We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go here for the lobster roll...”

James Hook & Company
Ranked #8 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located on the waterfront in downtown Boston, James Hook & Co is the go-to place for delicious, high-quality lobster and seafood. We are a third generation family business, and have been selling lobster since 1925. James Hook & Co has earned a reputation for the finest lobster in town, even earning the Best Lobster award from Boston Magazine.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go here for the lobster roll...”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

There's nothing pretentious about this place. What they do, they do well. I had the lobster roll, and it was amazing. Highly recommend you stop in.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveCornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    295
    76
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My husband now thinks I'm a great cook!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I come to James Hook & Company to buy salmon every Monday. My husband thinks I make the best salmon in Boston, better than he has ever had in a restaurant. The greatest part is I don't even do anything! I pour on a little marinade and through it in the oven. The fish is so fresh and tasty there it doesn't need any fancy tricks to be the best tasting around. Today we got some of the sushi grade tuna and wow is it good. I am so lucky to live close enough to be able to come here on a weekly basis! Another thing I love about this place is the friendly service. They always remember me which I really like. I can not recommend this place enough. If you have been eating grocery store fish, it's time for a change!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinityNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
330 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Great fresh Lobster right from the tank”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We went here because of the good reviews on TA. It is not a restaurant, just a no-frills shack on a parking lot close to the Old Northern Avenue Bridge. They have only a handful of small bistro-style tables and the service is grumpy at best. But the lobster was fresh and tasted excellent. I have not eaten a better lobster in Boston, even in the best restaurants. Also the price is right. Two 1 1/2 pound lobsters for 40$. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YoshiDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“SLEEP INTERCONTINENTAL HOTEL EAT HERE”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stay at the Intercontinental hotel walk out front door make right turn and wham, Lobster happenings. Just what the doctor ordered. No frills, just sends a chill through your body.

and you can take several more lobster rolls to your room for later.

makes me happy. good food and close by.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lobels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not that Great”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a Lobster Roll at James Hook & Co. today. I'd been looking forward to trying one while in Boston for a quick visit. Despite the fairly unfriendly employees at the counter, and part of our group trying to order two things listed on the menu only to be told they didn't have them (not sure if they were out or just didn't offer them anymore - hot dog, mac & cheese), I was still ready to give the James Hook version of this iconic New England staple a try! I was very disappointed. It didn't have much flavor at all. There was a lot of lobster, however much of it was rubbery. Price is fairly average, which I believe was $12.00. I'd say it was just okay. I wouldn't go again. I've had much better.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank flymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to James Hook & Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing