We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend aboard Green Turtle II”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a wonderful weekend we had. Karen and Jon were terrific hosts. They made sure our refrigerator was stocked with all kinds of beverages and yogurts. When we asked how to purchase wine, Jon immediately went out and bought us back the wine that we requested. Accomodations were immaculate. Breakfasts were delicious. Wonderful restaurants were recommended. We wanted to see the historic sights in Boston, and Karen and Jon helped us plan our days. They even teleponed for our taxis! Sitting on the deck and watching the sun go down was an experience in itself. We loved the new marina. We hope to return sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 593 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Green Turtle. John and Karen treated us like family. They "paved the way" in arranging transportation, dinner reservations and stocked the boat with our favorite eats and drinks.

At nite we would sit on the quarterdeck having a class of wine, enjoying the cool breeze and solitude of the marina.
Being a pilot, I found the proximity of the marina to Boston Logan especially fun in watching the planes arrive and depart.

In the future when we travel to new destinations on the water, we will first look for a B&B on the water.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

in one word fantastic.we stay,d here for 3nites &Karen&john were the perfect hosts,they cant do enough for you.if you every go to boston this is the best place to stay,we had a great time in boston dury,ing the day&watch,d the sun go down at the boathouse fantastic

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosaline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We found this gem online and all the reviews were good and it looked very inviting and relaxing. Not a typical B&B, and not even close to a hotel room. So we booked our 10-year anniversary weekend getaway. We took the water taxi from the airport right to our front door (very cool) and were met by John, a smiling, energetic man who welcomed us and gave us a very complete rundown on how to get around on public transportation and some suggestions on what to do and what to see. Then he asked about breakfasts and our likes/dislikes. John is passionate about his role as innkeeper and hospitality host for sure! And he is a true human and nice guy. We met Karen that night on the dock after a day of exploring and Karen is John's match, a true human, kind, friendly, an awesome chef, as I am pretty sure she made all the delicious breakfasts for us. And I'm pretty sure her other job is to keep John on track ha ha! They are two lovely human beings that make this world just a little bit better. Cheers to John and Karen we will be back, maybe with the kids next time. Jim and Kara

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Although we only live 7 miles outside of Boston, our stay at the Green Turtle was like being in another wonderful world. Everything about it was the best..........Karen and Jon, the innkeepers; the freshly prepared breakfasts, the cozy accommodations; the views of Boston harbor, the peace and excitement mixed together. We did not want to leave. and will we definitely return.

Marlene and Bob Doran
Stoneham, MA

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorans2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked the Green Turtle II as it was an ideal solution for four women from all over the country to meet up and have space to sit and chat, instead of having to sit in hotel rooms or their common areas. From the moment the water taxi drew up to the dock next to the yacht it was a magical experience. Sitting on the back deck of the boat in the morning watching the harbor traffic in the deep water channel as the sun rose over the water to waving at the numerous harbor cruises in the evening this was a fun place to stay. Cormorants and gulls sit on the dock feasting on mussels they pull out of the water, ducks wander across at breakfast time for scraps providing many photo ops. Transport to Boston was nearby, easy and cheap, though we walked back from the main attractions twice as the ferry ends at 8pm on the weekend-be warned though the location is going to change so walking may not be possible if that happens.. The Bistro in the Navy Yard was worth a visit (wonderful Sangria) and the innkeepers are well versed in hospitality and make each and everyone feel special. This will be a hard place to top and am already planning a return trip. A caution though, there are many steep steps in and around the yacht and the bathrooms are tight on space. Movement around the yacht and in the master shower requires some agility but the other shower is an easier option. The third bed is a pull out in the main cabin and as such, not in the same comfort class as the two Temperpedic queen beds in the two cabins. Toilets sit high off the ground and space for a large group of people in the actual cabin would be a challenge, however the originality of the location overrides any shortcomings. A hotel with this view would be astronomical. The success of our girls weekend was all due to this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My son and I stayed here. Karen and Jon were great hosts, my son enjoyed fishing and I enjoyed sitting on the dock watching the sailing races. Easy transport into Boston city from the harbour.
The breakfasts were yummy and my son is now addicted to eggs benedict

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#5 of 37 in Boston
363 reviews
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#2 of 37 in Boston
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Encore Bed and Breakfast
Downtown
Boston Yacht Haven Inn & Marina
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#7 of 37 in Boston
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Pier 8 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Turtle is a floating bed and breakfast as luxurious as it is unique. Set in the historic Charlestown Navy Yard on Boston Harbor, the Green Turtle offers an expansive view of the Boston skyline along with the comfort and amenities of a modern bed and breakfast. The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides), the Bunker Hill Monument and the Freedom Trail are a short walk away. You can take the water ferry to numerous points along the waterfront. There are dining choices from bagels to world famous dining. The Green Turtle houseboat and yachts were designed for comfort above all and the only reminder you are floating in Boston Harbor is the sound of the gulls, motion of the sea and the reflection of the ocean dancing on the ceiling. It is delightful starting your day sipping coffee or enjoying a cold beverage after a day of sightseeing while sitting on your dock chairs or aft deck watching the harbor traffic and city skyline. The Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast offers 3 boat choices. The Green Turtle I is a houseboat offering two private and separate suites and each has 1 queen sized bed with luxury linens. Each suite(Loggerhead and Sea Turtle) has a kitchenette and a private bathroom en suite. Each suite sleeps 2 or reserve both suites for 4 people. Green Turtle II is a 45 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2 - 6 people. She has 2 private queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each stateroom, a full sleeper sofa in the living area, a galley and dinette and a great aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Green Turtle III is a 43 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2-4 in 2 queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each, a salon (living area) galley and dinette and an aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Your suite/yacht is stocked with gourmet coffee, teas, juice yogurt, granola, spring water and snacks. We deliver fresh breakfast each morning. Staying aboard the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast is a unique way to visit Boston. All boats are docked in marina slips and are moored permanently during your stay. We live right here on our sailboat. Come Float With Us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Floating Hotel Boston
Green Turtle Floating b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing