We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to Downtown Crossing via subway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Ranked #65 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Easy access to Downtown Crossing via subway”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in this H.I.E. twice - Wed 17th Oct to Fri19th and Mon 22nd to Wed 24th.
The first time we were in room 123. This is bigger than average ground floor room, designed for disabled customers and therefore very spacious. On the second occassion we were in room 320 - a standard room. The beds were comfortable and the showers powerful. Both were good value as breakfast was included. There are NO lunches or dinners available. The rooms have a microwave for heating TV dinners. The staff were extremely helpful and cheerful. The supply of free coffee and access to an outside garden yard made the stay more pleasant. Andrew station, on the Red line, is only a 5-10 minute walk away across a free-way. Andrew is only two stops from Downtown Crossing - the heart of Boston and the subway system. If you arrive at Logan airport and decide to take the subway's Silver line, you need to know this is a BUS and not a train. You catch it at the kerbside immediately in front of the terminals.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms for the disabled are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    379
    137
    38
    31
See reviews for
220
271
50
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We looked for a hotel with free parking and close to the public transport. This hotel served the purpose and we were generally satisfied. The Andrew subway station is 5-10 minutes to walk and the hotel provides also a shuttle to/from the station. The rooms and the hotel in general were clean and tidy. The washroom was really small and shabby though. The breakfast is standard for HIX, the pancake machine did not work once during our four days stay. The card key system was an absolute disaster, our card keys had to be redone every evening we returned to the hotel. So we got acquainted probably with every staff member working at the reception. They were friendly and helpful though.

Room Tip: As for highway noise you would probably prefer a south side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Buy a tent, sleep on the street.Do not spend a penny with them.No bar, no restaurant, taxi fare will cost you thirty five dollars to go eat
a hamburger , no hot water in the shower, no one cares, they tell you , you should expect this, you're on the eight floor, and for all this this they charge you over $200. per night plus taxes.Then when you fill in the form , they apologise to the people , unsuspecting though they are, that are trying to check in, they tell them. YOU are holding things up.

Room Tip: Buy a tent and sleep on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankDevenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose this hotel for convenience and the airport shuttle, knowing that we would be arriving late (after a 23 hour AMTRAK journey from Chicago) and leaving early the next morning to pick up a hire car from the airport. We were met with probably the warmest and most friendly welcome we have ever encountered in the US, and we have travelled widely. Denise Brown was an absolute star, and she pulled out the stops to make us feel welcome and sort out the following day's game plan, whilst also providing advice on nearby facilities and eateries. Staff like Denise should be standard issue in all HIX hotels! As for the hotel, it excelled in every respect; huge room, great facilities, amazing bed and overall extremely clean and tidy. Breakfast was standard HIX fayre and the wi-fi was fast. For Boston, and bearing in mind its only a short taxi ride to Downtown, the price was reasonable. Would definitely use this hotel again, and it was definitely on a par with some of the more expensive hotels we used during our holiday.

Room Tip: The King Size rooms are enormous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wanted a reasonably inexpensive hotel not terribly far out from Boston. The HIX Boston fit the bill. Easy to get to off I-93, and close to the Andrew Red Line T station, which they shuttle to/from.

Other than that it was what you expect from a good HIX. Clean room, free parking, and a OK enough free breakfast.

As for highway noise, I stayed on the north side, facing I-93, and did not notice it at all.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briantoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very clean hotel, rooms are comfortable, double rooms are huge! Although it is an "express", but there was a fridge, coffe machine, iron in rooms and vending machines in all floors and tea, coffe 24 hrs in the lobby. Breakfast was very simple,very few options, but everything was very tasty, I don't think I could need more.
This small hotel is located outside downtown centre, first, I thought this is a disadvantage, but after that I knew it's a very good location, being on the highway, makes everythig close without stucking in traffic everyday. also, the hotel offers free shuttle every 30 min to the underground station, which is 3 stops only from downtown crossing. It is 45 min by taxi to "wrentham premium outlets" , a must for shopping in massachussetes, also 30 min from"south shore mall" which has got all the famous departemental stores in USA (sears, nordstrom, target, macy's, lord& tailor). Also, just behind the hotel, there is south bay plaza, with many bargain departemenral shops and few restaurants such as Applebees.
Two computers with internet and printer free to use in the lobby.
The only bad thing in fact, I had a box delivred to the hotel, and it stayed in the recption for 3 days and they didnt tell me except when I asked if it arrived or not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameera H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for a couple nights before leaving on a cruise. I chose this location based on price and convenience. Price was lower than surrounding properties in the area AND includes breakfast. Typical HIE breakfast which is fine for us. A big plus is the shuttle service to/from the airport and the cruise port. The fee is $5.00 PP each way and is in the hotel's van. They were prompt picking us up at the airport and leave every half hour if going on a cruise. They will also drop you at the nearby subway station for free. The main negative was the noise from the highway if you are facing that direction. We were on the top (6) floor and could hear trucks and motorcycles clearly. If we stayed here again I would try and get a room facing the Marriott Courtyard next door. Thanks to Gwen for upgrading us to a king suite, I am a Platinum Priority Club member. She and all the staff were great and very friendly. There is a mall located behind the hotel with a few restaurants and big box stores. As noted in some of the other reviews, there are a few homeless men that hangout in between the hotel and where you walk to get to the mall. They never bothered us or any of the many other guests I saw walking. We also went on a Bostontours.com city day trip. They will pick you up and drop you off at the hotel on the weekends only.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remarcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Comfort Inn - Boston
Comfort Inn - Boston
#76 of 83 in Boston
264 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Boston Bayside
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Courtyard Boston-South Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Boston
Address: 69R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125-1129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is the best option for affordable accommodations minutes from the action of downtown Boston.Our patrons appreciate our excellent amenities and the utmost in customer service.The Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel is located only two miles from downtown Boston and five miles from Logan International Airport. Our hotel offers transportation to/from Logan International Airport and Black Falcon Pier for only $5.00 per person each way. We also offer free shuttle service to Andrew Station (only 5 minutes walking). We are conveniently located near many attractions in Boston, such as the JFK Museum & Library, Chinatown, Theater District and the Museum of Fine Arts. Hotel amenities include complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free high-speed Internet access, and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads, pastries and our legendary cinnamon roll. Complimentary freshly baked cookies are offered daily at 6:00pm and complimentary coffee available 24 hours. Visit Boston, MA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boston hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing