We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Back Bay Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Copley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copley House
Ranked #69 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent Back Bay Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

As most people know who are either going to visit boston or have visited boston already, the hotels there are outrageously expensive. Copley house is actually a great alternative. They offer self-catering apartments in an excellent location. When we first got to the office, which is in a beautiful back bay location on West Newton Street, we were told that they had four different properties and they had upgraded us from a small studio to a medium studio, free of charge, which was at their location on St. Stephens st., a few blocks away. When we got to the place, we found out that we were in a basement studio in a great, little building on a beautiful street, near many of the places that we wanted to go to. Despited being a "basement" studio, we really weren't underground and the place actually had it's own private backyard, which was nice, even though we never did use it.

The only drawback was the noise. We could hear the water dripping from upstairs constantly, but it wasn't a big deal for us. Some people might get really bothered by these kinds of things, but we realize that when we are travelling, things are bound to happen and for 120 dollars a night, we had absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank altermood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    254
    118
    55
    52
See reviews for
156
221
60
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2009

Very nice rooms with a kitchen in nice, old, charming buildings near Berklee College of Music. If you can get a parking spot it's only $10/night - a great deal in Boston. May be able to negotiate a better price if booking several rooms or coming back for another stay. I have stayed in two other places (hotel and B&B) in Boston near Berklee and this one is the best place for the money.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moomoo455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

Three of us stayed at Copley House for 3 nights from the 8th to 10th April. We stayed in 239 West Newton Street in room 105 (Bedroom plus sofa bed). The room itself was very cozy and homely, the kitchen was well equipped with the basics we needed to be able to have breakfast every morning and a cup of tea. The room was warm , the bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean. My only observations would be the room itself could do with a few basic DIY jobs completing and the hallway outside the room looked like it hadn't been hoovered for at least a week. We had a problem with the TV asked the front desk if they could have a look at it and they finally got round to fixing it on the last night we were there as we happened to catch the maintenance man on the stairs. Other niggle was we had to leave for a flight in the morning, we left arount 7.30 and there was nobody downstairs to to give the key too or a box to drop it in, in the end we left it on the hallway shelf with a note and hoped for the best. All in all the apartment was very close to an underground stop (5 mins walk) Duck boat tours was just round the corner and a shopping centre. After reading the mixed reviews on the site and not knowing what to expect it was perfectly fine what what we needed and we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraggles1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

I would never stay here again. Carpet was severely stained and dirty like it had not been vacuumed for a while. The bed smelled like dry cleaning solution and was hard. The bathroom toilet is partially under the sink. There is light around the entry door from the hall when closed. The front desk clerk was not very helpfull, it was like you were talking to a sombie. Parking, forget about it. Come on now, 200 bucks for this. Give me a break.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloodPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonUser, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, July 19, 2009
I apologize that this has happened, but I have a few questions.

Which room did you stay in? I do not believe there is a room with so-called stains on the carpet. We also do provide parking for $10 a day, so I do not know why you have said "forget it".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

arlington, tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

If you're looking for the Ritz, the Copley House isn't it. BUT...the amazing price, the spectacular location, and the accommodating staff make this a real diamond in the rough. Yes, they could do some more updating at the Copley House, but I know that would drive the prices close to the competing hotels. Personally, I prefer the affordable cost, amiable and VERY accommodating staff, convenience of a kitchenette, extra room, and fantastic location. It was clean, comfortable and convenient. That's what I'm looking for. Sure, when I meet my rich Prince Charming, I probably will stay at the Ritz (because I really want to be spoiled and the walls are incredibly thin at Copley House), but for now, the Copley House really gets my vote.

Happy travels in Boston!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth01dfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

Above average FOR THE PRICE in such a safe, CENTRAL location. We booked 8 units for family members coming from across the US, Australia, Europe and the Middle East. At the time of booking (directly with The Copley House), we requested emailed photos of the rooms reserved for us, as a record.

The BEST part of our stay was having so many family members in close accommodation for such a happy occasion as a wedding, being able to meet all together in one room for a drink, or to share a meal. Looking back, this meant far more than the standard of the accommodation - a waste to spend more for fancy rooms when our holiday was about visiting with family members separated by long distances (and airfares), and seeing Boston.

Downside and Upside points listed below.

Downside:
1. The rooms we were assigned on arrival did not always correspond with the photo shown, as had been agreed on booking.
2. The carpets were in need of a good clean and did not get vacuumed at all that we noticed.
3. Not a full complement of cutlery in some kitchens, nor was it very clean. Housekeeping needs to learn to wash dishes hygienically.
4. Rooms were overheated and temperature not adjustable, so we had to have the windows open.
5. Shower stall drained very slowly only in at least 1 studio.
6. Pull out bed mattresses uncomfortable in some studios.
7. We were told there was a 'short' flight of stairs down to the room reserved for a 94 yo - in fact, 2 very steep flights. Would not meet requisite standards for people with disabilities or the very elderly in my country.

Upside:
1. Excellent location.
2. The staff was EXTREMELY helpful and friendly.
3. Complaints were dealt with promptly such as: room change to one similar to photo; lumpy springless mattress thrown out and replaced with a new one...
4. Bathrooms were cleaned daily, fresh towels daily.
5. We had free parking for 2 weeks.
6. We kept our rooms at a much reduced rate when we were away for a night.
7. Studio was bright, well appointed with furniture, beds comfortable, linen clean.
8. Laundromat across the street, supermarket nearby.

  • Liked — Location, affordability, our whole party located in close proximity, ability to cook simple meals
  • Disliked — Not always matching what we booked, not super-clean
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PerthMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

I was booked into this place by my company's travel agent, and I wish that she had checked into it first...but it was probably the last room downtown available, and THE WORST I have ever experinced.. I'll try to be brief and just give a list of the strikes against...but there are many:

*It's not a hotel. It's a series of row house properties that have been shoddily renovated into apartments at some point in time, then not taken care of AT ALL since.
*Tiny dingy shabby Kitchenette, I wouldn't eat anything prepared in it.
*Tiny dingy shabby bathroom.
*Tub would not drain, so you get to stand in dirty water when showering.
*Dingy shabby carpet.
*Horribly uncomfortable mattress...seemingly picked up out of a nearby alley.
*Supposed wireless internet did not work.
*Walls so thin you can hear conversations in the next unit like they are sitting next to you...literally.
*NO HEAT!!! Only until the middle of the night, then they shut it off to save $. This was not a one-time temporary thing. I called to complain and was told they'd have someone look into whether the heat was broken. I asked why there are no controls for the heat, and was told that the renters don't pay the utility bills, so why should they control them? I went ballistic, then was offered $50 cash for the inconvenience. Then they called back to lie and said that it had been fixed...but the same thing happened every night after I went to bed...about 55 degrees in the AM. Then I realized they knew there was nothing wrong with the heat, and never sent anyone to fix it...they just didn't have it on!

If there was anything else available I would have went running away. I don't understand how anyone could have such low standards as to give this place a positive review as a few have, unless you have been homeless in the past...perhaps it's from the management.

SAVE YOURSELF!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc-i-tect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,383 reviews
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#51 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#67 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Property: Copley House
Address: 239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#53 Family Hotel in Boston
#56 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing