We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Boston”
Review of Constitution Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Constitution Inn
Ranked #80 of 83 Hotels in Boston
maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay in Boston”
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Such a great deal on lodging! Simple rooms, looks like dorms, but worth the price. The rooms are spacious and clean. The walls are thin though. Several nights we were woken up by our amorous neighbors, a little embarrassing as we didn't want to participate in their romantic endeavors but what can you do?

Housekeeping came every day, but does not wipe down counters apparently. No big deal.

It's in a fabulous location, right next to the USS Constitution. It's a short 15 minute ferry ride to the North End or a 15 minute walk.

There are tons of places to eat, the staff is friendly and helpful.

The only real annoyance, other than the 'noise' is that the internet is not as available as advertised. The routers are on the 2nd and 4th floors so if your room is not there you'll need to go to the library/reading room on the 2nd floor and set up there. I could barely get a signal in my room on the 5th floor, I did get a bit with the door propped open if I was standing but it was easier to set up on the 2nd floor.

I recommend this place, it has a gym, pool, and is convenient to downtown Boston.

I also recommend getting the weekly T pass, it was only $15 for 7 days and that included the T, buses, and the harbor ferry from the Constitution Inn to the North End, and you can take that ferry to the North End, walk 1 minute to the blue line and use it for transportation to the airport! Only about 40 minutes travel time and way cheaper than a taxi!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Global_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    221
    200
    112
    98
See reviews for
207
204
49
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Washington, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

...if you understand what you are getting: Food can easily be ordered in, but there is no restrurant in the building. It is also a non-smoking facility. It's a "not-for-profit organization [NPO]", built in the Navy Yard that was built 250 years ago by the British. The building was built or used as a YMCA in WW I and administered by the YMCA until a few years ago. It has been completely updated, but you still are not going to get "spacious" rooms.

If the highlight of your trip is your hotel room, this is -not- the place for you.

The Inn stands within the Old Navy Yard, a few hundred yards from the USS Constitution, down the hill from the Bunker Hill Memorial, a short walk and inexpensive water taxi ride from downtown Boston. The Navy Yard sits at one end of the Boston Freedom Trail. You can visit the USS Casson Young on foot and walk through the Korean War Memorial. We've stayed 5 times over 5 years. The rooms and furnishings are "simple". Rooms much like BOQ. Not fancy, but simple, dignified and functional.

Being an NPO, we dealt with staff all the way from the very best, to downright goofy, but we've always been able to get to someone that knew what was going on and straighten out the only little bumps we ever had.

The pool and gym are great.

The lack of "fluff" is not only offset by the historical location, but perhaps amplifies the easy access to everything you could want. We've stayed places fancier, more expensive, more exclusive, etc. We've never stayed in any hotel that was "better". If you want to be in a place that is a quite place in the evening to take a walk or a bicycle ride, but is right in the middle of everything, this can’t be beat.

If you open your mind as you walk through the doors, you can sense the diginity of the 90 years of Soldiers, Sailors, Maries and Airmen that have passed through the halls

I think the kids would tell you that if you walk outside at night and listen really hard, you might just still hear them marching. Personally I think it's just the echos of the current crews of the USS Constitution down the street and around the corner.

I hate to say too many good things, becuase I might not be able to get a room the next time I try.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Tuebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

This is a good place to stay if you want a clean room at a reasonable price. My husband and I stayed here on June 11, 2007, and the room was clean and the king-sized bed was very comfortable. The desk clerks were very nice and suggested a restaurant for us when we arrived late in the evening. The next day, they kept our luggage while we saw the sights, then called us a cab for the airport. I would only caution that this is a converted YMCA and it is not luxury. It's not a dump, by any means, but if you want luxury you'll have to spend more and go elsewhere. That being said, the room we had was on the 6th (top) floor, and it had a dresser, small table and chair, and another more comfortable chair in the corner. There was a skylight and a small closet. The bathroom might be a problem for some. The sink was just that, a small pedestal sink with no counter space. There were shelves above the toilet that we put our toiletries on, so it wasn't a big deal to us. Also, the only mirror is the one over the sink. One thing I should mention is that we are average-sized people and the bathtub/shower seemed a little narrow to us. If someone a little larger used it, it might be a little tight. However, for people on a budget who can live without a few niceties and just want a clean room in a good location for the Freedom Trail, this one can't be beat. We went to see The Constitution first, then walked up to Bunker Hill and back down the Trail to the Commons, stopping to eat and rest along the way. We then took the ferry from the State St. pier back up to the one near the hotel. It was only a couple of blocks away. One more thing, as someone mentioned earlier, there is no food in this hotel. Nothing. We didn't even see vending machines. Another guest told us that we could get a cheap breakfast at the nearby hospital cafeteria. We did get a cheap breakfast ($9), but it wasn't the greatest. However, it did get us off and going much quicker than a regular restaurant would have, so it is something to consider if you're there to sight-see and want to save time. All in all, we would stay at the Constitution Inn again. We paid $162 AAA rate. We thought it was a very good deal in this high-priced town.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — Small sink
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daytripper75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensacola fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

i had contacted the constitution inn directly after finding the inn thru the internet. their pricing is based on your military rating,
but also as a civilian your eligible to stay there. active duty assigned the uss constitution stay there.
when we got to the inn, everything was in place. the staff was extremely courteous and very helpful on questions about boston touring in general. our room was probably one of the largest that i'v ever had. the room was clean, neat and ready. maybe the views are not the best in the world but down stairs, there is a full fittness center that includes a monster heated 50 yard swimming pool, large saunna, free weight room, fitness machine room, loocker rooms, full court gymnasium, a full laundry facility....the business license says armed forces ymca.
they have a reading room with books and games...
we spent our first two days of the week we had here and enjoyed
ever minute...also our last day, three days at the inn...
another good point on friday afternoon to monday morning..
its free parking. the inn is very easy to get to from the airport.
boston has serious traffic congestion...forget the "big dig" we
never had to go in it, the tours all leave from walking distance from the inn....in one short sentance....we loved this place.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank bostondic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

The Const. Inn isn't for everyone; the level of comfort and service is below a typical Marriott, for instance - it's similar to a mid-level large hotel one might find in England. For the price, though, the room was large and clean, w/stove/oven/sink/micro, the fitness center was great (75 foot indoor lap pool, lockers, basketball court), and the location was fine using the T boat ferry (five minute ride) over to the Aquarium Station on the blue line. (The boat is covered on a $15.00 one-week pass - in four days we used $40.00 worth of boat/subway fares.)
We did notice increased noise once a loud family moved next door (not during sleeping hours, though - we just lived with it). I'm not in the military, but didn't feel out of place. If I were staying again, I'd get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, as their elevator service is better, or even get a spot near the non-emergency staircase. We got local bagels every morning and toasted them in the room (get well-outfitted w/napkins and plastic utensils). At least for us, the fitness center supplied towels, too; we did get extra towels for the room when we asked, though. It helps to print a full schedule of all days for boat service, so you can plan your activities accordingly. If you end up in Boston after service has ended, the taxi ride home (maybe ten minutes) is a decent trade-off to avoid spending much more staying downtown.

  • Liked — Good value; great fitness center
  • Disliked — Less than glamorous accomodations
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CAhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2007

This place is fantastic. I live in Maine and love to travel to Boston. GO SOX!! Anyway very friendly and nice staff. Well worth the money! The king size beds are comfortable. Fridge and Stove located in the room, clean bathrooms and clean building. Why pay $140 when you could pay more and get a better room.
Happy Enlisted

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank justin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2007

For $109 a night, we had a very clean room with small kitchenette facilities. It was not fancy, but it was very convenient because it offered validated parking in a garage for $6 a day. There also was a frequent shuttle to the subway.

There was access to wireless throughout the place as well as fitness facilities on site -- the place is apparently actually part of the Y of Greater Boston. For the cost it was great for a couple on a budget as we actually had a king bed, our own bathroom and all that we would have expected from a place we would have expected to have to drive out of the city to find otherwise.

  • Liked — price and parking
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chippersnacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#77 of 83 in Boston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Days Hotel Boston-Harvard Fenway
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constitution Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constitution Inn

Property: Constitution Inn
Address: 150 3rd Ave, Charlestown Navy Yard, Boston, MA 02129-2016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Constitution Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Constitution Inn offers the best hotel value in downtown Boston - great accommodations, great location, and a great low price! We are located in the famous Charlestown Navy Yard on the downtown Boston Waterfront, centrally located close to Boston’s great restaurants and lively pubs. We are just steps away from The USS Constitution, The North End, Faneuil Hall, TD Garden and many of Boston’s historic, cultural,and entertainment attractions. We share a building with the Charlestown YMCA. All guests are welcome to use their pool and fitness facility. Please check their website for daily hours of operation. The Constitution Inn is the perfect place to gather with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Constitution Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constitution Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing