We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, until the mice....”
Review of Mike & Patty's

Mike & Patty's
Ranked #73 of 3,206 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: American, French, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent, until the mice....”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I were vacationing in Boston and had heard about Mike & Patty's, so we decided to have breakfast there one morning. It's very small (only 6 stools), but we were able to sit at a table with another couple from the neighborhood that are "regulars here". The food was excellent! We saw a lot of locals ordering take-away, which was great. Everything was great until the end of our meal. The couple next to us got up to leave and they told the guy behind the counter "just so you know, there are two mice under your counter. We just saw them running. See you next week.". This place is literally 10' wide by 10' wide. Tiny. I literally bolted out of there, as I hate mice!! If you can get past that, the food and service is outstanding.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank morgan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    36
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A treasure! Fabulous food, friendly people, best to go on foot.”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My husband and I have eaten here about a dozen times over the last eighteen months, and we just love it! The food is very fresh and creative. The place is tiny and quirky but well worth seeking out. There is usually a line, and many people call in their orders and just come by to pick them up. Be prepared to wait--it is worth it.

I have particularly enjoyed their Robbie sandwich (turkey, bacon, avocado on multigrain) and their Croque Monsieur, but today I tried the Eggplant Hoagie and may have found a new favorite! Despite the name, the standout ingredient is delicately cooked mushrooms which come with eggplant, onion, roasted peppers, fresh arugula, and melted provolone on a crusty baguette. To die for. (Perhaps it is new because I don't see it on their website menu.) We are usually in the neighborhood at lunchtime, so we have not tried many of the egg sandwiches, but they look and smell delectable.

The service is excellent; owner Mike is at the stove and helped ably by a cheerful crew. They are friendly and helpful. Parking can be challenging, and you may have to walk a ways. Public transportation is a good option. Mike and Patty's provides an excellent reason to visit Bay Village, a quaint corner of Boston.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AquaPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast Sandwiches”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

If you are a fan AT ALL of breakfast sandwiches you must try Mike and Patty's. Excellent experience. It is a hole in the wall in a quiet part of town, absolutely worth the trouble/wait.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffDBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great little place”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

small place, great food hidden in a residential area. Just a few seats but they do take away too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geosat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best hidden secret for breakfast”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at the Radisson which happened to be right around the corner. If one did not know of this restaurant you would not find it as it is in a small residential neighborhood with no large sign to advertise. They clearly do not need to! When we arrived the one table and counter were full, a couple was waiting outside, and there was a 25 minute wait. It appears many locals order and pick up because it really is as small as the reviews say. We did not mind and it was well worth it. By the time our order was available a table opened. We had the fancy sandwiches which were egg, cheese, bacon, avocado, red onion on multigrain and home fries with a side of chorizo and orange juice, but everything they were making looked delicious. The price was great, especially for the tourist area we were in. This place is truly a find.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BobcatNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mike & Patty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing