We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - a few niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Location - a few niggles”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently spent 5 night at the Ames. The location very central you can walk everywhere and the old state capitol can be seen from some of the rooms, as others have said the complimentary breakfast was really nice. The staff on the door were very helpful and friendly.

The few negatives to point out, housekeeping was not consistent, there were days when towels and tolitries were not replaced. Others have mentioned the wifi, travelling from the UK we had planned to use the business centre to book excursions and check in for flights online, we were quite shocked to find that there was a charge to use the internet, we have travelled a lot in the USA and this is the only time we have had to pay for this.

The mini bar again as mentioned everything was expensive.

Our overall feeling was that the hotel was more into making money, (even the laundry bag could be bought for $35) than customer service. There was not a general friendly feeling from staff.

Boston is a fantastic city and we did not do everything we planned and will return at some point, unfortunately we would not choose to stay at the Ames again as it did not meet our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dracgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    457
    156
    75
    28
See reviews for
216
700
95
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed in the Ames for a long weekend with 3 other of my friends. We booked the deluxe double double room, since there were 4 of us in a room. The room was enough space for us and our luggage, certainly after reading of Boston hotel rooms being on the small size. The bathroom was gorgeous and the shower was very nice--great water pressure. We took advantage of the breakfast each morning and was a very nice addition to the hotel seeing as we didn't have to worry about where to grab something to eat each morning. We really enjoyed the location of the Ames, being right near 2 T stations that would take you anywhere you needed to go. The staff was very nice and accomodating as well. I would definatly reccommend the Ames to anyone traveling to Boston.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor and couldn't hear any noise from street, plus had a great view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVilleGal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A lot of hotels attain their "luxury" status by giving you a lot of little extras that nobody really cares about, like chocolates on the pillow. This hotel instead gives you what your really want--a clean, comfortable bed with soft high-end linens, a great continental breakfast in a spacious and comfortable area included with your room rate, and really nice toiletries. We stayed for one night on September 29th for a function we had in town and also to celebrate my husband's birthday. I mentioned his birthday at check-in to the down-to-earth and friendly staff and concierge, and thought maybe they would send up a note or some cupcakes or something which is a nice gesture but who really cares, since we're in our 40s. But the 4 free drink tickets to the Woodward, a cool restaurant and bar on site where the specialty cocktails are $14, was way more than we expected. (Try the Second Marriage). I asked for a high floor and got it (the top floor actually). The room was pretty quiet for downtown Boston. I booked through the Ames website and got an awesome Trade Up rate--the room was 500 square feet and all in was $366. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat for a rate like that. You can park at the 60 State Street garage on the weekend for $15/day, so it was $30 for the two days which I think would be less than valet through the hotel.

Room Tip: high floor will be less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallfry0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My spouse and myself stayed here in June for our anniversary. It was located perfectly, the staff were excellent, and it was simply beautiful. We were upgraded upon our arrival, thanks to the amazing management. We stayed a week to soak up the history, site see, and enjoy lots of sea food! It couldn't have been better! We will definitely stay here again!
Thank you Ames for such a great anniversary, and fabulous stay in Boston! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliverlj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
How wonderful! Happy Anniversary again! I'm so happy that you both had a memorable weekend with us. I hope we'll see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stay at Ames during a four day trip to Boston. Great location and friendly, helpful staff. Rooms were spacious and well equipped. Breakfast room was bright and airy and there was always a good selection of fruit, yogurt, bagels and pastries. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank del318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Yay! Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed the staff, the room, and the breakfast! Please come back soon, and reach out to me if I can assist with reservations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindahy5
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Loved the location of the hotel. Short walk to 2 metro stations and Fanueil Hall/Quincy Market. Walking distance to the North End for fabulous food. The hotel serves awesome oysters, caesar salad and their brick chicken is great. The bar and restaurant staff were nice, fun and very accomodating (especially the female bartender, the college bartender and the hostess)! The reception staff is great too! There was another poster who complained about the staff. NOT IN MY OPINION.

Our biggest gripe was Housekeeping never replaced our wash cloths or hand towels. If we hung them up after use, they would take them and not replace them. If we threw them on the floor, they only replaced the bath towels. This happened 5 out of the 8 nights we stayed. After much complaining, the hotel comped us $100 for our trouble.

The mini-bar had no prices except for the $8 bottle of water left on the nightstand. WOW!!! Needless to say, we didn't use the mini bar. The bathroom is very dark and there is no coffee pot in the room. We requested a coffee pot and they provided us one.

There is only one drawer above the refrigerator so there was very little space for tops/pj's/underwear. I had to call the desk and request 10 more hangers.

We would stay here again because of the location, but I would have to say it's more of a business hotel rather than a vacation or family hotel.

Room Tip: If you hear knocking, it's the air conditioner. Ask for a superior king. We upgraded for only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindahy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and your stay. I'm sorry about the situation with the towels, that's very strange. I'm glad that we were able to help out by adjusting your bill. As you mentioned, coffee pots are available upon request, as well as complimentary coffee in both the lobby and the breakfast room. Hopefully you'll come back to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here three nights and could not have been happier with our choice. With so many accomodations in Boston to choose from the Ames has the best of everything. The breakfast was great, the room clean and efficient and you can't beat the location. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Trvl0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaSweet, Manager at Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
This is amazing - thank you so much! It is the best when people say that they could not have been happier!! Please come back to the East Coast soon and stay with us again! I'm happy to assist with reservations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#13 of 83 in Boston
1,112 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,273 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,595 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 1 Court Street, Boston, MA 02108-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#39 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#40 Business Hotel in Boston
#48 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, Ames is ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill. Boasting a vibrant restaurant and bar offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. Our hotel is now part of the Curio Collection by Hilton and features Hilton HHonors benefits and rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames - a Morgans Original Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing