We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great position, spectacular service”
Review of Copley Inn

Copley Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copley Inn
Ranked #27 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, great position, spectacular service”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Nice hotel, great position, spectacular service
and none else can bit themon price

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
31
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is a fabulous little gem hidden on a side street very conveniently located near Boston's shopping and entertainment areas. The staff is spontaneously helpful and supportive. I would recommend this hotel/inn to travelers new to Boston as well as locals looking for a lovely weekend of relaxation and convenient comfort.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushton england
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The staff were friendly and very informative, the only downside is that the desk isnt manned into the evening - dont lose your key ! Its near the subway but if you are a decent walker, Boston is a compact city to get around. Our room had a kitchenette but no coffee/tea was provided - there is a great supermarkewt close by though and all cups and plates etc are provided. The rooms are clean and tidy with no problems.
A nice place to stay !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank martandvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Rucker, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I recently attended a conference in Boston (Hynes Convention Center). I usually stay at one of the popular hotel chains (Marriott's, Sheraton, etc) but the prices were ridiculous (over $300/night).

Pro’s/Cons (potential) review:.

Pro’s:
1. Kitchenette (it’s small, but useful).
2. Cable TV and free wireless internet.
3. Nice location and quiet; also, easy access to the convention center and the surrounding main areas.
4. Very nice front desk help (Dave and Sheila).
5. Very good price considering the prime location.

Cons: (potential…..for some people):

1. Room may be too small for a group larger than 2.
2. Some may find the stairs a little too narrow and steep. Again, depends on personal preference.
3. Doesn’t have the normal, popular amenities you may see in a big hotel chain (restaurant, bar, coffee shops).

Overall, if I was to stay in Boston again, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay at the Copley Inn.

Room Tip: As stated in previous reviews, try to get a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eyeman03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Copley Inn is well located for getting around the highlights of Boston on foot - without the crowds of a large commercial hotel. Friendly, hospitable, low key, offers a kitchenette - but no view or styling.

Room Tip: Ask for a street oriented room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evon3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and were pleased with our choice. Our room was one of the bow-front rooms overlooking the street. These street-facing rooms are slightly larger than rooms to the back of the hotel and we enjoyed being able to look out over the quiet Boston streets below. Street noise was minimal. Our room had a kitchenette which was very convenient since the hotel does not have a restaurant. We used the refrigerator to store leftovers from meals we had out and prepared light breakfasts a couple of mornings. There is a huge market (grocery store) a block away so it's easy to buy what you need. There is also an inexpensive and quite good restaurant for full breakfasts that is only a block beyond the nearby subway stop.

The room was very clean, large enough and quite comfortable. The bathroom was small, with a tub/shower combo that again was all very clean. We had a window air conditioner that worked great. The neighborhood seemed quiet and safe. We were on the 4th floor. There is no elevator and the stairs are steep, so get a lower floor if that's a problem for you. Also, be warned there is no night clerk so don't lose your front door key.

One of the best things about the Copley Inn is its location and convenience to the nearby subway stop which is just around the corner and maybe a half block more. So about a block and a half walk. We immediately upon arrival bought 7-day unlimited subway passes ($15 each) and used them constantly, even for a ferry boat ride to the USS Constitution. The convenience alone of the pass is great, not having to make sure you have a ticket or cash available to purchase them as you need them. We came out with savings as well. And, more importantly, everything we wanted to see in and around Boston is easily reached by the subway from the hotel. Once we had our pass and a the city map given us at the hotel (which included the subway map) we were ready to see whatever was on our list. The only time we needed a cab or van was to and from the airport, and even that could be done easily by the subway except for the luggage hassle.

We had a very enjoyable time and would stay here again on a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ljdill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Even after several positive reviews, we somehow thought we should not have stayed here. The location of the Inn was very good. It was very close to both Prudential and Back Bay Stations. Also close by was the Prudential centre which had a number of stores inside, including Barnes and Noble. A few restaurants nearby were good also.
The room itself was small and minimalist. The towels were rough and small compared to other places we've stayed in. The heating was turned up way to high, and there was only one thermostat in the whole building, to cool down, we opened the windows. It was pretty radical action considering it was no more than 30F outside. We actually slept with the window open as it would have been way to hot otherwise. The staff on the desk were friendly, and helpful. The desk is not open 24 hours, only from 8am-6pm, so if you happen to lose your key, you basically cannot get into the hotel nor your room. We will be looking to stay elsewhere in this beautiful city next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AusTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,130 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
The Boston Common Hotel and Conference Center
Back Bay
The Inn At St Botolph
The Inn At St Botolph
#52 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley Inn

Property: Copley Inn
Address: 19 Garrison St, Boston, MA 02116-5710
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Copley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing