We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern but lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Modern but lacking”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have mixed reviews about Ames. First of all, it has a beautiful and modern design with a little historic charm. The staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and accommodating.

Pros: room was beautiful (stayed in the 1 bedroom deluxe suite). Central location, easy access to just about everything, close to airport and the T.

Cons: no coffee in the room or lobby! How can a hotel not have that standard? The restaurant/bar is closed, therefore no room service. When I approached the front desk about coffee, they quickly had a coffee maker, etc. sent up to the room. I was happy until the next day when housekeeping had to have seen the coffee maker but did not bring new cups or pods. We had to ask the front desk for more, housekeeping never replenished the entire stay! We found a partially consumed bottle of wine in the mini bar (offered by the hotel), not sure if it was from the people staying in the room prior or not. Again brought to the attention of the front desk so that we wouldn't be charged.
I'm not sure if I will stay here again. Nice hotel but I expect coffee without constantly asking for it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddgtcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    431
    149
    66
    24
See reviews for
194
656
93
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Rooms are stylish, and the product in the bathrooms is nice. That's about it for the positive. As for the rest, it's hard to understand how a hotel of this caliber and price could have no restaurant open. No coffee in the rooms either, and the front desk is not terribly helpful about suggesting places to eat nearby. There's also a bottle of water for sale in the room for $8. Slick.

People should also be aware that the comments on here about noise are legit. This hotel is loud, especially the T (I think it's the T), which rumbles by starting around 6am. You've been warned.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was excited to try the hotel. Loved the aestetics, heard the bar was a nice place to grab a drink. The rooms were small but well appointed. I got in late and had early meetings the next day but when I went to sleep there was some vibration in the room due to what I assume is underground transportation. I was shocked. I called down but the front desk said there was nothing that they could do. While the staff was wonderful and the location great, I will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for a fun girls' getaway, and we really enjoyed Ames. The hotel was beautiful and literally right off the Freedom Trail. We asked for a room on an upper floor (I had read reviews about the subway noise) - we got the 12th floor and experienced no issues. My only complaint: their website states that breakfast is included, and when we arrived, we discovered the owner decided to close the restaurant for some unknown reason. They reluctantly gave us a discount as we expected breakfast to be included. The overall service was just ok, nothing that would prevent us from returning - but it wasn't exceptional, like you would expect at a boutique location. Nevertheless, we enjoyed every other aspect of our stay and would go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15glaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here for business. It's trendy - dark corridors, dark bathroom and then very bright white room with a black wall behind the bed. I liked the look of the room and the big windows.
The bed was comfortable.
I didn't like noise. I could hear people in the room next to me and maybe also above me at times. The train (T) rumbles underneath the floor and despite been on the 4th floor you hear the trains and feel them vibrate past. So if noise annoys you don't stay here.
Didn't like the lack of a complimentary water - the Voss beside my bed was $8 which is ridiculous (& I'm here on business).
Boston is expensive and I think I'd take my chance finding somewhere else at $350+ a night then this place. There restaurant was closed and their bar wasn't open either last night but the desk was very helpful in recommending a nice place to eat. off out now for breakfast and to check out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CtHelsBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed with a friend for a girls weekend at this hotel and LOVED it. Rooms are uniquely designed, super clean and comfy. Great little bar in the lobby. Did not have time to check out the restaurant but the location is prime. Plan another getaway with hubby in the Fall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerLily312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
388 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

i stayed here 9/10 nights and this hotel is to be avoided. having travelled all over the world, I have had better experiences in sub saharan Africa.
The worst thing of all is the attitude of the staff. When i called to ask why my room had not been cleaned at 3:30pm, i was told "we are full tonight and kinda busy"...great response for a $400/500 a night room. The cleaning service was even better(take a look at the photo). Shirt arrived wet, creased and unwearable. Arrived to be told the restaurant and bar had been closed down and only option was over-priced food in the room and water by the bed for $8. This place is sooooo bad.
The shower also takes a while to warm up and at busy times has no pressure.
Avoid this place at all costs.
Collegues stayed here too and hated it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank copperbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#12 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing