We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short drive to historic sites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was a good location. Away from downtown enough to be quiet, but close enough to be there in 25 minutes in rush hour traffic. The room was clean, and the breakfast had many hot and cold choices. There was not a pool on site, but there was a pool and hot tub at the Courtyard by Marriott next door for guests to use. The staff was very friendly. We didn't use it, but the hotel sold tickets for the Old Town Trolley, and they picked up at the hotel, also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmslicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 822 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

I'm not sure what it is about this hotel but I loved it. Maybe it's the fridge that you can keep leftovers in, or the free (but not very good) breakfast you get before you start your day, or that it was just clean and fancy-free This ranks as my second favorite hotel ever.

The location isn't great because there's a small walk from the subway station, but that's my only complaint.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

It is too bad this hotel is a little off the beaten path. The customer service is EXCELLENT as well as the value. The hotel offer free breakfast. There is also a shuttle to the airport and the nearest metro station (Andrew). The only downside about the shuttle service is getting back from the metro station. We called and had to wait late at night and the shuttle never came. We ended up having to catch a cab back since walking to the hotel is difficult because you have to cross a freeway. This place would be PERFECT if you have a car!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uniquemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Due to some unforeseen circumstances we didn't even make it to Boston :( . However we had booked this hotel for 3 nights in June and, having absolutely no reason to cancel at the time, booked under the non-refundable advanced booking rate. When we received the news that made us have to cancel, I called the hotel and was directed to the manager's voicemail by the nice man who answered. The manager called me back very quickly, I explained the situation and he had absolutely no problem cancelling and refunding my money. Dennis was very friendly and a pleasure to speak with! And he made our very bad day a little more pleasant!

In the future when we do make it to Boston, I will be booking at this hotel! The location of the subway red line is also a great perk!

Thank Tausha14
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while in Boston for a convention. It was not a convention hotel but offered a free shuttle to the convention center as well as free local transportation. Only $5 for a shuttle to and from the airport. The staff was as friendly as anywhere I have stayed in over 40 years of travel. The breakfast was a great start to the day. The only downside to this facility is not having a restaurant very close by. There is an Applebee's and Olive Garden located a short walk through a neighboring shopping center but no other options. The adjacent Marriott Residence Inn has a small bar and café but is an expensive option.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denles_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Couldn't wait to write this review! The hotel itself is in need of some upgrades, but the staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is ok, better than some other places. However, the location, while very convenient to the I-93, it's in a sketchy neighborhood. We did walk at night from the T-station, but can't say that I felt 100% safe. There are some shady characters and the neighborhood is not the best. Right behind the hotel there is a shopping plaza that has among other stores, a Target, Marshalls, Stop&Shop, Two restaurants-Olive Garden and Applebee's. You can walk over, but at night I don't think I would. Parking at this hotel is free, and the hotel is next door to the Courtyard by Marriott. The hotel provide a shuttle to the subway station, which runs every 30 minutes. When you come back you have to call and they will pick you up from the Dunkin' Donuts, where again the customers are rather suspicious looking. The subway ride to the Boston Common is about 7-10 minutes, about four stops, if I remember correctly. We left the car at the hotel and took the subway while we were in Boston. You can drive, but it will take you considerable time, and parking is not cheap. While I was looking at Boston hotels, I was also considering the Roundhouse Best Western, Courtyard, the Hampton Inn and Crowne Plaza. I think your best choices are the Holiday Inn express and the Courtyard. Crowne Plaza is literally straddling the MA Tkpe, Best Western in right on the street and the neighborhood not that great, and the Hampton Inn about the same as BW.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mosinoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear mosinoi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions may have caused you. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel was all that we needed it to be, comfortable, clean and accessible. The reception staff, including Kimberly, Fany & Patrick to name but a few extremely helpful to us as were the other members of staff we encountered. The pool provided a relaxing point for our members, most notably the younger ones. The breakfasts were just what was needed to set up the days exploration of Boston and the restaurant just what we needed.
On the down side the licensing laws are odd especially to those who come from the UK. Closing the Bar at 11.30 pm in an Hotel is bizarre, last orders are 11.00 pm and it doesn't open until early evening, even odder but that's the law in Boston apparently.
Other than that it did what it said on the tin & our thanks to everyone who made our stay so memorable.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#77 of 84 in Boston
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#78 of 84 in Boston
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston

Address: 69R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125-1129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $134 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is the best option for affordable accommodations minutes from the action of downtown Boston.Our patrons appreciate our excellent amenities and the utmost in customer service.The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is located only two miles from downtown Boston and five miles from Logan International Airport. Our hotel offers transportation to/from Logan International Airport and Black Falcon Pier for only $5.00 per person each way. We also offer free shuttle service to Andrew Station (only 5 minutes walking). We are conveniently located near many attractions in Boston, such as the JFK Museum & Library, Chinatown, Theater District and the Museum of Fine Arts. Hotel amenities include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads, pastries and our legendary cinnamon roll. Complimentary freshly baked cookies are offered daily at 6:00pm and complimentary coffee available 24 hours. Visit Boston, MA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boston hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing