We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Baked Sweets” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Bakery

Sugar Bakery
Ranked #20 of 150 Bakeries in Boston
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: West Roxbury / Hyde Park / Roslindale
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
423 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fantastic Baked Sweets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

First class fresh pastry and cakes. Well worth a 5 mile drive. Forget about counting calories.

The sub-shop next door (attached with passage through) is also first rate with good-sized freshly made sandwiches.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fontek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Waited. Over 5 minute until we sat ourselve down as the server was on the phone, food pricey, but good. Manager gave us a groupon lecture with attitude as the waitress messed up. Wrote the incorrect number, and I redem it after she wrote it down. Wait he kept saying he can get the number in adifferent means . So why the lecture..and lack pf proffesionalism!

Helpful?
2 Thank sthibodeau
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous looking breads and pastries and the worst service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I havent been in West Roxbury in 7 years and thought to go to Hanley's which was a bakery there for years--- but instead I saw that it has become "Sugar" I went in and was very impressed by the cupcakes and other baked goods. There was a man behind the counter . He just stared at me , and didn't offer to help me. The prices were not on the goods and when I asked the prices of the cupcakes he pointed out a sign that said the prices for the cupcakes. when I inquired about other prices he was almost reluctant to answer me---- and when he did it seemed as if I was bothering him--- so I decided to leave--
It was raining and cold and I had parked two blocks away---- No one likes to be treated like that-- I went somewhere else!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elmame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
240 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Lovely array of tempting baked sweets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I want to come every day and eat my way through everything in the case! The coffee is good. There are many tables to sit at and a nice street view. Great place to sit and read the paper on a weekend morning.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wellheeledboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roslindale ma
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy Desserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Sugar has a huge selection of pastrys!The cupcakes are yummy and so pretty! Rich cheesecake. You can't go wrong with any choice!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bachiboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing