We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good variety of quality authentic Italian cuisine.”
Review of 5 North Square

5 North Square
Ranked #123 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North End
Transit: Haymarket, Aquarium, & Government Center T Stations within walking distance.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good variety of quality authentic Italian cuisine.”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Fresh ingredients are essential components to the restaurant's successful menu of great food.

Enjoy a beautiful view of North Square and Sacred Heart Italian Church. Take in all the North End has to offer.

Just steps from Paul Revere House.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFromKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    110
    47
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“North end Italian”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Wonderful little Italian restaurant a few doors down from Paul Revere's house. Their bread and olive oil to start your meal is wonderful. Full bodied olive oil. Wine selection is small but all the right wines. Their caprese salad is a nice serving for an appetizer. The fresh mozzarella is creamy and with a slight nutty flavor. They slice a tomato almost all the way through and fan it with a piece of basil leaf. The gnocchi is light and fluffy, enough to feed 2-3. It comes in a little black kettle pot. Linguini bolognese delicious. IF you don;t see what you like on the menu, they are more than happy to make it for you. Service was perfect, never needed to ask for anything, our server already had what we needed before asking. The cannoli is superb. Light creamy filling, a departure of the ricotta filling, a nice whipped mascarpone cheese. I highly recommend this place for small dining. The owner is around and introduces herself and makes sure everything is done well to your satisfaction.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fullnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Food was good, service not friendly”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We came in early in the evening when they were not busy. Service was prompt but not at all friendly. Food was good, but a little on the pricey side. Served in some unusually shaped oval bowls, kind of awkward to eat from - a triumph of style over function.

The room was nicely furnished, tables were quite spread out, perhaps meaning that they aren't busy enough to need more seating?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeteL92833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“go somewhere else”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

There are a million restaurants in the North End that are better than this place. It takes forever for the food to come out. The food is good, but it's not any more special than so many of the other restaurants in the neighborhood. 5 North Square is very small and in an excellent historical location which creates a very nice atmosphere, but across the two times I've eaten there I've had the same experience, which is all together just average. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PepperMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Wow what a disappointment. We selected this restaurant on the basis of good reviews and the 24 Zagat rating. It did not live up to our expectations - even my children thought it was not worth a visit and felt it was their least favorite meal ever eaten in the North End. Although the the waiter, the host and the hostess were very nice, service was slow - we waited longer than I would have expected for our salad and meals and for the wait staff to pick up our credit cards to charge the meal. Lasagna was too cheesy (some meat would have helped although we did know it was 3 cheese lasagne), shrimp and pasta were overcooked, large pasta bowls were awkward, salad did not have enough dressing and wasn't especially cold. In general, the meals just weren't anything special and it was not an inexpensive meal. You can find better places for dinner in the North End!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5 North Square also viewed

 

Been to 5 North Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing