We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights aboard the 45 ft Green Turtle II. I was a little nervous about my choice of B&B in Boston but the reviews sounded great. The reality was even better than the reviews. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by Jon and given a great orientation to our home away from home. The boat was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable for the 2 of us and would be for two couples as well with 2 full staterooms. There were lots of thoughtful touches like the fridge stocked with juices and the snacks basket. Karen's breakfasts were wonderful with something new delivered each morning.

We so enjoyed spending evenings on the back deck watching the city light up and being rocked to sleep. Our only regret was we had to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingmac_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
374
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The best thing about Boston is The Green Turtle B&B! Delicious breakfast, quiet mornings gently rocking to the currents, clean & beautifully decorated room with a divine bed made it impossible to leave to see the sights. Karen & Jon took the time to orient us to the city and made excellent recommendations for dining & entertainment.

Room Tip: Either room would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 797Jessica_H_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I were given as a gift, a night aboard the Green Turtle II, one of the new boats recently purchased by John & Karen. We didn't know what to expect and I was nervous that we were too far from the main area of Boston. WRONG! Once we made it to Green Turtle II neither my boyfriend or myself wanted to leave, or even explore downtown Boston. The neighborhood around the bed & breakfast was interesting and fabulous on it's own.

John gave us some amazing recommendations on where to eat, all within walking distance from our boat. We chose the Navy Yard Bistro & Wine Bar for a classy, upscale meal the first evening, and then tried the more boisterous Tavern on the Water for lunch the next day. Both were fantastic! There is even a cute deli/convenience store where we bought drinks and snacks to take back to our boat...not that we needed too much, because the boat came pre-stocked with free snacks and drinks!

The Green Turtle II was really amazing. All we found ourselves wanting to do was lounge on the deck wrapped in a cozy blanket, talking, drinking, and enjoying the skyline view of downtown Boston. In the morning we went for a run near the Navy Yard and explored the Korean War Memorial. Unfortunately that's all we had time for, but both myself and my boyfriend could have used a few more days aboard the boat. John & Karen have a fabulous little bed and breakfast here, and I would recommend it to anyone. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the Green Turtle II! It's got the best view from the dock, and 2 fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I found this little gem on trip advisor a while back and was hoping to treat my parents to a getaway at some point....then my husband surprised me by booking a night here (since we needed a place to stay after the Bruce Springsteen concert at Fenway).
All I can say is...WHAT A SURPRISE! Spectacular views, spacious, and clean...tasty breakfasts even delivered to you right on the dock if you want! Grab a chair and a glass of wine and enjoy the scenery...free parking minutes away (complimentary garage parking courtesy of John and Karen), easy access to public transportation - what more can you ask for!? Both John and Karen were very accommodating and their passion for "living aboard" was very obvious - John shared some fascinating life stories with us - I told him he should write an autobiography!
We can't wait to return to the Floating Green Turtle - thanks for a truly unique stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifeissupposed2bfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rileyville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had an awesome time! A very unique experience and EXCELLENT service! The Innkeepers were superb! We will definitely be returning one day! The view of the city at night was breathtaking! A trip we'll never forget!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHjan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeville,ma
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Green Turtle, by far , was the best B and B we have ever stayed at ! Our hosts John and Karen were absolutely delightful , our room was beautifully decorated, clean and filled with everything we needed for our weekend stay. Our breakfast was delivered at 9am sharp each morning (the time we requested) and was delicious! We had two perfect days exploring Boston but we couldn't wait to get back to our room so we could relax sitting on the pier while watching all the boats in the harbor. We will be going back next year to celebrate our 30th anniviersary! I would highly recommend a stay at the Green Turtle to anyone who is looking for a perfect get away experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novelidea11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband had won a stay at the Green Turtle so we were more than a little curious! As it turns out, we were very pleasantly surprised and intrigued. We live within an hour's drive so this really was a jaunt for an overnight in the city. From the beginning it was worry free with the great directions and personal welcome at the parking lot at Charlestown pier. Our accommodations were on the houseboat where the rooms resembled a nicely appointed hotel room. Particularly impressive was the availability of microwave, mini-frig, sink etc. John and Karen both welcomed us and showed us around the boat. There were personal touches of an amply supplied snack basket which my husband devoured over the course of the night, along with bottled water and juices in the frig. John provided us with info re: public transportation and we were off by foot exploring and dining in the North End. We took the water taxi back which we thoroughly enjoyed.
We slept soundly on the houseboat with the gentle rocking. Mt only disappointment was that the previous gentle breezes through the open windows had disappeared and we were forced to use (but grateful for) the air conditioner.
We had spent the evening hours on the pier reading, watching the ducks/gulls, and viewing the sailboats and Duckboat tours. We continued that relaxing mode the next morning when John served us a delicious breakfast of quiche, yummy fried potatoes, corn bread and fruit.
We had a very lovely stay and talked about another visit in the future when we might include the children and grandchildren.
All in all we would recommend this experience for anyone who might enjoy a slightly different angle to a stay in Boston.

Room Tip: The choices are to stay on the houseboat or yacht. I think there is more room on the houseboat tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madreandsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,697 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,862 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Downtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

Property: Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Pier 8 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Turtle is a floating bed and breakfast as luxurious as it is unique. Set in the historic Charlestown Navy Yard on Boston Harbor, the Green Turtle offers an expansive view of the Boston skyline along with the comfort and amenities of a modern bed and breakfast. The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides), the Bunker Hill Monument and the Freedom Trail are a short walk away. You can take the water ferry to numerous points along the waterfront. There are dining choices from bagels to world famous dining. The Green Turtle houseboat and yachts were designed for comfort above all and the only reminder you are floating in Boston Harbor is the sound of the gulls, motion of the sea and the reflection of the ocean dancing on the ceiling. It is delightful starting your day sipping coffee or enjoying a cold beverage after a day of sightseeing while sitting on your dock chairs or aft deck watching the harbor traffic and city skyline. The Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast offers 3 boat choices. The Green Turtle I is a houseboat offering two private and separate suites and each has 1 queen sized bed with luxury linens. Each suite(Loggerhead and Sea Turtle) has a kitchenette and a private bathroom en suite. Each suite sleeps 2 or reserve both suites for 4 people. Green Turtle II is a 45 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2 - 6 people. She has 2 private queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each stateroom, a full sleeper sofa in the living area, a galley and dinette and a great aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Green Turtle III is a 43 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2-4 in 2 queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each, a salon (living area) galley and dinette and an aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Your suite/yacht is stocked with gourmet coffee, teas, juice yogurt, granola, spring water and snacks. We deliver fresh breakfast each morning. Staying aboard the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast is a unique way to visit Boston. All boats are docked in marina slips and are moored permanently during your stay. We live right here on our sailboat. Come Float With Us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Floating Hotel Boston
Green Turtle Floating b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing