We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's no wonder this is rated #1 by Tripadvisor”
Review of Montgomery Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montgomery Place
Ranked #5 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Although our stay was short, (2 nights) we couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations. Kathe, the host was always available for information, recommendations or directions. It's conveniently located in a very quiet neighborhood, easily accessible to shopping and public transportation. The room was very private and comfortable. The restroom was only one step out the lockable bedroom door. The continental breakfast was very good. I have absolutely nothing to mention that could have been improved upon. I will definately stay here on my next visit to Boston. There was one dissapointment....the cats mentioned in the discription that Tripadvisor has posted were not at this B&B any longer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 115 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

Montgery Place was simple to find, just a short walk from Back Bay station. The hostess, Kathe, met us at the door and made sure we were settled. Our room was "downstairs" off the street and included a huge and very comfortable King Size bed. The bathroom was just into the hallway, through a lockable door. The place is very secure and accessible to both public transport with Back Bay and Copley Sq station which is on the busy Green line, only minutes away. There are some lovely cages nearby on Tremont St as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazza46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed for 4 nights at Montgomery Place and had a fab time. Kathe & John made me most welcome helping with carparking arrangements and informtion. Being from England, I preferred to walk (yes, even to Cambridge village!) so can't comment on the local transport connections but there was plenty of things to do and top restaurants to eat at in walking distance. I must mention C & G's seafood restaurant and Terri who looked after me in particular. The food was outstanding and the fixed price menu made it very affordable ( I had to go back a 2nd time despite paying full price, it was so good). The service was the best in my 3 weeks in the US and the atmosphere was attentive, friendly, bustling and right on the mark - keep it up. A lovely city to spend time in and this area in particular was a real treat

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locostmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

we stayed 3 nights in this b&b as a part of our roundtrip visiting Boston, NY, Philly and Washington (by public transport). this b&b is an excellent address with a friendly host who gave us some interesting tips to visit boston and some good restaurant tips (eg Francesca's close to the b&b) . it's located in a quiet neighbourhood close to public transport (T and trainstation). the room is spacious and nicely decorated; the host served us a healthly and delicious breakfast at the time we required. we recommend this place !

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vero29Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

The T is about an 8 minute walk through nice neighborhood. Great shopping and restaurants all around. Parking is in the schools lot across the street only since it's nearly impossible to find on-street parking. Once you park in the school lot, you walk and take the T. Large king bed, cozy room, nice bathroom and great breakfast served at the time you request it. Very friendly owner.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UpstateNY085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights, really enjoyed it. The location is lovely, quiet but still close to transport, Boston library and good restaurants. Kathe and Sean were helpful and welcoming. Breakfast, although continental, was so good we didn't need lunch! Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouNRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

My girlfriend took me to Boston for my 30th birthday, and this gem of a B&B made it a trip I'll never forget. In fact, we still talk about it being one of the top highlights in a weekend of great times! Phenomenal location (in a beautful Brownstone 2 minutes from Back Bay Station), friendly owners that give you your space but are always accessible, very spacious rooms, a stocked kitchenette with a variety of goodies and a super comfortable bed. Don't miss the opportunity to spend a weekend - or any time - at this home away from home! Just fantastic!

-Mark and Long.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
HI Boston
HI Boston
#1 of 30 in Boston
1,046 reviews
North End
Bricco Suites
Bricco Suites
#2 of 30 in Boston
234 reviews
Downtown
Oakwood at Downtown Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#2 of 37 in Boston
558 reviews
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montgomery Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montgomery Place

Address: Montgomery St at Dartmouth St, Boston, MA 02116
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range: $120 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is in the heart of the South End, surrounded by restaurants, art galleries and shopping. We are a short walk to Copley Square and public transportation. We have three apartments with ensuite bathrooms and one private room with a private bathroom. There is one auxiliary room that has to be shared with Room 2. Please check out Montgomery Place in the South End of Boston on Airbnb to see our full listings and availability. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing