We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent location & ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
463 Beacon Street Guest House
Ranked #31 of 41 Boston B&B and Inns
Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location & ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is our second time staying at 463 Beacon. We love the location, as it is walkable to a great Chinese restaurant, an Irish pub, a mini-mart, Newbury Street and a subway station. You can also go for a stroll or jog along the river, and if travelling with kids let them run off some steam in a lovely little playground.

The main downside of this guest house is the lack of elevator. If you are travelling with a lot of luggage, then request a room at the basement, first or second (maximum) floor. We so wanted to stay here that we willingly lugged our large cases all the way up to a 5th floor loft room.

If you love Edwardian ambiance and want to be in a great location to explore Boston, this is a good place for you. If you want a very posh, cushy-luxurious accommodation, then it most likely won't fit your bill. Rooms are not sparkling new, but they are cleaned well. We've never had problems with noise. Most rooms have a sink/microwave area, and some have small kitchenettes - handy, if you plan to be in town longer than a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyachai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    75
    56
    24
    40
See reviews for
38
97
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A converted large family home near downtown. Many homes on Beacon street have been converted to guest homes. The location is good near the T line . (2.5 blocks).
Trying to get a room during commencement week in Boston is a challenge of sorts. This was the only room available for us at close $265.00/night.
The rooms are quaint and full of heritage furniture and decorations. A large old fashioned bed, but for us mattress far too soft.
Amenities are just in the bathroom, which is clean and modern. Very thin walls separate your bathroom with the one of your neighbor. My wife thought I was talking to her which actually was the neighbour man in his bathroom.
Service is only on request . Towels were exchanged but the bed not made! not a big deal but it was unexpected.
We arrived late pm and were advised to enter with the assistance of a key drop box, as the desk closes around 20.00 hrs. Despite many tries we were unable to open the box. No matter how hard we tried. Lucky for us another established guest arrived who in turn let us in.
There is coffee in the morning. Our room at the back of the house was quiet. Beacon street itself is a busy and noisy street during the day.
There was no need for AC, although we noticed a portable AC set in the closet for summer times.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the place. No elevators, only stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janmnoren41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ypsilanti
Level Contributor
315 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

$159 for a medium size room with bath. Pluses, set in grand Victorian townhouse that will have would be interior decorators imaging how gorgeous the rooms could be. Close to BU, Fenway, shopping on Newbury St. Minuses, no sound proofing, telephone, front desk from evening to 8am, maid service! Hair dryer, shampoo or other amenities. Some may find this a fair trade off, others will hate it.

Room Tip: Rooms at back might be quieter, some share baths so be forewarned and ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YpsilantiFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I do not understand the good reviews, however, I will also try to find some positives. I certainly don't need anything fancy. I am fine staying somewhere that has been maintained and is clean. 463 Guesthouse is neither. For starters, 463 Guesthouse had a four night minimum for the Boston Marathon weekend. Some of the nicer, better maintained guesthouses had a three night minimum. The room was dirty and needed SIGNIFICANT renovations. I had to wash the sink and countertop as the sink still had food residue from the previous guests. If they didn't clean the sink, how can I be sure that the staff changed the bedding. The room was dark and dingy with poor lighting, and it had some kind of plastic, drop ceiling. We had to practically beg the front desk for additional towels and toilet paper. Positives. The location is great at the west end of the Back Bay a few blocks from Mass Ave and Hynes Convention Center T Stop. The room, which had two beds, was reasonably cheaper than some of the guest houses at $750-ish for the four nights. If you're strapped for cash, or are a bunch of poor college kids looking for a "flop-house" in the Back Bay, this is probably the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeff24935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at 463 Beacon Street during a short visit to Boston en route to Maine (where I'm from). I was bringing my partner home to meet the fam for the first time and we wanted to have a few days of vacationing on our own before the family time. This place was a great find, and probably the highlight of our visit. It was a great location, within walking distance of everything- including dinner with some friends over near MIT, a Red Sox game, breakfast and coffee on Newbury Street and a walk along the river. We were in Room 50, on the top floor. The private balcony and view over Beacon Street made walking up all those stairs worth it! The staff were friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. It felt like we really got a taste of living in the neighborhood, and we'd certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jabberjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just finished another great stay at 463. My wife and I have been coming here once or twice a year for 15 years. Our first choice when in Boston--great price, great location, clean rooms, and service-oriented, friendly staff!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fortunateguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Forget all the other reviews, this place is amazing. It may not be a 5 star hotel, but we had a great stay. We visited over the Thanksgiving weekend where we were visiting our family in the Back Bay area. Extremely convenient. If there is ever a problem, you just let them know and they will be on it asap. Great service. The man at the front desk knew where everything was, very helpful. Restaurants, places, etc.

Room Tip: They have a few rooms with shared bathrooms, we stayed in a room with a private bath for a little ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#48 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Fenway / Kenmore
Gryphon House
Gryphon House
#4 of 41 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Commonwealth Court Guest House
South End
The Boston Christopher
The Boston Christopher
#26 of 41 in Boston
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Back Bay
The College Club of Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 463 Beacon Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 463 Beacon Street Guest House

Property: 463 Beacon Street Guest House
Address: 463 Beacon St, Boston, MA 02115-1301
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Back Bay accommodation that offers nightly and weekly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your 463 Beacon Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
463 Beacon Street Guest House Hotel Boston
Boston Guest House
Jamaica Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing