We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel, well located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, well located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located for tourists in Boston. It is a stones throw from Quincy Market and the other downtown attractions. There are several T stops located nearby making access to public transport incredibly easy.

The hotel itself was excellent. We stayed in a corner room with a fabulous view over the old statehouse. The room was spacious and felt very modern and clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable.

Breakfast was good and nicely arranged. The only bugbear for us was the lack of tea and coffee and no complimentary water in the room. The bottle of water on the bedside was $8 and a tea from room service was $5. However with a cvs and Starbucks just down th street this was no real issue.

We would and will absolutely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisjg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    413
    140
    61
    22
See reviews for
183
629
90
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've stayed at the NYC Hudson and LA Mondrian. The Ames is something else, it's relaxed and quietly confident. Because it can be. Maybe because it's in Boston, it's infinitely more relaxed and comfortable than other Morgans I've stayed at. Staff are professional but informal and friendly. Rooms (except floor 15) are incredible. Bar restaurant is very pleasant and there is an excellent guest lounge on the second floor where they serve a nice buffet breakfast and doubles up as an excellent daytime office if you have work to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked this on Priceline and were delighted that it was located in the heart of things, within a 5-minute walk of Fanueil Hall, the North End, and across the street from the Old State House. The subway station is around the corner; this simplified our transit to the airport as well as other parts of the city. Unfortunately that subway line also runs underground alongside the hotel and presented some rumble during operating hours. That was the only drawback. The room was of modern decor and tastefully done, a real treat and a pleasant departure from the usual hotel furnishings.

Room Tip: Try for one of the upper floors. We were on #6 out of 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here spur-of-the-moment with a friend for a girl's night out in the city. We booked on Priceline on a Thursday and got a room with a King bed for $113 -- when we asked if we could upgrade to a room with two doubles, they were very accommodating and let us do so for $30 extra. It's located in the heart of the Financial District in Boston, very central to Faneuil Hall, Downtown Crossing, and the Waterfront, so we could virtually walk to most of our evening activities (though we didn't have any trouble hailing cabs, either.

The whole hotel has a very hip, modern vibe to it -- our room was very stylish and sleek and well appointed with modern furnishings, a huge bathroom and glassed-in shower with dual rainfall showerheads and handheld (if you wanted), large sink area, plenty of towels, comfortable beds that are decked out with big fluffy duvets ... definitely an upscale business traveler's hotel with all the amenities that go with that. My husband, who works in the high-rise across the street, said celebrities stay there all the time. I can see why.

The next morning, a Friday, we had a great complimentary breakfast served in a large restaurant-style dining area on the second floor. Cereal, granola, breads, pastry, fruit, yogurts ... a big selection for a continental breakfast. I was definitely impressed since it seems so many hotels now don't even bother with anything more than coffee for free nowadays.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Pros:
--Great location
--stylish modern decor; cool music; cool people
--friendly staff

Cons:
--terrible hairdryer
--dim lighting in bathroom
--no hot food at breakfast
--no vanity mirror in room
--tiny elevators
--water pump broke; no hot water one morning
--small fitness room; no pool
--high walls on tub that could trip elderly/kids

Room Tip: stay on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saminats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent location,near to all points of interest, nice rooms, very clean, staff is nice.
Poor choice of continental breakfast, parking expensive (42$ per night), street noise during the night, need ears plugs.

Room Tip: Rooms in front are noisy. I don’t know if others are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sebi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed March 30-April 1---Accommodating staff and comfortably stylish rooms in a central downtown location within a couple blocks walk of two different "T" subway lines. Stayed there for 3 nights at a great Priceline "name your own price rate". Paid a $50. per night upgrade fee to move to a corner king room on the 5th floor. Given that the standard (superior) rooms are pretty small, I thought the upgrade to the large and bright corner room was well worth the outlay. Loved the high ceilings and huge windows which afforded great views onto the downtown skyline...short walk to Boston Commons and Boston's best neighborhood---the North End.
Coming from California (and while there remaining on a PST sleep schedule) my daughter and I really appreciated that the more than adequate breakfast remained open until 11am.
Exercise room is a bit small and limited and scope but adequate.
Service was great...special props to an outstanding and very welcoming doorman crew...especially the tall dude whose name I cannot remember!

Room Tip: upgrade to corner king, the higher the floor, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kruger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#30 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#16 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing