We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and well located brownstone B&B in Boston!”
Review of The Gilded Lily

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gilded Lily
Ranked #2 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
pendleton, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and well located brownstone B&B in Boston!”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Our first trip to Boston was a complete delight! The Gilded Lily is a beautiful home and with very well appointed guest rooms. We loved the privacy of the continental self-serve breakfast! The "T" was an easy few minutes walk through the park. Several nice restaurants nearby and the Prudential Center about a 5 or so minute walk from the B&B! The beds and bedding were top of the line and very comfortable. The neighborhood was quiet with tree lined streets and brick sidewalks; picturesque! We would love to go back and do it all again!

Room Tip: We saw 3 rooms and all were tastefully decorated with lovely updated bathrooms and marvelous linens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    43
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
186
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Our trip to Boston was perfect because we woke up every morning in the best room in town. The room was very beautifully furnished and it was spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom had an excellent shower and we loved being able to help ourselves to breakfast in the morning. The location was just right too - the T stops were really close, and walking around the neighbourhood was a real pleasure - Wifi access meant we could plan our days and make the most of being in such a brilliant city. We would recommend the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum for an eclectic collection of objects and art, South End/Tremont and Shawmut Ave for restaurants and Newbury St for shopping. We'll be coming back to Boston to continue to get to know the city, and we will definitely stay at the Gilded Lily when we do. Thank you for helping to make our trip so enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I needed a place close to the Hynes Convention Center and didn't care for the price and/or reviews of many of the hotels. I stumbled upon the Gilded Lily with all of it's great reviews and amazing price. What a gem! The reviews were all right. This is a 5 star b&b! The rooms are beautiful and very well kept. It's quiet, but a few minutes walk from everything you could want. We will definitely be back to stay at the Gilded Lily.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLHeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2011

One of the benefits of B&Bs is the opportunity to capture a "life in CITY" point of view that can't be matched in a chain hotel, where "the sameness of things" is reliable and predictable. The Gilded Lily is what I imagine a Bostonian experience to be. I stayed in the Parlour Room on the third floor, overlooking South Boston rooftops with an October sunrise peeking through my blinds. My trip was business -- so the inn experience was limited to mornings and evenings. As mentioned in other reviews for this property, the location is ideal, close to transit, taxis and a mid-range walk to Copley Square (10 minutes) and the Theater District (20 minutes). The room was beautiful, very clean, with moderate room to stretch. Ample closet space. I used the wifi and ipod dock while working in the room at night. I used the TV in my room, though since there was no printed channel guide, it took some time trying to locate a sports event I wanted to see -- and I had no success with that. A minor disappointment. The other observation: This is a private experience, in that there is no common room for breakfast, so unless you happen to run into another guest in the shared kitchen area, or on the stairway, you will not interact with other guests or the innkeeper. You can take your breakfast to your room and enjoy it there, by yourself. (It is possible for friends to rent both rooms on the third floor -- and to open doorways to each other.) The innkeeper, in a lovely welcome note, does invite you to visit his office between specified hours daily in the ground floor if you wish to meet, and there is a telephone number, of course, for other queries/concerns you might have during your stay. This was my second choice -- as my first choice had no availability -- but I was very satisfied with the experience, and I remarked to my business associates what a gem this place is. Thank you for a nice stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and I felt like we were walking into authentic Boston as we strolled through the park, down the street and up the steep stairs that lead to the front door of the Gilded Lily. We spent the first 2 nights in a Parlor Room - very spacious, squeaky clean and we could prepare our own breakfast before heading out for the day. The last 2 nights were in the Garden Room which offered a luxuriously high, comfy bed. Loved this B&B - we could come and go as we pleased, very private and incredibly well presented and serviced.

Room Tip: Parlor rooms are more spacious but slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
809 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The Gilded Lilly, located in the impressive Brownstone building in South End is very good option for visiting Boston. Very conveniently located in the authentic surrounding, 5 minute walking to the subway station, this B&B has been our comfortable base for exploring the town.
We occupied the Parlour Room, sharing the kitchen with the neighbour Garden Room.
In the moment of booking we got very precise instruction about the arrival, entering the house and using all the facilities. This system is good for the tourists preferring to protect their privacy and being completely independent from the the housekeeper. However if you prefer every day contact and expect more assistance in the new place, there is rather no proper address for you.
In any case, the room we had, was absolutely perfect. Very tastefully restored , faultless clean and with specific touch.
The only one serious remark concerns the banal choice of breakfast assortments, which are stored in the fridge. Such a "plastic" frozen components do not match to this exceptional, chic place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Great location. Great neighbourhood. Convenient walking to everything. Parlour Room was immaculate and comfortable.
Because my sister-in-law operates an outstanding B & B in BC, Canada (ranked 1 of 14 on TA)
our standards are high. The Gilded Lily exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BB_McGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilded Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilded Lily

Property: The Gilded Lily
Address: 4 Claremont Park, Boston, MA 02118-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gilded Lily is situated at 4 Claremont Park, a quiet residential side street in Boston’s Historic South End. The neighborhood is celebrated for its rich Victorian row house architecture and extends over 500 acres. It is populated with many trendy restaurants and boutique shops and is immediately adjacent to Boston’s Back Bay, Fenway, Bay Village and Beacon Hill neighborhoods. We are within walking distance to an extraordinary array of cultural, civic, academic and medical facilities and lots and lots of places to shop; to name just a handful, Historic Fenway Park, Boston Symphony Hall, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Huntington Theatre, Boston University Medical Center, MIT and the Copley Place Mall and Newbury Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing