We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem in Boston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erbaluce

Erbaluce
Reserve with OpenTable
Erbaluce is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #111 of 3,098 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Transit: The nearest T stop is the Arlington Street stop on the Green Line. The restaurant is two blocks away, down Arlington Street toward the South End, on Park Square.
Description: Charles Draghi and Joan Johnson's highly acclaimed contemporary Italian restaurant and wine bar. With Charles' simple, ever changing menus, rooted in traditional regional Italian cooking,and the best seasonal local ingredients. This restaurant has won numerous awards and kudos from critics, and many loyal guests. Alongside the Italian menus an equally lauded, all Italian wine list, comprised of rare and traditional village wines. The enoteca/wine bar is a cozy and lively meeting place, with its own menu of simple plates and a fun cordial cocktail list.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I had dinner on 1/24/13 at Erbaluce. This restaurant is located just outside the theater district and across from the back entrance to the Park Plaza hotel. The food was outstanding. My appetizer was sauteed brussel sprouts with spinach. they were drizzled with a light white sauce that made the sprouts very flavorful. My entree was a special for the night, it was a pork loin on the bone. the pork was not cured so it was very fresh. I've never tasted pork that was so delicious. My wife had an appetizer of mixed salad greens that she enjoyed and her entree was the "rack of wild boar". this was outstanding. We split a dessert of poached pear that was covered with a caramel sauce and the center was stuffed with a mascapone cheese--again, outstanding. the service was impeccable. Our waiter (Robert) paired our entrees with appropriate wines. If our waiter was busy with other tables, other waiters would tend to our needs (water, wine, clearing, etc). the waitstaff really works as a team rather than as individuals. The chefs wife (Joan) is also the hostess and she was very visible throughout the evening (checking on how we liked our dishes, etc).
Overall a 5 star experience. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    70
    32
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
308 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great atmosphere and interesting location in quaint Back Bay. Service was very attentive, and the food was great - had a steak that was as good as any. Also very good wine. We were a large group of over 20 and they delivered all the mains to everyone (accurately as per order) literally within a 2 minute space of time (and all hot). Pretty impressive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ditchnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Try to eat here - it's lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great food. Great staff. All four of us had something different for starters and main course. All were delicious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was very pleased with my meal at Erbaluce. The menu has some interesting choices. The service was prompt and courteous. The food was excellent. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Honestly I did not enjoy the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The atmosphere is wonderful, very cozy! We were there for an early dinner, so it was not crowded, maybe 3 other groups.

The service was excellent.

However I left hungry. The food was not my style, it's as if the chef makes things up as he goes along. The bread basket contained some very dry bread. We ordered the scallop appetizer, however it was RAW scallops, and we had not been advised. Of course I could not eat it.

We will not be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hotgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Erbaluce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing