We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

““Above and Beyond My Expectations”” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Boston
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
““Above and Beyond My Expectations””
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I’ve been a SPG member since 2009 because of a couple stays at a few Starwood hotels here and there, but none of the stays convinced me to be a loyal to their line of hotels. However, this hotel experience has changed that forever. Once I was hand delivered my complimentary, delicious red-velvet cupcake and hand-written, custom-tailored note, I was HOOKED. I immediately called SPG customer service to have them re-activate my SPG account, because I am booking with Starwood as much as possible from now on (and I am hoping my experience will be just as good or greater in the future as well).

I found no problems with the room design; the bathroom was chic and private (although I would have loved a large tub), and the master lighting controls were easy and simple to use and not bothersome at all. In fact, I applaud them for the “vanity” area right by the bathroom entrance. There is a mirror with perfect lighting for applying make-up (real important for cosmetic buffs like me) and a groovy shelf that will hold all your products while you beautify yourself. Better than leaning against the sink counter trying to get a good look at yourself in the mirror. I don’t think people realize there is a mirror RIGHT THERE in there face that they can use for these purposes. The best of all was the bed. The comforter was fluffy and soft, and for a split second my brain was tricked into thinking the hotel mistakenly placed a waterbed instead of a mattress in my room (no exaggeration).
Considering the area, outside noise was minimal, and my room was facing the main street (which was hustling and bustling that Friday night). I was also on the 8th floor. The loudest sound I heard were sirens, they were kind of annoying, but what can you do? Tell them to shut up? There are plenty of restaurants, cafes, boutiques down the street so there are plenty of things to get yourself into without going to far off.

Only thing that irked me is that they had no rooms available when I checked in at 1pm and was noted that I would receive a call when a room is ready. I never received the call. Since I do a lot of red-eye flights, meaning often arriving in town early, having to wait to check-in when I just want to pass out on the lobby sofa is just a big downer for me. Luckily I stopped by the Thinking Cup and got myself a latte and that perked me up and decided to return an hour and a half later just to do a progress report. What do you know, my room was ready! Unless it was just good timing on my part, I would have really appreciated that call.

Oh, and internet is $15/day. Please please please do something about this. I wouldn’t even mind, like $10/day. $15 is ridiculous.

Thanks W Boston, for making my stay lovely and enjoyable! See you next year!

Room Tip: Of course, there's always the corner room recommendation and high floors should help with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Wow! Awesome review. Let's do it again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    386
    148
    64
    38
See reviews for
242
486
93
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sackville, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights in Boston to attend a concert at the TD Garden and selected this hotel. Staff were accommodating, hotel was very clean, new with all the amenities including the Bliss Spa on site. Bonus being the Bliss products in room (value of $14.00)!! Garage parking an additional $47.00 per night with valet parking only. Although we didn't visit the bar or restaurant, on Sat evening the bar on site is extremely busy. No sound travels beyond that area though. Hotel is located on the edge of China Town with few good restaurants in the area, requiring walking or cab to other areas. Although a nice hotel, I would select something closer to the market and other attractions, especially in winter as walking is very cold. Cab to Italian area and Garden $8.00.

Room Tip: 4th floor was great, gym on same floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene47_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for the solid review. In terms of the neighborhood, next time look no further than the W Lounge or our restaurant, Market, you won't be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have to take a moment to share how special the time was last weekend in Boston and how much I wanted to thank the W Hotel for such excellent hospitality and service!

Once again, every single staff member from the valet to the Concierge, to the front desk staff, to the Bellhops, and housekeeping; Were pleasant, helpful, supportive and exuded positive energy!

I especially appreciated the wonderful chocolates that was sent to my Suite to commemorate all of my stays at the W property's since be a SPG member!

Because your property is located in my hometown where I grew up, I will always have a very special place in my heart for you your staff, and the hotel.
It gives new meaning to the term; Homecoming.

Please know how deep my appreciation is for everything that you did to make my stay unforgettable!!!

Best Warmest Regards;
Mitch
SPG Lifetime Platinum

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabaDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for the awesome review, Mitch! I'm so happy that our Talent welcomed you home and took care of you with our brand of contemporary Boston hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Second time in Boston in the past few years and I liked the location of the hotel. It's one block the the Boston Common right in the heart of the theater district. From the hotel everywhere in Boston is basically walkable. Rooms are a little larger than most standard hotel rooms and are very clean. W prides itself on being trendy which in my opinion is somewhat of excuse to substitute fashion for quality but overall the hotel is an excellent choice for a quick trip to Boston. Also, the hotel is extremely dog friendly so if you're traveling with man's best friend you're in luck.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for the solid review. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I will never stay at a W Hotel again - especially the W in Boston. The staff is useless, the rooms are moderate at best, the walls are paper thin, the food is below average and the service is terrible. I was traveling on business with my colleague after escaping the devastation of Hurricane Sandy. We were looking forward to some sleep but couldn't get any due to the blaring music from the frat-like atmosphere in the room next door. After contacting management at 2 am, the music was turned off for a few moments then it resumed. We called again and the same thing happened. We were offered the opportunity to move into a new room at 3 am (REALLY?!) but declined the inconvenience. When we addressed the situation with the powerless young person at the front desk, she told us that the hotel followed protocol and that there was nothing they could do. As part of the Starwood brand, they should be ashamed of themselves.

Some other things to note:
-No local magazines in the room (had to go to the front desk)
-Front desk couldn't tell us where the best local shopping was
-They ran out of coffee and tea three times during our two-day conference
-They offer you points if you don't have your room cleaned (it's "environmentally friendly')
-They charge guests for Internet access
-There are no coffee makers in the rooms
-The hair dryers are cheap and useless
-Even on the 14th floor you can hear tons of noise from outside at night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaRubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Gina, thanks for the constructive feedback. I'm glad that we are working towards a resolution off-line and look forward to maintaining your loyalty to Starwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The walls in this W are paper thin. I was traveling with my colleague on business to a conference at this hotel. We were not able to sleep well at all because of the nightclub that was happening in the room next to ours on the 14th floor. We complained but it made little difference. Management wrote us an apology note. Exhausted on our 2nd morning and facing a 6+ hour drive home, we discussed some type of reimbursement with the powerless front desk staff who stonewalled us and went into the back room to talk with the manager. Manager later came out but didn't address us at all. Strange customer service for a luxury hotel. Will never stay at an overly image-conscious W again - definitely not worth the cost, stress & exhaustion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LPOWERS234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. And please accept my apology for the excessive noise. We do everything in our power to mitigate noise from inside and outside of the hotel but this is not always within our control. Thank you for your business and if there is anything I can personally do for you please don’t hesitate to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had a great stay at the W Boston earlier in the year. Great location in the city. Very stylish and funky hotel, with great little touches, exceptionally helpful and friendly staff staff. Made good use of their free shuttle bus within their 5 mile radius. Lucky enough to get a upgraded room. Very comfortable rooms although the bathroom lacked a little privacy when the room was in darkness and the light in the bathroom was on. Had no problems with regards to street noise as did other reviewers, but maybe we were just lucky Grat breakfast in the Market restaurant downstairs. Will definitely book into this hotel again if we travel back to Boston.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hi Paul D.,

Thanks for the fab review. Sounds like you had an awesome stay – let’s do it again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#19 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,961 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#28 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Boston

Property: W Boston
Address: 100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116-4715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boston
#7 Spa Hotel in Boston
#16 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated and modern all glass hotel located within the heart of Boston's Theater District, W Boston offers guests close proximity to the city's most famous theaters, the Boston Common, Boston's Public Garden and numerous award-winning restaurants. With the city's only bliss spa, a see-and-be-seen fireplace lounge, 24-hour gym, and destination nightclub, W Boston exudes a 24/7 lifestyle. Guests have access to W's signature Whatever/Whenever(R) service promise providing them with whatever they want - from Green Monster seats at Fenway Park to a personal shopper for navigation around Boston's luxe Newbury Street - whenever they want it, as long as it's legal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your W Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing