We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great W experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of W Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Boston
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great W experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with some friends for a guy's weekend. I had a really good experience from start to finish. Actually, probably one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Nothing extraordinary made my experience so go well, but everything just 'worked'. No surprises, no problems, and no complaints whatsoever.

We had two "Wonderful" rooms, each with two queen beds. The rooms were big, clean, had the familiar W style, and everything else you would expect being at a W.

The bathroom was great - plenty of room and very clean. The toilet is in a separate "room", which I don't understand why more hotels don't do that. It is a great feature. My only semi-complaint is that there is only a perforated screen between the bathroom and the room. So there was really very little privacy once you got out of the shower. Not a huge deal, but could be awkward under some circumstances.

I'm definitely not very familiar with Boston - but I can get around. So, from my relatively limited point of view, I thought the hotel was in a great location. Close enough to walk to Newbury Street, Boston Common, etc. There is a little food court across the street that had some good places to grab a bite, too. The bar in the lobby is pretty cool and has plenty of scenery, but bring your wallet.

Although I didn't use it, the fact that they charge $14.95 a day for WiFi is insane. The cheaper Starwood properties have free WiFi, but the nice (expensive) ones overcharge you for it. And don't even get me started on the prices for the minibar.

Room Tip: I had their "lowest" room available, and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Loved this: "probably one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had". I'm so proud of the team and so glad that you enjoyed our central location and Whatever/Whenever experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    412
    169
    75
    45
See reviews for
280
548
103
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

THIS IS A GREAT HOTEL - First time staying here last night was a treat. I'm usually more of a Westin guy who likes his Zen, but the W Boston may have me rethinking that position.

HOTEL OVERVIEW
Unlike many of the W Hotels out there, the W Boston didn't have a lobby full of techno trance music when I walked in. Instead, it felt like I was a VIP being welcomed into THE club. From door staff to check-in team and all the way to the Whatever, Whenever operator, I felt important and appreciated.

THE STORY
What made this stay really special started back before I checked in. After the auto-generated email from the general manager asking me to ask for anything I needed, I received a more personal email from Elena one of the W Insider team members. She asked if there was she could do to make my stay wonderful and there was. Last Friday I had knee surgery and I'm still less than 100% a week later. So, I responded to her email and mentioned the surgery and a very early train to catch and she went into action.

ABOVE AND BEYOND
In less than a day, Elena wrote back saying that she assigned a special accessible room (an upgraded type too) that was near the elevators (less walking/hobbling for me) and offered to book me into the W's Acura Experience for the ride to Boston South Station to catch my train. At first, I didn't appreciate what this meant but when checking in, I sure found out.

The room was AMAZING. Huge space, massive bathroom with a walk-in shower (no bending knees over a tub wall) and a little something extra. Waiting on the desk was a handwritten note and present from in a BLISS SPA bag. Elena had written me a get well soon note and included a bottle of BioFreeze to help with the healing. How thoughtful is that? She listened to what I said, figured out how she could help, and was empowered to take action. This is custom service and I felt very special right then. THANK YOU ELENA!

BUT WAIT THERE'S MORE
I ducked out for dinner and sometime in space after I left, someone from the house team left another handwritten note thanking me for my SPG loyalty and hitting a milestone in lifetime stays. Along with the note was a bottle of Fiji water and a Salted Chocolate square that was the perfect dessert to top off the night. At this point, I didn't think things could get better, and then I laid down in the famous W Bed and was in heaven.

SUMMARY
All in all, a short but memorable stay and proof that great customer service that is engaged and demonstrates that they CARE will always make someone's day better. Thank you to Bill the GM for putting together a great team and for empowering them to go the extra mile for us guests that choose to stay in the SPG family. And a big thank you to Elena and the house team for making the little things mean a lot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Wow! Awesome experience from start to finish. I loved reading your review - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is your typical W hotel. And I don't mean that in a bad way. The staff is fabulous. I checked out and left keys in my room. Luckily, I had a day of meetings in the area and discovered that the keys were missing. I called the hotel and confirmed that they had my keys! I stopped by on my way to the airport, got my keys and life was good.

That aside, the rooms are a good size with a nice work area and comfy beds. The bar/lounge area is pretty swanky (what else would you expect?).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kehau R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Great review - thanks a million. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the 4th of July for one night. The service was great, the staff helpful and friendly, the room clean and nicely appointed. They even have a car service to take you within the local radius complimentary. We book a ride, but were late, so they released our reservation. When we showed up, they apologized and payed our taxi fare to our destination, even though it was our error. Would go there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisabach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Don't wait until July to come back! Come see a show and stay the night. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

location was good, reastaurants, theatre, public gardens all within 5 min walk.
Jennifer the concierage was very friendly and helpful , she helped with tour info, tickets and dinner suggestions.we stayed three nights and everything was smooth. sat night music in lobby very loud.
Brian at the front desk was also very friendly and helpul,
We didnt eat there as it was expensive,The first night ordered glass of wine fron lobby bar with tip it was 19 dollars.

Room Tip: corner suite was quite spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank music-soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Great wines. Great times. They're not all that expensive by the way - so come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We rocked up for from our travelling around the stunning coastline of New England, greeted with fabulous staff who were kind enough to get us a room with the corner view. The staff honestly couldn't do enough, were charming, the room was ridiculously luxurious & delivered the glamour that one expects from the W, and I honestly don't even know where to begin with the quality of the bedding! My husband & I have officially fallen in love with the pillows...we need some at home now!! Breakfast was perfect & we had found an amazing restaurant that was incredible in the hotel mag! Who could ask for more??? Thank you all at the W of Boston! It was great that we were so central & you made our lovely trip to the region even more memorable than it was before! Namaste.

Room Tip: the regular rooms are stunning so I can only imagine they get better and better, but our room was sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaNYCNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Wow! Awesome experience. Let's do it again soon. P.S., we sell the pillows at W The Store.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a "Wonderful" room at the W, and it certainly lived up to its name. The room was well designed, roomy, and very clean. We were impressed with the room, as well as the hotel from the moment we came in until the moment we left. The staff was really friendly, filled with good recommendations. The hotel is well-located for tourist activities, and is reasonably close to a couple of T stations. We'd love to stay there again when we return to Boston!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side opposite the Common are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eloquentlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGabree, Director of Operations at W Boston, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
5 star-experience! Thanks for the fab review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Boston

Property: W Boston
Address: 100 Stuart Street, Boston, MA 02116-4715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boston
#8 Spa Hotel in Boston
#19 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#25 Business Hotel in Boston
#30 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated and modern all glass hotel located within the heart of Boston's Theater District, W Boston offers guests close proximity to the city's most famous theaters, the Boston Common, Boston's Public Garden and numerous award-winning restaurants. With the city's only bliss spa, a see-and-be-seen fireplace lounge, 24-hour gym, and destination nightclub, W Boston exudes a 24/7 lifestyle. Guests have access to W's signature Whatever/Whenever(R) service promise providing them with whatever they want - from Green Monster seats at Fenway Park to a personal shopper for navigation around Boston's luxe Newbury Street - whenever they want it, as long as it's legal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing