We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful light, airy hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I stayed in the Ames in Boston in June 2010 as part of a wider trip to the US. The hotel as a whole is very well presented, super clean and very well designed. I especially liked the outside area where you could eat a meal on some nice outdoor sofas.

The room itself was bright and spacious - the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was very large with a great big shower.

We ate lunch in the restaurant one day - very nice food, and reasonably priced (although everything in Boston seemed that way to us... we had just arrived from the Hamptons). The service was really charming - I'd like to thank the restaurant manager who very humerously protected us from a homeless man who was bothering us, and the other staff were great too. Also a nod to the concierge, Charles, who was super-helpful and very funny.

All in all a great hotel - only down point was being charge $50 for a 5 minute international call - that's beyond all measure of reasonably what a hotel should be charging. This was wiped when we pointed out it was actually a reverse-charge (collect) call - but still I think it's unfair of any hotel to overcharge for services like this. Didn't spoil our stay though, I'd definately go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2010

Thank you so much! I’m happy that you enjoyed your trip in Boston and the Hamptons. Thank you for your comments on the design, the room, and Woodward Park. Such a great little spot to people watch, isn’t it? Thank you also for your comments regarding the staff. I hope to welcome you back to Boston soon! Please don’t hesitate to email me at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup if I can ever be of assistance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2010

The hotel was great! great location, close to everything. Very modern and clean. Definitely stay in the room with the glass bathroom wall, very unique. The staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilaZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2010

The peek-a-boo showers are sassy, aren’t they? I’m glad you enjoyed them, and had a great stay! Feel free to email me at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com before your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I booked the Ames because it looked really modern and trendy and was close to an event we had for the weekend. The front of the hotel can be easily missed because it blends right in with the other business buildings in the area, but rest assured once inside it is just amazing. On the first floor there is a restaurant and bar that is fun to go to at night.

The check in was very easy and the staff very friendly. However when we got to our room it wasn't what we expected. One of the best features of the hotel is getting the glass bathroom and this one didn't have it. They quickly switched our rooms and accommodated our request. We then were in a room with a a great view of the city. The room itself was trendy with modern furniture, a large flat screen tv and a comfortable bed. This set a great tone for the weekend and the staff were nothing but helpful for the rest of our stay.

I would definitely recommend to stay at the Ames.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zisil86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

I'm terribly sorry that I missed this review! Thank you so much for your stay and for taking the time to review us. I hope you've been back since 2010, and if not, I would love to welcome you back again! Feel free to email me if you need assistance booking a future reservation with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The Ames is in a great location in a beautiful building. Hotel entrance is modern and very welcoming. Great staff throughout the hotel. Bedrooms are awesome, modern clean lines but still having the feel of being cosy and with mgnificent views of the city. Woodwards is the place to be ( the restaurant/bar at the hotel) food is exquisite and again the service is excellent.

This hotel has the full package.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2010

Yay! Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and thank you for your stay. I’m happy that you had such a blast with us, and enjoyed our design, rooms, and happenin’ restaurant! Let me know when you’re back in Boston at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Although I've stayed in many Morgans hotels in the past (Hudson, Mondrian LA, Sanderson, Shore Club) I was starting to get a little tired of them as I felt they sacrificed substance over style. That is however simply not the case at the Ames...not only is it stylish but its one of the nicest places I've stayed at. The big selling point of this place is not necessarily the great central location or beautiful comfortable rooms but the amazing staff! I like to stay in trendy boutique hotels, but very often I feel that in those types of establishments the staff have better things to do than to look after you...that's certainly not the case here. Great staff, great stay!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank MikeyL0ND0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2010

Fabulous! While I certainly love to hear about our top notch location, my favorite comments are about our staff. Thank you for thinking of us, and I’m glad that you had a great stay! Happy 4th, and we hope to have you back next year (if not sooner!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This hotel was so beautiful. The room cleanliness was the best I have ever seen. The hotel staff and restaurant staff were so pleasant andh helpful.

The location tof the Ames o all the attractions in Boston's downtown area was perfect. We could walk to Fanieul Hall and the Northend. Also the MBTA stop is right there as well as shopping in Downtown Crossing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2010

Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. Hurry back, and bring your friends! Email me at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com whenever you’ll be back in Boston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I stayed at the Ames Hotel this past weekend to visit my college daughter with her aunts, uncle and cousins (10 and 13). First, the location is perfect. around the corner from Fanueill Hall and across the street from the old state house at Government Center T stop. It is a bit hard to find because it is so cool that it does not have a sign outside. Look for the Ames Building and you're there. The restaurant is very happening with great food and excellent service particularly if you are lucky enough to sit in Katherine's section. She made our chic reunion night super special. Emily at the front desk went over and beyond to help arrange fun things to do while we were there and Charles, the concierge has great connections and suggestions. Knowing what people will enjoy and creating experiences for them is a talent and he has it. So I was already planning on writing a rave review about how much fun we had and then my daughter became very ill (stomach virus) on what was supposed to be our last day. Emily and Charles helped get her to Mass General Hospital, extended our stay and arranged for the chef to make chicken broth and ginger ale for her to eat when we got home from the ER. They even called upstairs to check on her. Right down to the valet who remembered our names, the service was stellar. I had a much different experience at XV Beacon on one of our previous trips to Boston which I have also reviewed. Hands down..don't stay anywhere else but the Ames Hotel in Boston.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2010

Fantastic! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I’m overjoyed that you truly enjoyed your stay, and that our team was able to make your weekend special. I shared this review with our entire staff. I’m glad that Emily and Charles were able to make you feel comfortable and help you when your daughter was ill. We all hope that she’s feeling better! Hopefully you can return soon to Boston and to Ames! Feel free to email me at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com whenever you’re back in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#22 of 84 in Boston
1,734 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,401 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 84 in Boston
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $165 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing