We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive dinner, not worth the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Asana - CLOSED

Asana
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Cross street: Fairfield Street
Transit: The nearest stops to the hotel are Copley Station on the B, C, D and E Green Lines, Hynes Convention Center on the B, C, and D Green Lines and Prudential on the E Green Line.
Description: With a fresh approach, Asana welcomes diners with authentic and pure New England cuisine. Inspired by local and seasonal ingredients applying their modern twist, our culinary team offers a menu enriched by taste and tradition. The dramatic floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking bustling Boylston Street give the space a modern flare that is as vibrant as its Back Bay surroundings. The hand-carved limestone block walls, rich exotic wood floors, and stylish banquette seating create an organic background for the inspired dishes to truly delight. Working hand in hand with the culinary team is our pastry team which brings vast international experience and training to its sweet creations in Asana. Located in the Mandarin Oriental, Boston, Asana is the perfect place for the power breakfast, business lunch or sophisticated dinner.
Ghent, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive dinner, not worth the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Teh kitchen was way too rushed. Our apps and our entrees sat under the warming lights too long, overcooking my duck breast and leaving a film on top of the squash puree. I sent the duck back and waited a very long time for them to remake it. The restaurant was mostly empty. I wouldn't go back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tovah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa,Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We tend to stay away from Hotel restaurants. Glad we did'nt for Asana. Went for the four courses dinner on Christmas day and our meal was memorable. Pleasant modern setting and service was efficient and friendly. Will definitely go back.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ocean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
293 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Best choice in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

The food was surprisingly good, it wasn't crowded, so we didn't need a reservation, and the service was excellent. I liked the choices of wine, and the prices while not cheap, were reasonable for a very nicely appointed and high quality restaurant.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank AmanJunkieBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bar Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had Asana bar food at the hotel and it was delicious, so would recommend it for evening meal

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Linergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Expected more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Went with a friend for late lunch day after New Year. I was disappointed with the decor. Walking on hardwood floors with heels is noisy & the banquette seating in the middle of the room was odd. Just didn't work. Nice selection of wines by the glass & bottle. Also several nice appetizer plates for sharing. Had a nice chicken satay & hummus plate. Lunch options were minimal & not really impressive. Friend had a good burger & at $17 it should be. I had a lobster roll, $24, that was in a hot dog roll rather than the croissant or other bread it was to be served in. Too much celery & I like celery. For people that do not like celery this is not the lobster roll for you. Had a wonderful cappucino. Service was very good. I really expected more in the food and decor from this high end hotel. With all the dining available in Boston's Back Bay, I would go somewhere else next time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asana also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing