay.

Please let us know if you have any questions, or if there is anything that we can do to assist you with future reservation needs.

Best Regards,

Tom DeSisto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

My friends and I were looking for a comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay in the city. We did not want to have to walk far to get to the shops or restaraunts. Our stay at 113 Beacon could not have been better. The location is perfect. With Newbury street a few streets back and the park just steps away, we had a great Boston night filled with endless options. Staying here truly made our stay in the city worth while. The place was immaculate. It was a hot summer night and the air conditioning made things cool and comfortable. When we saw other guests in the hallway, they were friendly and said hello to us, but we never heard from them again as our room was quiet and private. The beds were so comfortable that I could have slept all morning, but with so much surrounding us outside we had to get up and walk around. I would absolutely recommend staying at 113 Beacon if you are looking for a great place to stay in Boston. I honestly do not have one bad thing to say, other than my stay was too short. I would go back in a second. Hope you all have as great a time as we did when you choose to stay at this property, I am positive you will!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas D, Manager at Back Bay Beacon, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Back Bay Beacon for your recent trip to Boston! Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

We are so happy that you has such a wonderful stay! Please let us know if you have any questions, or if there is anything that we can do to assist you with any future reservation needs.

Best Regards,

Tom DeSisto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We made travel arrangements months ago. We were shown pictures of 2 bedroom properties and were assured that all units were alike. Do NOT stay here unless you want to over pay for a run down unit. Once you get here, you could find yourself in a dirty, rundown, mediocre unit with no other alternatives. There might be some nice units in the building.... But apparently they are saved for "special" guests. Do not stay here..... Location is a 5..... Rest is 2. NO, I can not recommend. There are other places that have a good location for similar price.

Room Tip: You can not choose a room here. Rooms are "assigned" the week prior to arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cstoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great location, close to shopping, restaurants, business,
but misses on overall service, attention to details.
Room service is slow, one day they never answered,
phone and order taken by front desk. Once you ask for
Assistance, it's offered, but not proactive. Housekeeping
knocked on door at 8am wanting to clean the room.
Don't know if I will stay there again, but location is great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed one night in a two bedroom unit (1F). The location was fabulous-right next to the Boston Commons and near the Charles River. The Hines Convention Center was within walking distance.

Compared to their property on Columbus Street (The Boston Christopher) this two bedroom unit that my roommate and I stay in for one night looked a bit dingy and worn.

The unit was spacious and the living room furnished with a table, 4 chairs, sofas, coffee table etc. Not particularly stylish, but comfortable none the less. The bedrooms were a bit odd-one was a high flight down and the other a half flight up from the living room. Each had shutters or sliding wooden panels that opened into the living room-you could close them for privacy or open them for ventilation (as we did to keep the air circulating from the window air conditioner). The kitchen was tiny and appears to have been jammed above where a long closet was located in the lower bedroom. The downstairs bath was a bit musty smelling and may have had some mold-I'm allergic to mold and my eyes started watering every time I went in there.

The bedrooms and baths need updating and the unit repainted. The original finished woodwork was beautiful and it looks like the building might have been spectacular before it was cut up into multiple apartments.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful-in fact we ended up at the Back Bay Beacon because they'd overbooked our room at the Boston Christopher and moved us out to the Back Bay Beacon (and didn't charge us for that night, since the overbooking was their fault).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColumbiaMDPercolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

There were 5 of us staying in 2F, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms.
Entry was push button so no key to pick up, this worked really well as we could go off in different directions and not worry about who had the key.
The apartment proved to be tired looking with a coule of missing rails from the stair case and knocks and scuffs everywhere but it was very clean and the carpets look quite new.
We loved the quirky way it was laid out with steps and rooms going off in odd directions.
The kitchen was full of all the pots and pans you would need for feeding a family, there's also a dishwasher.
There is no tourist information which would have been a good touch, advice on local supermarkets and restaraunts, that sort of thing.
Location is excellent and we were able to walk everywhere. We would deffinately stay again.
There is a lift but it looks like another apartment door so it's easy to miss it.
The whole apartment looks to be made out of just one very large original room and the wall between one bedroom and the sitting room is about 7 foot high in a 4 ft high room so open at the top.
Then there are 2 more bedrooms on a mezzanine floor that look out over the sitting room and lower bedroom. This didn't worry us as we are all family but I can see it might concern some people.

Room Tip: booked through apartments2book.com makes this very god value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalSilverbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed in apt. 4F during the St.Patrick Day's weekend this month and it is located in a beautiful neighbourhood, beside Boston Commons, one block from Cheers, a short walk to Newbury St. and Beacon Hill. About a 20 minute walk to the home of the Bruins and to the port. We easily found street parking in front which is free after 6pm on weekdays and all weekend. The inside could use some updating but the location and rates more than makes up for it. It is furnished with a full kitchen, dining room and LCD in the living room. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: 4th floor walk-up building with a narrow stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#33 of 84 in Boston
2,846 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,386 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#48 of 84 in Boston
7,834 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#59 of 84 in Boston
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Back Bay Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Bay Beacon

Address: 113 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02116-1533
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $177 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Back Bay Beacon 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy architecturally unique suites in a Boston Back Bay brownstone.This 150 year old brownstone is located in one of Boston's most prestigious and historical neighborhoods. Just steps away enjoy sailboats and summer concerts along the Charles River, or relax in the Boston Public Gardens. You can experience the buzz of Boston's Financial District and marvel over the gold embossed State House built in 1798 where the metal work of Paul Revere is proudly displayed.After a long day at the office or an exciting city tour, you'll be glad to return to all of the comforts of home. Beacon on the Common provides an eclectic selection of private suites that tastefully mix old world charm with modern appointments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Back Bay Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Back Bay Beacon Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing