We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but a bit disappointing.”
Review of Constitution Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Constitution Inn
Ranked #80 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“OK but a bit disappointing.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked in here after a trip from Heathrow for 4 nights. The room looked OK, nice hob and oven, microwave and fridge freezer but....no pans, china or cutlery asked for plates and cutlery at reception and were given plastic hmmm. Fridge door had a broken handle and no runners in freezer.
The bedroom has no view just a skylight which was hanging off the window, the wires hanging down were like cheese utters Very Dangerous and uncovered screws about 4 inches long. We used the iron and a screw fell out.
A shame really as room was not too bad. Decoration and carpets clean but bedding not pressed and rather tired.
Mattress to small for bed either the base sticks out at the bottom or the pillows fall down behind headboard.
Bathroom needs attention an attempt has been made to patch walls but it's botched, the sink has no plug and to reach the toilet roll from the loo you have to be a contortionist.
All in all a pleasant stay but it just lacks those touches which make it special. Little things I asked for more coffee was given one extra packet making a total of 2 !
The lift is impossible waited over 10 minutes yesterday and it's very slow Internet can be a problem but I'm told it's being dealt with.

Room Tip: Do not choose 6th floor and not room 604
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea31020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Thank for taking the time to review The Constitution Inn. Our Facilities team is addressing the issues you experienced during your stay with us. We will be receiving an updated look to our rooms soon and we would welcome you to stay with us again if you return to Boston.

Best wishes,

The Constitution Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    221
    200
    112
    98
See reviews for
207
204
49
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paupack, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an average hotel with a large price tag. It is about a 20 minute walk to the nearest T stop and if you plan on being out past 6pm on Friday through Sunday there are no shuttle buses. The shuttle bus is very inconvenient and the scheduled times are not really accurate. The gym and pool are not open very late so we never got to use them. The view is awful and the parking garage does not take credit cards so be sure to have enough cash. Think I would spend a few bucks more and stay downtown next time, it would definitely be worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was referred to me by family in the neighborhood, so location for me was PRIME. Excellent location and it was quiet. The staff where approachable and helpful. [There that's the positives]
The painted, institutional cinder block wall in the sitting area was not enough to discourage me, but overall the room was run down and outdated. [example: torn sheers on windows, bathroom door was chipped at the bottom, some rust noticeable, etc].
Two major let-downs; 1) the pull out couch in our "suite" was essentially unusable - it was old and on such a slop, oh and so noisy. 2) the bathroom didn't have a vanity shelf so we had to use the back of the toilet to put our toiletries [a shelf would have been nice at the very least].

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a terrific deal in the heart of Boston if you are / were a member of the Military. Thank you for the discount that allowed me to take my family there over the holiday weekend.

For everyone else, this is still one of the least expensive places to stay in the city of Boston. That being said, Yes, the place is in need of a make over, but it is far from being dilapidated. You may find your self with noisy neighbors, lots of groups stay here because of the price. You may find the internet out for your entire stay like we did. You may find the full size beds a little snug for two people (we did) but if your goal is to visit Boston, you should be too tired when you get back to the room to let these things bother you too much. ( I hope)

Things to be aware of, the choice of near by eateries is slim (4 with in 1/2 mile). The water taxi next to the dry dock ($3 civilians, Mil ID free) is 5 min away and drops you off next to the aquarium downtown, but stops running at dark. There is a free MGH bus 1 block away for trips to North station / North End. (ask at front desk for schedule) You can jump on the Freedom trail 5 minutes walk away near by the Constitution and follow it into Boston.
There is very limited parking at the hotel, but it is available 5 minutes walk away in a garage that gives a 1/2 price discount with a validated parking ticket. They have a large gym and pool, it is a YMCA after all and I see people in there, but have never taken advantage of it, too tired from walking around. We have stayed here several times in the past and We'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyrg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at the constitution inn for five weeks. My stay was very comfortable. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly. I will definitely go back to stay there. There is a convenient store hardly a minute walk away. The ferry leaves every half hour so it was very easy to go downtown. There is a new whole food supermarket that has opened up.
The room was very clean with a coffee maker,micro,fridge,iron,iron board. The area in which it is located is very peaceful. I loved my walks there.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadafkarim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being an extended guest at The Constitution Inn. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and our helpful and friendly staff. We look forward to being able to serve you in the future.

Best wishes,

The Constitution Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you're on a budget and want a good location, go for it. The only working elevator takes about 5x as long as it should, and walking down the stairs is faster. The connecting YMCA is a great addition. It's very very outdated, but the staff said major renovations are in the works. The staff is alright (maintenance staff was more helpful than front desk staff). Appears as if the front desk staff have been there forever so they don't necessarily take pride in providing polite service. The rooms are totally dilapidated. It's good for a college party room, not for much else though. I walked around the room in my shoes the whole time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here for three nights with my teen travel camp and this hotel was downright awful. When we first got in to our hotel room, the atmosphere was filled with smoke and it smelled like leftover cigarettes. It was so bad that one of the campers got sick from it and we had to switch hotel rooms. The other hotel room was a little bit better, but still smelled a little like smoke and was very dusty. The room did not look presentable and the beds were very small. There were two people per each bed and not even one person could fit in a bed. The walls were designed as a gym locker room And the most annoying part was that there was a Ritz right around the corner. I would deffinately not reccomend the Constitution hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissCapeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConstitutionInnMgmt, Manager at Constitution Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

The Constitution Inn is a non-smoking facility and I can understand your dissapointment when you entered your room and it smelled of smoke. Your comfort is of the utmost importance to us and we apologize for your upsetting stay and for not having the opportunity to make it right for you. We will be undergoing a room makeover in the near future to give us a more modern look and we do hope you give us a second chance.

Best wishes,

The Constitution Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#77 of 83 in Boston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#75 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Allston / Brighton
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allston / Brighton
Days Hotel Boston-Harvard Fenway
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constitution Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constitution Inn

Property: Constitution Inn
Address: 150 3rd Ave, Charlestown Navy Yard, Boston, MA 02129-2016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Charlestown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Constitution Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Constitution Inn offers the best hotel value in downtown Boston - great accommodations, great location, and a great low price! We are located in the famous Charlestown Navy Yard on the downtown Boston Waterfront, centrally located close to Boston’s great restaurants and lively pubs. We are just steps away from The USS Constitution, The North End, Faneuil Hall, TD Garden and many of Boston’s historic, cultural,and entertainment attractions. We share a building with the Charlestown YMCA. All guests are welcome to use their pool and fitness facility. Please check their website for daily hours of operation. The Constitution Inn is the perfect place to gather with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Constitution Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constitution Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing