We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location and Good Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copley House
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location and Good Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This "hotel" is actually a group of small apartments located in various townhouses in a charming Back Bay neighborhood. Location is 3 blocks from a MTA stop and an Olde Town Trolley stop. We bought the trolley passes on line and had perfect on/off trolley tours. Also near a upscale mall and many restaurants. The price was half that of the Marriott up the way.
Check in service was acceptable, not great. Staff spoke broken English and were unable to give understandable directions. The apartments had noisy room ac units of limited ability. Beds were more the size of a double than a queen, but clean and comfy. Bathrooms were OK, but lacked even a shelf to set a cosmetic bag. Kitchenette had small frig and no ice. Maid service arrived after 5pm. Basically, these apartments were converted as cheaply as possible and the staff is not top notch. For us, the location and price were worth the inconviences.

Room Tip: No elevators! Choose low floor to avoid climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SadieMae65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks for reviewing, Sadie! I'm happy to hear we were able to provide the value you were looking for. As for the inconveniences you mentioned, we really appreciate your feedback about these matters. We want to do everything we can to ensure our guests are comfortable, and are grateful for the feedback that helps us get there. Should you find yourself visiting Boston again in the future, we'd be happy to host you!

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    250
    116
    53
    49
See reviews for
153
218
58
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Four of us have just spent 2 nights in a studio apartment run by Copley House. It was in St Stephens Ave, a short drive from the main establishment. The apartment was on the 3rd floor so for some, carrying luggage up the stairs might be a problem as there is no lift. It consists of a queen size bed, a sofa that turns into a double bed, a dining table with two chairs, well equipped kitchenette and well appointed bathroom. The location is good, about a 5 minute walk to the Prudential Building and quite a few good eateries around the corner. The bed was comfortable and sofa bed was adequate. Clean towels were supplied daily. Overall a pleasant place to stay in Boston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff-Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for reviewing, Geoff-Dale! I'm happy to know you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us during your trip to Boston. It's great to hear that you took advantage of what our location has to offer! Thank you for taking the time to share some thoughts about your experience -- we'd happily host you again on your next trip.

Safe travels,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Yes, the neighborhood is lovely and the location is great. But the hallway looked to be partway through some redecorating and wasn't very welcoming. The living room area of my studio was so dark I had to either sit at the dining table or in bed to read. The worst part was the "free local and long distance calls"--totally non-existent. The phone didn't work at all when I got there (no dial tone). When I came back from dinner, there was dial tone, but I still couldn't make any calls. The offer to have it fixed the next morning was no consolation--I had to leave before 7 a.m. And no offer for any compensation. Yes, the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. And the price was fair enough for what I got. But I can't say I'm in a hurry to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishy-story
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
I hope you'll accept my apologies for the broken phone. I understand your frustration at this inconvenience, and I regret that we didn't take more care to resolve this issue before you left. I am happy, however, to hear that our location was to your liking and that you felt staying with us was a good value. Your feedback is always welcome, and we'd happily host you again on your next trip to Boston. Don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything else you'd like to share!

Take care,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Getting the "buts" out of the way first, we were in the basement in West Newton street and first impressions are not good- going down rickety stairs to be faced with a door lock that looks as though a good kick would be enough to get you in. The shower cubicle is outdated and rather dark but the shower is lovely and hot.
On the plus side the room is clean with fresh towels every day and it has a well supplied little kitchen with coffee maker, microwave and 2 electric rings ( although one didn't work). The bed is very comfortable too. A big television, wall mounted, was a bit too big as it was very difficult to get into bed from that side!
The apartments are in a great location easy to walk to the subway, or to shops/bars a couple of blocks away. The neighbourhood is quiet and feels safe.

Room Tip: Basement stairs are a bit rickety and the room doesn't have much natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chloeEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for taking a moment to review, Chloe. I'm very happy to hear that you were comfortable during your stay with us, and I appreciate your leaving us some feedback to work with and improve from. I do hope you'd readily stay with us again on your next trip to Boston, so if you have any further input about your recent visit and the kind of experience you'd like for us to provide, I'd be happy to hear from you. Reach out anytime.

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Some friends and I decided to was to Boston for a week. Looking at hotels in Boston over July 4th not much was available and what was was extremely expensive. Found this little gem on a google search.
Great affordable rate, within walking distance of everything you would want. And the best part it's like your own little apartment in Boston. Saved a ton of money by not having to go out for every meal and we lucked out and got a roof top patio overlooking the church an reflecting pool.
The room felt outdated almost like house sitting at an old relatives. But it was clean and worked great for us. It was our own little piece of back bay living for a week.
Defiantly would recommend for anyone going to Boston.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hey Michael, thank you so much for taking a minute to review! I'm really happy to know you enjoyed your time in Boston and saved a lot of cash by staying with us. We strive to provide a comfortable and functional environment for our guests so that they can take advantage of everything Boston has to offer, so it's really great to hear that this was perfect fit for you. I really appreciate your recommending us to others, and want you to know that we'd gladly host you again the next time you're in town.

Take care,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just got back from a week stay at the Copley House in the Back Bay area of Boston. This is one of the most affordable places that I could find in Boston. The bonuses are the reasonable price, fantastic location close to the T (subway) etc. and a very charming and safe neighborhood. Also having a small kitchen really came in handy. We were able to save quite a bit buy having our coffee and breakfast "in." I would say that the only downside were that the units were a tiny bit dated (bathrooms etc.). But for the price, the accommodating service and the location it was VERY worth it. I would absolutely stay at the Copley House again. BTW...just around the corner is "Anchovies" you MUST check it out...amazing Italian food:) There are also a French Bistro, and another Italian eatery all within a blocks walking distance!

Room Tip: Copley House is located right across the street from a very quaint little park for kids:) Added bonu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for reviewing, Nina! It was our pleasure hosting you. We strive to provide a comfortable environment and a great value for our guests, and it's great to know that staying with us helped you enjoy your time in Boston. I'm also happy to know you discovered Anchovies -- it's one of our favorite local spots! Keep us in mind for your next trip, as we'd be glad to have you again.

Best wishes,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Copley is a collection of 4 old brownstone type buildings, studio apartment-style rooms. there are 4 locations so check which one you are at, you may be wheeling your suitcase down the street (not far).
I was on st botolph. the decor is, well, old. pretty retro rose wallpaper in the hall made me giggle. rooms were small but fine.the bathroom was cramped but updated nicely. theres a neat little kitchenette with fridge.
the location is the best part, so close to many things. a 10min walk to Newberry shops and 5 mins to the mall.
The walls are very thin so loud neighbours will affect your sleep. there are no elevators so hope your suitcase isnt heavy!
overall, it's by no means fancy, and you may need to walk there. I enjoyed free wifi AND free local and long distance phone calls, the kitchenette and the comfy bed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flandaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Glad to hear you took advantage of our location! Thanks for sharing your experience with us -- I'm pleased to know you were comfortable, and appreciate your taking a moment to let future guests know what to expect while staying with us. If there is anything we could've done to improve your experience, don't hesitate to reach out. I hope we'll have the pleasure of hosting you again the next time you're in Boston.

Take care,
Christian - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#66 of 82 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,216 reviews
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#35 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#64 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#49 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Property: Copley House
Address: 239 West Newton St., Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#53 Family Hotel in Boston
#56 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing