We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Friday”
Review of North Square Oyster - CLOSED

North Square Oyster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North End
Transit: Haymarket, Aquarium, & Government Center T Stations within walking distance.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Black Friday”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We went Gennaro's 5 North Square on Black Friday, however we found it by accident. First we tried going to the other Italian restaurants suggested on TripAdvisor however all were to long of lines. There are two floors we sat upstairs was very quaint and romantic. To start we the had bread with the olive oil , the bread tasted fresh NOT like some places where they keep bring the old bread back out. I had the Veal Marsala very fresh mushrooms Marsala flavor was excellent. My wife had the Chicken Parmesan I had a little taste. the sauce was different than I've had before however, great tasting. My wife liked it very much. The service was good right there every time. If we needed something and the waiter was busy someone else was always willing to help.We did NOT have dessert, we were to full. Overall great experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    110
    47
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good variety of quality authentic Italian cuisine.”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Fresh ingredients are essential components to the restaurant's successful menu of great food.

Enjoy a beautiful view of North Square and Sacred Heart Italian Church. Take in all the North End has to offer.

Just steps from Paul Revere House.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFromKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“North end Italian”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wonderful little Italian restaurant a few doors down from Paul Revere's house. Their bread and olive oil to start your meal is wonderful. Full bodied olive oil. Wine selection is small but all the right wines. Their caprese salad is a nice serving for an appetizer. The fresh mozzarella is creamy and with a slight nutty flavor. They slice a tomato almost all the way through and fan it with a piece of basil leaf. The gnocchi is light and fluffy, enough to feed 2-3. It comes in a little black kettle pot. Linguini bolognese delicious. IF you don;t see what you like on the menu, they are more than happy to make it for you. Service was perfect, never needed to ask for anything, our server already had what we needed before asking. The cannoli is superb. Light creamy filling, a departure of the ricotta filling, a nice whipped mascarpone cheese. I highly recommend this place for small dining. The owner is around and introduces herself and makes sure everything is done well to your satisfaction.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fullnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Food was good, service not friendly”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We came in early in the evening when they were not busy. Service was prompt but not at all friendly. Food was good, but a little on the pricey side. Served in some unusually shaped oval bowls, kind of awkward to eat from - a triumph of style over function.

The room was nicely furnished, tables were quite spread out, perhaps meaning that they aren't busy enough to need more seating?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeteL92833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“go somewhere else”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

There are a million restaurants in the North End that are better than this place. It takes forever for the food to come out. The food is good, but it's not any more special than so many of the other restaurants in the neighborhood. 5 North Square is very small and in an excellent historical location which creates a very nice atmosphere, but across the two times I've eaten there I've had the same experience, which is all together just average. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PepperMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Square Oyster also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing