We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The food was so good I... I got a tear.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erbaluce

Erbaluce
Reserve with OpenTable
Erbaluce is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #134 of 3,119 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Transit: The nearest T stop is the Arlington Street stop on the Green Line. The restaurant is two blocks away, down Arlington Street toward the South End, on Park Square.
Description: Charles Draghi and Joan Johnson's highly acclaimed contemporary Italian restaurant and wine bar. With Charles' simple, ever changing menus, rooted in traditional regional Italian cooking,and the best seasonal local ingredients. This restaurant has won numerous awards and kudos from critics, and many loyal guests. Alongside the Italian menus an equally lauded, all Italian wine list, comprised of rare and traditional village wines. The enoteca/wine bar is a cozy and lively meeting place, with its own menu of simple plates and a fun cordial cocktail list.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The food was so good I... I got a tear.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Brilliant cooking. The waiter was more knowledgeable than most chefs. Cozy atmosphere. The owners checked on every table. Well priced.

This was one of the best meals I have ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    71
    33
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed Erbaluce!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We really had a nice dinner. The owner recommended a gorgeous wine and the food was outstanding ! The service was also very good. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CChipBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had been looking forward to this meal with my family after a special event, as I love the restaurant's location and style of cuisine. Unfortunately, the entire experience was disappointing. The restaurant was busy but not filled to capacity. Therefore, it is hard to understand or excuse the fact that the food took ages to arrive and, when they did, some of the dishes were cold and practically inedible. At that point we had waited so long that sending it back wasn't a reasonable option. The food that was at the appropriate temperature was good overall, but not spectacular (based on pricing/expectations). To top it off, the dining room (even when not full) has no soundproofing and was so unbearably loud that we could barely hear each other at the same table. So, not good for a romantic dinner or anyone intending to hold a conversation (unless you're OK with shouting). Doubt I'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but reviews are overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We have lived in boston for 10 years and love food! When walking in, we were very happy with white table clothes lighting and overall ambience. After sitting down menu looked great. Our appetizer of burrata salad was delicious. Entrees were good but not over the top mouth watering. However biggest a dissappointment was skimpy glasses of wine and there was no circulation of air. At the end of the day service was great food was good but the bill was over 200 dollars for good food in a hot place with no buzz!! For that expense many other options in Boston!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Overall this was first class. Service was very good, food was (almost all) excellent. It's not cheap, but then it was what I'd expect to pay for a meal of this standard.

Only minor problem is there is limited flexibility on the different dishes. So when one of us wanted the peaches without mascarpone but instead wanted ice cream "the chef said it couldn't be done". Not even sure if that was true, but in the end they turned up late and really not very good. A sad part of what was otherwise an excellent meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erbaluce also viewed

 

Been to Erbaluce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing