We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
463 Beacon Street Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$194
$168
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$203
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$235
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$288
$254
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni Parker House(Boston)
$222
$206
Omni Hotels
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $261/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$229
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $307/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $351/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
39
82
62
37
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
82
62
37
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorfenway parkkenmore squareprudential centerguesthousebrownstonebayaccommodationsbruins
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 276 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Forget all the other reviews, this place is amazing. It may not be a 5 star hotel, but we had a great stay. We visited over the Thanksgiving weekend where we were visiting our family in the Back Bay area. Extremely convenient. If there is ever a problem, you just let them know and they will be on it asap. Great service. The man at the front desk knew where everything was, very helpful. Restaurants, places, etc.

Room Tip: They have a few rooms with shared bathrooms, we stayed in a room with a private bath for a little extra. We couldn't think of sharing a bathroom with anyone else.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

ive stayed here at 463 5 times(last time January 2012,will be booking again for 2013),and for the price $69 (low season) its so cheap,its on beacon street,you would never know this place exists,no big garish signs,just the number,itsjust back of newbury street ,on a lovely Boston townhouse,close to the T hynes convention center,or hop on the mass ave bus,if you want to go to central square or harvard,fenway park is in walking distance,as is pretty much most of the Boston center is,there are good local bars,crossroads irish pub on the left hand corner,resturants a plenty,the guest house is old ,not sure how old,but its charming and has character,homely is the word im looking for,rooms come with tv,cable,en suite,microwave,fridge,didnt try the A.C its winter when i have been,there is no lift,which i dont mind,just enough time to like the large spiral wooden staircase,which adds to the old style,which i really like,the staff are great dave,brian, all have been nice welcoming,and grat source of local knowledge,i really enjoy coming back to Boston,and love this place,its warm,cheap,and on a great street,it really does feel like your a local in Boston,wherever you are from in the world,this is why ive just booked for a fifth time,tell your freinds,if you go to Boston,stay here

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank huffy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in early November 2012. First in Room B2 then in room 40. Both rooms were nice and clean (I DID check for hairs and dirt because of warning reviews posted here before). Though they did not clean the room every day, that might be a problem for some people.

I had to move rooms after 1 night because I booked late and the guest house was almost full. Unfortunately, though I had booked 3 consecutive days, they insisted quite rudely that I move out of one room at 11 without the chance to check in before 3. This though they said that the cleaner would be done with my new room (top floor, they worked from top to bottom) before even getting to my b2 (basement) room. I thought this was rather inflexible of them, and they only budged ungraciously when I insisted I needed to work from somewhere.

Otherwise, fantastic location just by the rental bicycle rack "Hubs" , nice large rooms, pretty clean bathrooms (even the shared ones), Wifi is ok, I couldn't find a safe in my rooms, comfortable beds. Quite small windows in 40, if you want a lot of light pick another room. Their cheapest room is 85 dollars a night but quickly climbs with bigger rooms and own bathroom (I rented one for 159 dollars the first night).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the 463 Beacon Street Guest House very late September for two nights. It has taken me this long to write the review as I was so extremley disappointed with the experience but feel other travellers should be aware. We were greeted with a warm welcome from the young man at the desk who was most helpful. Thereafter the experience was horrible. The room was hot even though the room had a small, nosiy AC. The room was dirty and dusty. Dust was thickly covering surfaces like the microwave and could be seen by me across the room. The bathroom was dirty with hair from previous guests left in the shower. I did not want to walk barefoot on the floor as it was sticky and stained. Goodness knows when the carpet was last cleaned, if ever. The linen was of poor quality and when asked for an additional towel was offered a washer and handtowel as they had nothing else. It is not acceptable to operate a Guest House without maintaining it. Guests expect their rooms to be clean and linen to be of some quality higher than rags. On day of departure we left the bags while we collected our rental car and returned to the guest house to see a post it note on the door saying 'will return in ten minutes'. After 30 minutes the door finally was opened and at least four staff members had been there the entire time ignoring the door bell/intercom and our phone call to the property. At least they are consistent-awful room with awful service.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

As all guest houses, don't expect same service as a hotel. There is no clerk around the clock, staff is not always on-site.
The room was spacious, with a mini fridge, counter, desk, couch, tv and a double bed. We were on the front fot eh house, so you could here some other time cars passing, but it was a quiet street overall so that wasn't a problem.
The bathroom was tiny... and the shower too. I dind' like it much but it made its purpose.
Location was really good, we were just a block away from the bridge you have to cross to go to MIT. There was a bike station right on the corner, and three blocks away from the "T" green line. If you are up to it, avoid using the T, and ride a bike. You can rent them in a shop or use the public ones; for short rides they are much cheaper and a really good option. We used them all day long to get from one point to another, it was great.
I thought it was good value given the money we had paid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cholako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews