We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to sleep because of noise”
Review of W Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Boston
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 21, 2010

I was on the 12th floor yet the noise from the street was incredible and the room was freezing - maybe the windows haven't been fitted properly. The lighting is ridiculous - bring your own torch for the gloomy beyond words bathroom. Room packed full of rubbish available to buy at inflated prices but bed is very comfortable. The breakfast service in Market is RIDICULOUS. It took 20 minutes to get a menu and then another 45 to get a plate of cold scrambled eggs. The maitre d seemed demented, constantly unavailable and then when found, a little dazed with a strangely spooky fixed smile on his face.Rabid doormen hunt in packs around the entrance yet don't open the door - what's that all about? Food smells invade the lift making it a rather stomach churning experience to go anywhere. Luckily it's only a short walk to Legal Seafoods. Avoid.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memyselfiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,620 - 1,626 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2010

I brought my wife to the W for the week of our anniversary. It was perfect. We've stayed at the Park Plaza in the past, but I figured I'd try the W since it was new. It was a great choice. The room was amazing. Super modern, beautiful AND comfortable. There was a huge shower AND a big tub, so while I showered my wife was able to soak in the tub. The rooms were good sized too, much bigger than the W in NY (which cost twice as much). The bed was more comfortable than ours at home, with a nice thick feather bed under very soft sheets.
We spent some time in the lounge too, also very modern, a great place for a cocktail (even if you're not staying at the hotel).
All of the service staff was excellent and friendly. They know what they're doing. It was quite impressive without being in your face. A perfect balance.
It's also in a great location. We took a short walk to Newbury Street and did some shopping, went to Chinatown for some Dim Sum for lunch, very well situated. We even ended up going to a show at the Wang Theater right across the street.
We didn't get a chance to eat there, but the menu look incredible . . . next time. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We live in the suburbs of Boston and decided to check into the W for a weekend of fun in the city. Unfortunately, this W Hotel does not live up to all the recent hype or the other W/Starwood properties. Our room was located on the 19th floor and was a bit disappointing. The bathroom area was small with extremely poor lighting and limited counter space (shower was large w/ great water pressure). The desk in the room was loaded with all kinds of "paraphernalia" for purchase - including a bottle of wine, a baseball hat and a bottle of water for $7. Who wants all of that stuff cluttering up the top of the desk?? The room was adequate in size - however, certainly not a room I would want to spend more than 2 nights in. In addition, the outside noise from the streets below was definitely noticeable. We heard the constant buzzing of fire engines, horns and sirens. It's important to know that the hotel lobby turns into a nightclub in the evening with huge lines of W-wannabees waiting outside. The health club was a plus with state of the art equipment and free weights. Overall, it was a pleasant stay ~ however, I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzyjacuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

This stay way my first at a W. The staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was clean, modern, luxury. if you ever stay here you should try the cheese cake a little expensive but it was the best I have ever had. For now on when I come in to Boston about every other month I now know where I’m staying hats off to the staff and management!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Just came back from 5 nights at the W Boston. Having been to W hotels in NY and Hong Kong, I've come to fully understand what makes these hotels unique. This was the only reason why we chose to try out the new W Boston for our stay in Boston. My level of expectation was where it should've been - outstanding service, outstanding attention to detail, outstanding decor and outstanding amenities. As soon as we checked into our room, I was left ill-satisfied on all accounts.

I will start off by saying that if comparing the W Boston to other hotel chains like the Sheraton or Hilton, it was a decent hotel. The room itself was very spacious. But I would've traded a smaller space for all the unique qualities that make it worthy of being called a W. If you have stayed at other W Hotels before, the W Boston WILL be a major disappointment.

Here is a list of the things that were subpar to a real W's standards:

The people that manned the front desk were just simply doing their jobs. They looked up your info, gave you your room key, and that's about it. Didn't crack a smile, didn't want to seem too friendly. The W Hotel's mantra is "Whatever, Whenever". I don't think the front desk got the memo.

As soon as we get to our room, my mind started buzzing around noticing all the little things that was missing in the so-called W room. Where were the automatic light buttons by the bedside? (you had to literally get up from bed all the way to the front door to shut the lights off. Boo.) Where were the cool modern gadgets? Where were the cool home furnishings? The decor in this room was very 'corporate' and 'business-man' like, which is FINE if we were staying at a Sheraton.

And there was a very strange wall hanging of a haunted forest next to the bed and a weird poem about ravens and birds printed on the inside bathroom wall. Definitely not romantic, and definitely not cool.

There were no slippers in the room and no toothbrush kits in the bathroom, so we had to call the front desk for those. They ran those up to our room in lightning speed, but they were supposed to already be in the room!

There was something "off" about the down comforter. My husband and I plopped down on the bed after a 6 hour bus ride, and i noticed thousands of tiny little feathers dancing in the air. And everytime we moved the comforter the slightest bit, (even just getting in and out of bed), the air would be filled with tiny feathers. I know that this is not a problem with high quality comforters, since they finished the seams with double and triple reinforcements. I saw the feathers on everything - the black nightstand, our water glasses, our clothes....

We took one look at the room service menu and we knew we would never be ordering food to our room during the stay. If you are on a corporate expense account, knock yourself out. But $28 for 2 eggs and potatoes? No thank you.

Also, the Bliss Spa was not opened yet. Major bummer. There should've been a notice about that on the starwood website, but there wasn't.

The gym was pretty small but not too many people were there during the hours we were working out, so we had the run of the place. It would've been nice if the gym were on a higher floor so we aren't looking out to a red brick building while we're working out. It's small things like this that make a hotel feel special. Another lost point here.

There is free wifi in the Lounge, so we would go there with our laptops in the morning. I was pretty surprised that they didn't have any food/drink service in the morning. They didn't open until noon. So where are we supposed to get our coffee from? The $9 drip coffee from room service? I would've been annoyed if I were on a business trip. But we were not, so we went across the street to Starbucks every morning.

The lounge gets packed at night and is very lively.

Our key card kept getting deactivated for some reason, and every time we went to the front desk to get it fixed, it was the same woman asking us the same questions. Either she didn't recognize us each time, or she was being an unaccommodating pain. I don't know which is worse. And never offered an apology for our inconvenience. Seriously?

Doormen - there were about 4-5 of them standing around the door at all times. But how is it that more than half the time we came in and out of the hotel, we opened those heavy doors by ourselves. More than half!

The one really good thing about the W Boston was the location. We found it convenient to everything. Also, the Rock Bottom Bar across the street had a great selection of beers and delicious food. Highly recommended.

Next time in Boston, we will stay at the Nine Zero hotel. This W Hotel was a total bust and overall very disappointing. Never again, W Boston!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyToesNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

We stayed at the W Hotel for 3 nights in December. Main reason for the choice was the good deal we got on the room for booking before it opened in September.
We had a lovely corner room with floor to ceiling windows on 2 sides. The room was spacious and as you would expect very modern. The room was equipt with every mobile phone charger on the market, a huge flat screen tv, a lovely double shower, and what has to be the comfiest bed I've ever slept on.
The welcome was welcoming, the room was cleaned well every day, the staff tried to be helpful, not sure they were that knowledgable though - i've started to expect the kind of knowledge I get from the TA forums!
We ate one day in the restaurant for breakfast, $60 for 2 breakfasts - I didn't really rate it, breakfast is breakfast I don't get the point of trying to make it fancy - half my plate was full of a baby tomato salad and the crispy potatoes were undercooked in the middle.
The hotel is well positioned, we were close to Newbury St, the common and Copley Plaza.
The main problem with he hotel was the noise, this maybe due to the floor to ceiling windows. Our room was looking over the Comedy Stop which seemed to kick everyone out at the same time...2am, I've never heard a noise like it, we were 10 flrs up too! The Comedy Stop only seems to be on Friday and Saturday night so if your planning to stay durin the week you shouldn't have a problem!
All in all we had a good stay at the W. I just wish they had put some Christmas decorations up!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dippster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

The hotel was amazing, the concierge perfect. The bar and the restaurant were always full with beuatifull and weel dressed people... I recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guiv37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Boston

Address: 100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116-4715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boston
#9 Spa Hotel in Boston
#22 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $191 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated and modern all glass hotel located within the heart of Boston's Theater District, W Boston offers guests close proximity to the city's most famous theaters, the Boston Common, Boston's Public Garden and numerous award-winning restaurants. With the city's only bliss spa, a see-and-be-seen fireplace lounge, 24-hour gym, and destination nightclub, W Boston exudes a 24/7 lifestyle. Guests have access to W's signature Whatever/Whenever(R) service promise providing them with whatever they want - from Green Monster seats at Fenway Park to a personal shopper for navigation around Boston's luxe Newbury Street - whenever they want it, as long as it's legal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing