We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Ranked #68 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice hotel in Boston, but not in heart of the city. The great advantage of this hotel, in addition its affordability, is the free parking within the premises. Therefore, the hotel is very suitable for travelers arriving to Boston with car while traveling in the region. There is a subway station to downtown not far away. The room was very clean and well maintained. The stay was comfortable and pleasant. Free Wi Fi, Excellent TV set and receiving (all the channels were very sharp). The hotel offers basic breakfast, not exciting, but satisfying. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. When we checked in we received a bag with snacks and two bottles of water, which was really nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent stay and posting your comments online. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that matter, We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!! We are upgrading our breakfast buffet over the next few weeks so when you return please look for the changes.

Sincerely,

Dennis Callahan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 838 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel has been updated to suit most of the Holiday Inn Express criteria within its capability. It is most definitely an older hotel that has been remodeled. The bathroom is tiny! The floor tiles are dated and the sink area is practically nonexistent. In order to close the door you must slide in front of the toilet to do so, it is that small and for that reason alone I would rate this hotel lower. The actual bedroom size itself is adequate. We had 2 queen beds and had plenty of room. The beds were comfortable as are all Holiday Inn Express beds. This hotel is located about a 7 min walk to the Train and we did take the train into Boston without any problem. Everyone seemed willing to assist people who did not know their way around (us!) The lobby area is not very impressive but adequate. The advantage of this hotel is price ($200.) vs downtown hotel prices, complimentary breakfast and free plentiful parking. The personnel were excellent and did everything that they could to accommodate us. That was very much appreciated. All in all it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawkSpiritTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent stay and posting your comments online. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that matter, I deeply apologize that this stay you had a few issues. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. I will make sure your comments are viewed by our staff.


Sincerely,

Dennis Callahan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We booked for 5 nights to attend our son's graduation. Our main criterion was to avoid the higher priced hotels in the city. We were very satisfied with the Holiday Inn despite it's slightly tired appearance. All of the staff were helpful, cheerful and competent. The breakfast was great although a little crowded at times. Room was kept clean, bed was very comfortable and despite an 80% occupancy it was very quiet. There is a business centre with free use of computers and printers. There is also a good self laundering facility at low cost. The location is close to a metro service and there is a regular free shuttle to the station. We walked during the day and felt quite safe. The adjacent shopping area has everything including restaurants and large stores. It takes about 25 minutes to get into town and the price makes it definitely worthwhile compared to the overpriced city hotels. We would strongly recommend this hotel to people on a limited budget who want all the conveniences of a more expensive hotel but are prepared to be a couple of miles out of town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cogduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for you kind comments about your stay. As a Holiday Inn Express hotel, we are proud of our culture and our spirit to serve. Our goal is for our guests to feel welcome and well cared for while staying with us. I am happy you enjoyed our newly renovated business center and found our guest laundry and added bonus to your stay. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the shops and restaurants next door as well.

Regards,

Dennis Callahan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Though I have stayed in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge two years ago, I am not making a review on my stay. I want to ask for comments from General Manager Dennis C.
My wife and I are from Toronto, Canada. We are going to take a 5-day cruise departing from Boston on June 4. We can only leave Toronto on June 3 and arrive Boston a few hours prior to the cruise departure on June 4, That means we will not stay in Holiday Inn Express Boston before the cruise. The Park, stay & cruise package does not work for us. However, we would like to spend a day or two to explorer Boston after the cruise. Can Holiday Inn Express Boston be flexible to convert the "Park, stay & cruise" package to "Park, cruise & stay"? We would like to register the parking of our car upon arrival, then take the shuttle to the cruise terminal. We check-in to the Holiday Inn Express Boston when return from the cruise.
Is this arrangement the same as the regular "Park, stay & cruise" package? Please be so kind as to advise so that I can make reservation on the hotel room. Thanks. Dennis T. from Toronto, Canada.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Dennis T,

Thank you for asking about the "Park, Sleep and Go" Package. Of course toy can still make the reservation we will be happy to assist you. Please call the hotel and we can book everything for you.

Regards,

Dennis Callahan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

First of all, the location is convenient. It is just a few minutes walk from the Red Line station at Andrew (though I would not want to walk it after dark). The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean. They offer a fast shuttle to Logan Airport for $5, which is worth the convenience. However, it is not in the nicest area. The hallway and the room I had both smelled a bit musty so I had to turn on the A/C to get some fresh air every time I returned. The whole place needs an upgrade. A free breakfast is provided, but the selection is limited and just a notch above airplane food. I was able to see light from the hallway on all four sides of the door, so of course every sound from out there was intrusive. I was tempted to say it was a fair budget hotel, but considering that I paid over $200 per night, I have to say this Holiday Inn Express was not worth the price. There are better options in this price range.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent stay and posting your comments online. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and I thank you for your kind words about our staff. I deeply apologize that this particular visit was a disappointment especially with the noise levels experienced and the musty smell. I will relay your comments to the staff so that they can continuously improve on their efforts. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.


Sincerely,

Dennis Callahan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed for business during April 2013, rooms are dated but clean, facilities are dated but well maintained, breakfast as you would expect at HIE, conveniently located next to mall which has several restaurants, Target, Home Depot etc. Area is a little rough depending on what your used to, wouldn't go wandering at night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgm999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Boston! As the hotel’s General Manager, I wanted to take a moment to personally thank you for staying with us. We know that you have many choices in travel and we appreciate you providing us with the comments about your stay. I will pass your feedback along to the staff and we will move forward to update our features.

Best Regards,

Dennis Callahan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a week and have the following comments:

--Walls are paper thin
--Shopping mall nearby had entertainment in the form of a man relieving himself on the sidewalk in the middle of day; I stepped over the streaming urine on my way back to the hotel
--breakfast consisted of an inedible selection of breakfast items: harsh coffee, bacon-like substance, orange juice (watered-down tang is much much better)

In summary, I paid from 150 to 300 dollars a night which varied according to day of week. For that same price, or slightly higher, I could have stayed at the Westin. Enough said.............

Room Tip: different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelK933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent stay and posting your comments online. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that matter, I deeply apologize that this particular visit was a disappointment especially with issues you experienced. I will relay your comments to the staff so that they can continuously improve on their efforts.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Dennis Callahan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#78 of 85 in Boston
296 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Ramada Boston
Ramada Boston
#77 of 85 in Boston
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston

Address: 69R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125-1129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $90 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is the best option for affordable accommodations minutes from the action of downtown Boston.Our patrons appreciate our excellent amenities and the utmost in customer service.The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is located only two miles from downtown Boston and five miles from Logan International Airport. Our hotel offers transportation to/from Logan International Airport and Black Falcon Pier for only $5.00 per person each way. We also offer free shuttle service to Andrew Station (only 5 minutes walking). We are conveniently located near many attractions in Boston, such as the JFK Museum & Library, Chinatown, Theater District and the Museum of Fine Arts. Hotel amenities include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads, pastries and our legendary cinnamon roll. Complimentary freshly baked cookies are offered daily at 6:00pm and complimentary coffee available 24 hours. Visit Boston, MA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boston hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing