We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic visit for my sons 18th birthday!!

We visited the hotel for 3 nights after staying in New York for my sons 18th birthday. This place... read more

Reviewed November 7, 2018
N T
,
Solihull
via mobile
What a difference an awesome guide can make!

I've been to Boston a couple of times before this, but the experience of having Bill as our guide... read more

Reviewed November 6, 2018
rdragon78
,
Campbell, California
via mobile
Read all 198 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Boston
from $25.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
from $44.05
More Info
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
190
3
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
3
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour tour walden pond highly recommend this company auburn cemetery specific interests custom tour cruise ship professional tour amazing knowledge harvard yard wonderful tour martha's vineyard revolutionary war cape cod these guys an excellent guide money well spent
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 198 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely day with our guide, Joe. Our interest was in seeing the history of the city, but with a lot of local neighborhood color. We wanted to understand the vibe of each neighborhood. Wow, did Joe deliver! He is a born and bred “Southie” so his ability to show us the ins and out of South Boston was second to none. He also took us to the North end, Charlestown, Cambridge and many sights in between. It was awesome to see the city from a super friendly, fun and Boston lifer POV. Thanks for the great day!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Macntuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

We decided on short notice to tour Boston in a half a day on Thursday,August 9th. We originally were going to book a tour through Viator but after having to repeat myself several times because of a language barrier and then after booking they called me to tell me that there we no openings we were left with finding a company that could assist us in such short notice so we decided to go with this company and boy we were not disappointed! They were able to book us with only an hour before we arrived on the train at South Station, which is highly recommended as transportation into Boston. We give this company 5 stars for any tours though out the New England area. If we would have known about other tours that they would accommodate; we would have used them for a trip to Cape Cod that we did on our own. We missed so much because of our lack of knowledge of the area! Our tour guide for Boston was Svenya! She was amazing! She was only in this country for 11 years but her knowledge of the area was better than most! We asked her to show the highlights of Boston and that is what she did, stopping where ever we needed her too. She also supplied us water for our trip and that was a nice touch! We went to all the touristy sites and stopped at some very old cemetery's along the way. If you are planning a trip to Boston, Cape Cod, Martha's Vineyard, etc and you don't want a walking tour or to be with a big group ...look this company up, you wont be disappointed.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank bankergirl062018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

We are so grateful to have been assigned David as our tour guide for our six hour historical tour of Boston and the surrounding areas of Cambridge, Lexington, and Concord. We’ve been on comprehensive tour’s before all over the United States and world, and we rank David among the best. Humorous, kind and extremely knowledgeable, David was able to relate to both my husband and me and our 10-year-old son and keep the conversation constantly moving and evolving. We feel like we have a much better understanding of Boston, it’s history and the high points that we should revisit again on foot. He took us to a lovely lunch place in Concord that had a rich tradition of ghost stories - which enthralled my son. I highly recommend this tour group for any day tours of the Boston area.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank logans923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

I was able to contact Michelle last Saturday morning and ask about any availability for a 4 hour private tour of non tourist traps in Boston for that afternoon.
I really hoped she could arrange a tour on short notice and was delighted when she did!
We were able to tour with Svenja and planned a off the beaten path mission since we have toured Boston 10 yrs ago.
Svenja was knowledgeable and pleasant. Along with touring many new places along with MIT and the harbor area, she also took us to her secret tower amongst the graveyard in Cambridge! Shhhh... it's a secret.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Goldretdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018

We were making a cruise stop in Boston for the day and two couples decided to use Boston Private Tours for a 4 hour tour of Boston and Cambridge. From the start, Michele in the office was very responsive and answered any questions. We requested Dave because of good reviews from other reviews and Michele advised us that he was available for out tour.
Overall a great and relaxing 4 hours. Dave kept the tour light and very informative and was very accommodating to what and where we wanted to spend more or less time since the 4 of us had previously visited Boston over the years. He was very knowledgable of Boston and Cambridge from a historical and local point of view. Many times he would ask us if we wanted to make a stop or just continue to the next site.
Dave was also willing to drop us off at any location at the end that worked best for us. In our case we wanted to have lunch in the historical area so he not only dropped us off but offered some suggestions as where best to eat for lunch. Dave, a job well done!

Suggestion for those on cruises: This is a great alternative to booking a tour, especially for a family or small group, for a port stop on a cruise.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank scovotti47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews