We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I cannot stop talking about our wonderful stay at the Ames.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I cannot stop talking about our wonderful stay at the Ames.”
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This hotel was so beautiful. The room cleanliness was the best I have ever seen. The hotel staff and restaurant staff were so pleasant andh helpful.

The location tof the Ames o all the attractions in Boston's downtown area was perfect. We could walk to Fanieul Hall and the Northend. Also the MBTA stop is right there as well as shopping in Downtown Crossing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. Hurry back, and bring your friends! Email me at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com whenever you’ll be back in Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    430
    149
    66
    24
See reviews for
193
655
93
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I stayed at the Ames Hotel this past weekend to visit my college daughter with her aunts, uncle and cousins (10 and 13). First, the location is perfect. around the corner from Fanueill Hall and across the street from the old state house at Government Center T stop. It is a bit hard to find because it is so cool that it does not have a sign outside. Look for the Ames Building and you're there. The restaurant is very happening with great food and excellent service particularly if you are lucky enough to sit in Katherine's section. She made our chic reunion night super special. Emily at the front desk went over and beyond to help arrange fun things to do while we were there and Charles, the concierge has great connections and suggestions. Knowing what people will enjoy and creating experiences for them is a talent and he has it. So I was already planning on writing a rave review about how much fun we had and then my daughter became very ill (stomach virus) on what was supposed to be our last day. Emily and Charles helped get her to Mass General Hospital, extended our stay and arranged for the chef to make chicken broth and ginger ale for her to eat when we got home from the ER. They even called upstairs to check on her. Right down to the valet who remembered our names, the service was stellar. I had a much different experience at XV Beacon on one of our previous trips to Boston which I have also reviewed. Hands down..don't stay anywhere else but the Ames Hotel in Boston.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, July 3, 2010
Fantastic! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I’m overjoyed that you truly enjoyed your stay, and that our team was able to make your weekend special. I shared this review with our entire staff. I’m glad that Emily and Charles were able to make you feel comfortable and help you when your daughter was ill. We all hope that she’s feeling better! Hopefully you can return soon to Boston and to Ames! Feel free to email me at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com whenever you’re back in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Unbelieveable room, great service, easy check-in/valet, great restraunt/bar called woodward in hotel lobby, comfortable bed, 42' plasma TV, best location in Boston; one minute walk to historical Fanueil Hall!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank englebretsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review us! I hope you can get back to us again soon! Email me at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com so that I can take care of your reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We have stayed at many properties in Boston, but none like the Ames. Our experience was exceptional throughout the stay. From the super-friendly valets who met us at the curb to the pleasant reception desk staff, we couldn't help but feel comfortable upon arrival. Once we got to the room, things got even better. The clean lines and cool decor set this hotel apart from the others in town. The wood floors give the room a clean, fresh feel and the glass bathroom is very unique.
We stayed on the 15th floor and found it to be very quiet, even with the minimal street noise.
I will definitely be sendinf friends and family to the Ames Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank showguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
This is so great! I love all the aspects of Ames that you mentioned; from the staff to the design, to the unique quality of the hotel. We try to create a magical experience for everyone, and it looks like we’ve done that with you! I can’t wait for you to come back again, and when you do, don’t forget to email me at nina.sweet@morganshotelroup.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We recently spent an extended weekend at the Ames. The hotel was perfect for our visit to Boston which included a tour of the Harbor Islands and a game at Fenway.

Located in the financial distinct, we could walk from the Ames to Faneuil Hall, North End, and the Long Wharf for lunch and dinner. The T stations were even closer. Couldn't be more convenient

The room was stylish, bed was wonderful, and the minibar was over-the-top. Easily one of the best rooms we've ever stayed in.

We have only good things to say about our stay at the historic Ames.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
What a great weekend! I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your getaway at Ames and that we were a part of your wonderful memory. We are America’s Walking City, and our location is perfect for getting to everything easily! I’m glad you enjoyed the decor of the room! Next year when you come back for another Red Sox game, feel free to email me at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com! Hopefully you can find a reason to visit us sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate New York
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2010

There was no sign on The Ames Hotel Building visible from our car and we drove past the hotel six times before my husband finally gave in and allowed me to ask for directions. The only sign is carved in stone on the building (same color as the building) too high to see while driving.

After we finally found the hotel we were pleasantly surprised by the attentiveness of all hotel employees. We were greeted on the street before entering the building and the door was held open for us. The front desk attendant was more than accomodating and even had someone retreive an item I had left in my car within minutes of my asking for it.

The room was trendy and modern and the bathroom was lovely. My only complaint regarding the actual room was that the windows do not appear to be well insulated as the wind noise did keep me awake a good portion of the night.

We only ate one meal at the restaurant and enjoyed the food and service. The location is ideal for seeing and experiencing all Boston has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytraveler038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you for your stay and your review! It sounds like you had a nice time in Boston. Please contact me at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com when you are back in Boston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

My wife and I were planning a night in Boston as a "getaway" and decided to try a different hotel apart from the standard Marriotts, Westin, etc. I had heard good things about Morgan hotels in the past so we took a shot with the Ames. We absolutely LOVED it and wished we could have stayed a few more nights. From the welcoming staff...to the top notch restaurant, to the very cool, comfortable room, we couldn't have had a better experience. I also loved being able to walk two minutes to Quincy Market for Sunday breakfast. The Ames will definitely be our Boston hotel of choice going forward.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Excellent news! I love when people want to stay longer! When you do return to Boston, feel free to contact me at nina.sweet@morganshotelgroup.com so that I can look after your reservation! Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#12 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing