We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary Faces”
Review of Pho Basil

Pho Basil
Ranked #149 of 3,202 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Back Bay
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scary Faces”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We used the answers in a "favorite restaurants near Symphony Hall" forum here to choose Pho Basil. That was quite an adventure. We arrived 6:45 and by seven the place was full. We split the appetizer of the day - three chicken curry dumplings with a dipping sauce - and then chose two dinner items with "scary faces" (spicy) on the menu. One was lychee duck and one was tempura soft shell crab. The prices of the dinners and a bottle of wine were very reasonable. Let's give Pho Basil an "excellent" all around. I'm sure we were breathing fire at the folks around us at the Boston Pops.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank D1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    80
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
261 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great food and staff at prices hard to find in Boston”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went to Pho Basil ater reading the TA review. That doesn't always work out for me but on this occasion it was a big success.

This place is basic but clean and well located. I'm pretty new to Vietnamese food but the waitress helped us out and we had 4 tasty, well cooked and presented choices. The bill with tip came to $35 for 2 of us which probably gets you a couple of glasses of wine at some nearby spots.

I can recommend Pho Basil without hesitation and will be back next time I'm in Boston.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What great Value!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had delecious PHO for about $8.00. Because of the great value, it is very crowded--even during the week. We had to waait about 15 minutes for a table but it was well worth the wait. the service was prompt and professional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Yumm”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food. Definitely go it is worth it. Its not very expesive and every time ive gone the food was incredible. The only thing is its a small place so try not to go in a big group

Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Sort of cafe style with fast efficient service but you were not hurried once you had your meal.The atmosphere was buzzing probably because of the efficiency of the young staff.
Stirfry was excellent but too much as ever in USA. The mix of ginger and spices and the general smell of the place was intoxicating. Another visit planned next time in Boston.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 845Elizabeth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pho Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing