We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Boston
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,124)
Filter reviews
2,124 results
Traveler rating
1,249
492
218
93
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,249
492
218
93
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the north end coast guard aragosta main building exhale spa hanover street nespresso machine water taxi water view old north church freedom trail td garden beautiful hotel walking distance quincy market turn down service faneuil hall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 2,124 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2019

We had a girls trip to Boston and chose the Battery Wharf Hotel because of the location. We were not disappointed. It was just a few blocks from Hanover Street in the North End and GREAT Italian Food. We felt very safe in the area. We did have a rental car which cost way too much to valet part for two nights. It was recommended that we park in another lot nearby, which would have saved us $$$. The patio on the wharf was a great location for after-dinner drinks. The coffee shop on the corner of Commercial Street at the front of the hotel was delightful.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank willimonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatteryWHotel2018, Guest Relations Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Dear willimonj,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit of the Battery Wharf Hotel. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of the excellent location in the North End, and that you experienced the patio outside Battery Wharf Grille and Cafe Amalfi. It was our pleasure to serve you and your guests and look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Went for a 3 night stay, very clean hotel and the location is perfect. It’s easy walking distance to just about everything in the area. Rooms were a good size and very accommodating for our family of 3.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank cedarparktx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatteryWHotel2018, Guest Relations Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

We booked this hotel for 4 nights because I got a very good price on a 3rd party booking site. As soon as we arrived we realized it wasn’t the kind of hotel we enjoy.

It’s actually four separate buildings with reception in one and two others are privately owned condo units. The whole place is, in our opinion, entirely devoid of any kind of charm or personality. It feels cold and impersonal (and indeed, when you step inside a building the AC is cranked so high you feel an instant chill). There is a strong floral scent in the main reception building that caused me to have sneezing fits every time I entered.

We had a tiny street-facing room with no seating area, just a small desk and chair in a cramped layout. It was nothing like the pictures I looked at online. You pay for everything of course. There are the usual high-priced snacks and beverages. There is a coffee maker and a bar fridge. The bathroom has Gilchrist and Soames bath products which are nice.

Valet parking, which is your only choice here, is $50 a night.

The restaurant where we had one breakfast and one dinner was small and boring and empty. The food was average. There is a bar that is part of the restaurant area and the noisy drunks sitting there were the only sign of life.

We disliked this hotel so much that we called the booking company and asked if we could cancel our last two nights. They called the hotel which agreed to cancel without penalty to us and we’re thankful to them for that. We rebooked at another hotel that has a bit more of a thriving ambience. Btw, we’re a couple in our 60s, not young
twenty-somethings, it’s not like we’re big partiers but this place is dead.

I always try to find something positive about any place we stay and we did think the staff and employees here were very nice.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Winderbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatteryWHotel2018, Guest Relations Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Dear Winderbelle,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad you liked the bathroom products and appreciate you taking the time to highlight our excellent employees. Your comments regarding the AC and floral scent have been shared with our team to ensure we are meeting our goal of excellence. It was our pleasure hosting you and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

I wish I could leave Battery Wharf a good review. Unfortunately, the day after I stayed I found out that its employees' union is currently going on strike because the hotel refuses to adopt a contract that LITERALLY EVERY OTHER MASSACHUSETTS HOTEL has adopted. There's no reason to stay at this hotel when there are plenty of other options in the Boston area.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank oppenhej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatteryWHotel2018, Guest Relations Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Dear oppenhej,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Battery Wharf Hotel Boston, which coincided with the current labor dispute. From one day to the next, we continue to anticipate that an agreement will be reached which is amenable to all parties involved. We truly apologize that this visit was not as you had anticipated, but do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back once an agreement has been reached.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

We enjoyed the hotel well enough but spent a fair amount of time talking to a couple of their lowest paid workers. The benefits they are seeking are very modest and the protections they want are very basic. My wife and I travel a great deal and would happily pay more if it meant the money would go into the pockets of the people that make a stay in any hotel pleasant. We cannot in good conscience stay at any Hotels of the World properties until they figure that out.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bobmhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BatteryWHotel2018, Guest Relations Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Dear bobmhen,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Battery Wharf Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel! We continue to anticipate that an agreement will soon be reached which is amenable to all parties involved, and we thank you for your time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews