We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at the Green Turtle Floating Bed & Breakfast on October 23rd and 24th. We live in Mass however we enjoy coming to Boston. This was the best and most unique stay I ever had in the city. The owners, Karen and Jon could not be more gracious and helpful with information on the area. The houseboat was even better than we had anticipated, and very easy to get to, with free parking provided right on the pier. The accommodations were immaculate and very comfortable. The location allowed us to view the evening lights, and the sunrises over the city skyline from the deck chairs. We could not get over how peaceful and tranquil it was relaxing on the dock in the evening watching the boats in the harbor. Transportation in the area could not have been easier. The Water Taxi and Ferry were easily accessible and comfortable as well. After taking the Water Ferry to Rowes Wharf we enjoyed the city all day ending in the early evening in the North End for a fantastic dinner. We were served a delicious home cooked breakfast each morning which we enjoyed while watching the scenery from our room. It is obvious that Karen and Jon take great pride in the Green Turtle as it is maintained and furnished perfectly. We would recommend the Green Turtle B&B to anyone coming to Boston. We can’t wait to come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
374
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and I learned of The Green Turtle while watching Chronicle. When making the reservation last May, I envisioned a crisp fall week-end sipping wine on the dock looking over at the Boston skyline. The whole experience far surpassed that! We were fortunate to have beautiful "autumn" weather but the hosts Karen and Jon made our stay even more perfect. The Inn was beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. They provided us with everything we needed to know to explore Boston, i.e., sights, restaurants, transportation. We were treated both mornings to a delicious homemade breakfast. We highly recommend staying at The Green Turtle and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rode
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spent the last 3 nights of an 18 day trip to the East Coast at the Floating Green Turtle. Having dropped our hire car off at Logan Airport (you really don't need/want a car to get around Boston) we hopped on the free shuttle bus, phoned the water taxi from the bus (as suggested by the Turtle's proprietors) & were able to step on to the water taxi pretty much as soon as we arrived at the jetty from the bus. A great way to arrive at your accommodation!! Jon & Karen were waiting for us as the water taxi pulled into the dock; What a great couple!! They gave us loads of tips for things to do, places to visit & how to get around. The accommodation itself is fantastic & what a setting. We happened to arrive in Boston on the hottest October day on record & with beautiful sunshine too. Sitting on deckchairs with a glass of wine in hand was a perfect way to relax & watch the sunset. At Jon's recommendation, we also made sure we caught the sunrise the following morning - fantastic!! Breakfasts were delicious & varied & J&K were kind enough to allow us to leave our luggage with them after we checked out so that we could make the most of our last day in Boston before catching our evening flight back to the UK. A great place run by lovely people, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyRogerRode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

My husband and I started a 3 week tour of New England with 4 nights at the Green Turtle. We arrived from the airport by water taxi! Karen and Jon were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They made lots of good recommendations and were always on hand when we needed help or advice, but never intrusive, although it would have been easy to chat all day! They live on a boat behind the b & b and every morning a lovely hot breakfast was delivered to our door. We had something different each morning. The standard of accommodation was excellent and everything had been thought of. We ate breakfast watching the numerous boats going by and were rocked to sleep every night. It was also lovely to sit outside on the deck with a glass of wine after a hard day sightseeing! Although slightly away from Boston centre this was not a problem as there was a free bus into town and also water taxis. There were some places to eat within walking distance which were excellent and it was a very comfortable area to walk around at night. Finally Jon very kindly took us back to the airport when we left as we needed to pick up a hire car which made the whole event less stressful than going on public transport with all our luggage. I am now trying to find and excuse to go back but as we are from Northern England it has to be a good one! Thanks Karen and Jon for a lovely stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We spent Columbus Day weekend at the Green Turtle. What more can I say that hasn't already been said in the previous reviews? We had a fabulous time! The room is lovely, decorated beautifully, comfy bed , and the delicious home made breakfast served to us on the dock was perfect.The view of the city from the Green Turtle is priceless!! We spent several hours both days just relaxing on the deck chairs on the dock.
Karen and Jon are the ultimate hosts, so helpful ,pleasant and friendly. They provide plenty of info on the city and have great recommendations on anything you may want to do.
The location is great. It's so nice to park your car at the Marina(included!) and never have to touch it until your departure. We utilized the MBTA water ferry to Long Wharf and also walked back from downtown. Neighborhood has several places to stop along the way.

We will definitely be back again next year for a longer stay!! Can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Karen & Jon are extremely friendly & accommodating "innkeepers"! We thoroughly enjoyed the location away from the hustle and bustle of the 'north end' of the city. This room might not be for everyone since it is on a dock, but we liked being lulled to sleep by the swaying waves. The bed was extremely comfortable, numerous snacks and beverages were available in our room, there were plenty of towels, and Karen prepared a delicious breakfast for us. We enjoyed a nice, affordable dinner at the Navy Yard Bistro nearby (great meatloaf and lobster sliders). As a bonus, there is a grocery store next to it with chilled wines, etc. We spent a relaxing evening in deck chairs drinking wine while observing the skyline and watching boats. The Freedom Trail was great. Next time we will walk instead of bothering with the trolley since we ended up walking most of the way in order to see more of the sites. The only thing my husband would have changed would be to make the room a little larger (I thought it was fine). Hope to stay at the Green Turtle again if we ever make it back to Boston.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy_kietlinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Wow! We stayed in Boston on a two-day stop on our way to Maine. I chose the Green Turtle because of something that popped up on Trip Advisor, (best B&Bs maybe?) and booked without research. It was such a great two days! We were tired after a long flight, while on the water taxi from the airport we were greeted with a spash at the Green Turtle. (Lets just say Jon and his cellular carrier must have a love-hate relationship.) The Green Turtle is a houseboat on the water with spectacular views of Boston. The room was clean, attractively appointed, and felt like a place that people who love life, and care about people would offer as a place to stay. Jon and Karen are the best, they live on a sailboat and are the perfect hosts, we felt like family guests instead of hotel guests, and we wouldn't have changed a thing. The comfortable beds, the decor, the really yummy breakfasts and the service with a smile, and a spash were without comparision.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,687 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,863 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,299 reviews
Downtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at Custom House, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast

Property: Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Pier 8 13th Street, Boston, MA 02129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Turtle is a floating bed and breakfast as luxurious as it is unique. Set in the historic Charlestown Navy Yard on Boston Harbor, the Green Turtle offers an expansive view of the Boston skyline along with the comfort and amenities of a modern bed and breakfast. The USS Constitution (Old Ironsides), the Bunker Hill Monument and the Freedom Trail are a short walk away. You can take the water ferry to numerous points along the waterfront. There are dining choices from bagels to world famous dining. The Green Turtle houseboat and yachts were designed for comfort above all and the only reminder you are floating in Boston Harbor is the sound of the gulls, motion of the sea and the reflection of the ocean dancing on the ceiling. It is delightful starting your day sipping coffee or enjoying a cold beverage after a day of sightseeing while sitting on your dock chairs or aft deck watching the harbor traffic and city skyline. The Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast offers 3 boat choices. The Green Turtle I is a houseboat offering two private and separate suites and each has 1 queen sized bed with luxury linens. Each suite(Loggerhead and Sea Turtle) has a kitchenette and a private bathroom en suite. Each suite sleeps 2 or reserve both suites for 4 people. Green Turtle II is a 45 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2 - 6 people. She has 2 private queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each stateroom, a full sleeper sofa in the living area, a galley and dinette and a great aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Green Turtle III is a 43 foot motor yacht which sleeps 2-4 in 2 queen staterooms with bathroom and shower in each, a salon (living area) galley and dinette and an aft deck with comfortable outdoor furniture. Your suite/yacht is stocked with gourmet coffee, teas, juice yogurt, granola, spring water and snacks. We deliver fresh breakfast each morning. Staying aboard the Green Turtle Floating Bed and Breakfast is a unique way to visit Boston. All boats are docked in marina slips and are moored permanently during your stay. We live right here on our sailboat. Come Float With Us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Turtle Floating Hotel Boston
Green Turtle Floating b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing