We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sol Azteca was so disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Azteca Restaurant

Sol Azteca Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sol Azteca Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #732 of 3,179 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fenway / Kenmore
Cross street: Park Drive
Transit: St. Mary's Street MBTA stop on the C Green Line, or Fenway Stop on the D Green Line
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sol Azteca was so disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Sol Azteca on Beacon Street used to be the best Mexican restaurant in all of Boston. We went there for years and years, enjoying its chicken mole, burritos, enchiladas, chips, salsa, Sangria, carnitas, everything!
But two recent visits have convinced us the restaurant must have new chefs or new management. The food was nowhere as tasty as in the past and the service was poor and downright surly. I hate to say this, but I'd have to advise you to find another place to enjoy your Mexican food when you are in Boston.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Piacenza
Level Contributor
188 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good choice for Mex Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent choice for an informal dining with this savoury food. Service is basic and tables also (we dined outside, by the street walk which is behind an iron fence), but enough to enjoy the quality of food which is excellent

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank federico f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
238 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“great and truly tasty Mexican in Boston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I ate here for the first time last week and really enjoyed the food. A friend who has been coming here for 20+ years suggested this place for dinner; I'll be back, many times. I'd characterize the food as essentially TexMex (though there are some dishes with mole sauce which I didn't have the chance to sample), but I found it far more subtle and flavorful than what I've been used to. The sauces on my selection of dishes were amazingly tasty and satisfying. I also greatly enjoyed the side of red cabbage with a wonderful house dressing.

Service was friendly and efficient. They have a decent drinks menu. I dined inside but they have a nice patio on the street, which is very pleasant when the weather in Boston is nice. My only tip is don't take the T (Boston mass transit) from Copley Place to Sol Azteca in the hour before a Red Sox game!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
414 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican near Fenway Park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite place for a pre-game supper. Try the pescado or camarones al cilantro and the great guacamole starter. Fenway just enough of a walk away to make it pleasant, but avoid the temptation to overeat the great food before the game. Been there, done that!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jop2map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

They were very accommodating of a large party of 20. The food was excellent, service was fine. Reasonably priced which I like. Definitely on my second trip list.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferstravels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol Azteca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sol Azteca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing