We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing”
Review of Copley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copley House
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect. I will return here every time I'll go to Boston. It simply couldn't be any better. Right in the center, walking distance from Back Bay, clean and beautiful and incredibly cozy and for very reasonable price. Staff is friendly and very helpful. I can strongly recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank kat_thelgorion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

This is so fantastic to hear! I really appreciate you staying with us, and I'm thrilled to know you had such a nice trip in Boston. Hopefully we'll see you back in the city soon!

Best wishes,

Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 773 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Copley "House" is a group of apartments in houses in the Copley Square neighborhood. The location is superb, within easy walking distance of the Boston Fine Arts Museum, Copley Square (with Trinity Church, Old South church, and the Boston Public Library - the latter well worth seeing for its art and architecture), Back Bay shops and restaurants, and the Boston Common. In good weather it would be feasible to walk to Beacon Hill, Chinatown, and beyond, and non-walkers can use the nearby "T" stop (Boston subway). Our "medium studio" apartment was quiet, clean, and reasonably priced, a parking space right on the property a couple of steps from the house was available for just $15 per day extra, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Now, the particular townhouse where we stayed (215 West Newton, a block down from the main office) is probably more than a century old, and although renovated it had some disadvantages typical of a multi-apartment renovation from that era: the entrance door opened the wrong way into the small kitchen space; there was little hot water at morning times of peak use; and the window blinds didn't permit fully darkening the sleeping area. Also, the policy is not to confirm availability of the excellent, inexpensive parking described above until the morning of the rental. (If it hadn't been available, the off-site alternatives would have been much more expensive and further away.)

These disadvantages were minor compared to the advantages noted above. We would certainly stay at Copley House again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteveG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

First and foremost, thank you for staying with us, Steve. From the list of local attractions you mentioned, it sounds like you had a wonderful time in the city. I'm very happy to hear that.

Additionally, I appreciate all the feedback you left for us, both positive and constructive. We are continuously working hard to efficiently improve based upon all guest feedback. Your points will absolutely prove to be helpful as we grow. So, thanks!

Again, I hope you had a great time in the city, and hopefully we'll see you again someday.

All the best,

Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised of how close it was of the heart of Boston.
We stayed in apt 209 a little further down the street of the main building and thought that the place was very cute.
Only downfalls were that the bathroom was a little small and there were no drapes to stop the morning sun from coming into the room.
Other than that we were completly satisfied with our stay and would recommend anyone to stay there.
The Copley House will defenitely be the top of our list option for our next stay in Boston.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Carineaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thanks so much for staying with us! I'm thrilled to hear you had such a nice stay in Boston. We're lucky to call this beautiful city home.

I also appreciate the feedback about the bathroom and drapes. It's certainly something I will look into!

Hope to see you again someday.

All the best,

Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Me and a couple classmates were coming in to Boston for a national professional development conference. On college student budgets getting together the money for the trip was difficult and left us searching for a hotel when all the special group rates at the larger hotels had been booked up already. The best rates we found were at Copley house so we booked it less than a month in advance. Copley house was very accommodating, especially considering we needed a ground floor apt. due to one member of our party being disabled. The only possible complaints I could come up with is that the apartments appeared much larger in the pictures than in real life and that one outlet in our kitchen didn't work. Copley house turned out to be literally one block from the prudential/hynes center where our conference was held and was actually closer than many of the hotels which other conference attendees were staying at, plus the convenience of having a kitchen and a small grocery store less than half a block saved us a lot on take out food. I've seen other reviews saying the apartments weren't very insulated, but the one we were in was so toasty warm that we had to crack the windows a few times despite the snowy weather outside. I was put off when making the reservation about parking costing $15 per night because where I'm from it's NEVER more than $5, but was surprised when I learned that friends in other hotels were paying double that for parking, so even their parking rates turned out to be a steal! The people in the office were very nice, navigating the back alleys to get behind the brownstones for parking was difficult for us to figure out and find where exactly we were supposed to go, and the front desk lady actually came out and parked our car for us since we were having trouble. Several highways are within a few blocks so when we did venture out by car it was really easy with GPS to get to the areas we were interested in visiting, even Walden pond which is notoriously hard to find. The location was perfect the price beat all the competition and the convenience/ comfort and service were top notch. Definitely would recommend Copley house to any friends planning on visiting Boston!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaina81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for staying with us! I'm so pleased to hear that your trip went smoothly, and I really appreciate you writing a review about your experience. We work very hard to make sure our guests get the most out of Boston. It's such a wonderful city. Sounds like you were able to get out and explore Massachusetts as well. Walden Pond is beautiful and has such an interesting history.

I also appreciate the additional detail you left that we can learn from. We are under new management as of this year and are constantly looking for ways to improve for our guests. Your review will prove to be a big help.

Anytime you're back in Boston, we'd love to have you stay with us again.

Happy travels,

Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

It's a wonderful location. Convenient to everything. We had a basement studio which worked out fine.We were there during a major conference. It was convenient to the shuttle pick up location. The first evening was a bit cold as the room did not have good heating. We thought it was our imagination. At midnight, I called the maintenance number but no one picked up. I went back upstairs to the reception. It turned out they had turned down the heat because they were hot. They brought us a space heater. It was much improved and we were able to sleep comfortably there after. That said, we also thought that the remote in the room worked as both ac/heater, but we were mistaken.

otherwise, the place is a quaint historical building. The wall to our room was a bit thin, next to the housekeeping room in the basement. The stairs could stand a bit of vacuuming. It would be a challenge for a the physically challenged who we had with us assigned to the second flr. Luckily we were there for a very brief 2 evenings so he didn't pack a large suitcase.

Safe neighborhood. There are lots of eateries around and walking to everywhere if you're a walker. There's a beautiful pedestrian corridor down the bloack from the building. It's quite lovely.

Room Tip: Good for long stays, fully equip kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BmoreHon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us, and for sharing your experience. We're under new management this year, and guest feedback is so important to us. You left some fantastic detail (i.e. downstairs walls, vacuumed staircase, etc.) that is going to be very helpful for us moving forwards. Much appreciated.

Aside from that, it sounds like you had a lovely stay. I hope you had a fantastic time in Boston, it's such a great city to get out and explore.

Happy New Year!

Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great location, very quiet, budget friendly, safe neighborhood even at midnight ( we walked from the Theater District to the apartment) Good local food places around ( Mike's Diner and Flour)
The room itself was just a bit small, but it's doable given that most of the time should be spend doing great things in a great city anyway.
It's tucked away as...use again when in Boston!

Room Tip: Please don't rent a room when construction is going on right above it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunflowersmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us! I certainly agree with your food recommendations. Mike's and Flour are two of our favorite places to eat. We're fortunate to have the location we do because this area of Boston is becoming a cultural center and some incredible chefs are opening restaurants around us. Next time you're here, I would also highly recommend Toro, Equator and The Beehive.

I'm happy to hear you had a wonderful time in Boston. Hopefully we'll see you again someday.

Happy Holidays!

Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We'll take eccentricity and insufficient sound insulation in return for a walkable historic neighborhood, (South End) gorgeous park half a block away (Southwest Corridor), walking distance from BAck Bay Station and Copley/Prudential shops. Whole Foods half a mile away. We stayed in room 104 (studio in central building) with a more than adequate kitchenette, including pots and cutting board. Only drawback terrible sound insulation and 4 guys who came in late and kept us up 2 nights in a row. If you like spotless cookie-cutter new hotel rooms, this is not your place. If you love the Tabard Inn in DC, you'll probably like this too.

Room Tip: we liked 104 in main building ground floor but didn't see others... quiet at back of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillValleyTrueLotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopleyHouseBoston, Manager at Copley House, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Great review! I really appreciate the points of feedback you left for us. We're under new management as of this year and guest feedback is absolutely a priority for us as we constantly take steps to make Copley House an incredible value in the heart of Back Bay. The note you left about sound insulation in 104 will prove to be very helpful for us moving forward.

Thank you for choosing us for your stay and hopefully we'll see you again someday!

All the best,

Christian - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#66 of 84 in Boston
3,821 reviews
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#68 of 84 in Boston
971 reviews
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Best Western Plus Boston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 84 in Boston
1,939 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Boston Hotel Buckminster
South End
Chandler Inn
Chandler Inn
#73 of 84 in Boston
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copley House

Address: 239 W Newton St, Boston, MA 02116-6412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Boston
#56 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $112 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copley House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copley House is your home away from home in Boston, MA. We offer affordable lodging in fully furnished apartments at daily and weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Copley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copley House Hotel Boston
Copley Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing