We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect 4 hours”

Boston's Best Cruises
Ranked #3 of 42 Transportation in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Looking for something to do in Boston? Boston’s Best Cruises offers something for everyone! Choose from an exciting whale watch, a day out on the Harbor Islands, Boston’s Best Sunset and Lighthouse Cruises and much more! Boston’s Best Cruises - More than just a boat ride! Our "Ferry Center" building is located on Long Wharf North between the Marriott Long Wharf and Christopher Columbus Park. Look for the dark, wood building with the nautical code flags flying above.
Dunkirk, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect 4 hours”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Granted, some of this was down to luck, but our whale-watching excursion couldn't have happened under better circumstances. Although it was already in the mid-80s by 9:30AM, out on the water conditions were much more comfortable. On top of that, the water was placid -- I don't think a single person got sea sick -- and visibility was super. We saw a handful of whales, including a couple up close. Also, unlike the other whale-watching boats we came across, our boat was not packed to the rafters. If a whale was spotted on the opposite side of the boat there was nothing stopping you from walking over to take it in. Based on our experience, BBC is highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MattnMingYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    16
    10
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whale Watching - a must!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The opportunity to get up close and personal with the marine wildlife is a must if in Boston at the right time. Boston's Best Cruises are situated on Long wharf but are less obvious than the other, more expensive whale watching tours, hidden behind the Marriott Hotel (left hand side as you face the sea) so take care when locating them. The crew are all very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about their work and very conscientious about the marine environment and its protection.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LIndaN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great for adults and kids alike!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I took my children on a whale watch this past weekend. The crew was wonderful abd we saw alot of whales:-) We sat all over the boat and there truly isnt a bad seat. The one recommendation I do have is for them to install speakers on the lower and upper deck. The broadcast is initiated on the middle deck and its very difficult to hear on the other decks. Overall I'd say 5 stars!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
305 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Boston by moonlight”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This company offers several types of cruises, from whale watching to harbour cruises to plane spotting. This is a review of one of their moonlight cruises.

Depending on the weather, this can be spectacular. And this particular evening was perfect. Not too hot, good visibility, calm winds. So calm, in fact, that it wasn’t difficult to take photos while bouncing around on a boat, even at night. There’s a lot to see, and I’ve included just a few of the photos. You can get food and drink on board, but bring cash.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, MA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice boat, nice trip”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We saw three whales on our trip, with the up close and personal one being with a humpback - which was kind of just lazing around, and we only saw one or two good fluke shots, and no breaches - but those are the breaks!

The experience was great though, and our boat seemed to be better than others we saw on the trip - the catamaran is nice and stable, and it seemed that our boat was much less crowded than others on the water.

The staff were excellent, both explaining the science of the whales, and keeping everyone abreast of what was happening on the water. We got our tickets through a travelzoo voucher deal, and had no problems booking/using them. Would definitely recommend, and likely will go again at some point.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pbwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boston's Best Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing