We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hill

Beacon Hill
Between Beacon St and Cambridge St, Beacon Hill, Boston, MA 02108 (Beacon Hill)
617-227-4392
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$40*
and up
PhotoWalks Beacon Hill Tour
Ranked #14 of 369 things to do in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The famous Boston Brahmin neighborhood of red brick sidewalks, cobblestoned streets, elegant townhouses and gas street lamps.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great walking tour...or take the duck tour! Really fascinating neighborhood - perfect way to spend a lazy day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    977
    555
    81
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“loved walking around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The buildings are beautiful. We incorporated walking around the Boston Common with walking around Beacon Hill--recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quaint and picturesque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I just moved to Boston recently so I'm still largely in tourist mode and exploring the city. Last weekend I stumbled into Beacon Hill after crossing Boston Common and was delighted to find such a charming area. It reminded me a lot of London (which from what I gather isn't completely an accident). Definitely a nice area to stroll through and stop for a coffee if you're nearby.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank schneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nicest borough in Boston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hilly streets, the old Bostonian flavour to them, with lined trees mixed with brick red, prettiest side of Boston. Full stop!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Bring a camera. Find the cobblestone street called Acorn st for great artsy pics. Boston common is gorgeous as well

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beacon Hill also viewed

 

Been to Beacon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing