We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, food, view, rooms...this place has it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 1, 2009

This was the first stop on our honeymoon, what better way to start it off then a water taxi ride across from the airport to our hotel where we were met with a staff that had the ultimate goal of making sure we had the most fabulous stay ever! We were surprised with a bottle of champagne, complimentary of course, and a great view from our room. We stayed in the Fairmont Gold building, Sarah Josepha Hale building, and were treated like royalty from the moment we walked through the doors. We are not used to this sort of treatment, so we were wowed from minute one. The breakfast, appetizer and dessert/cocktail hours served the most amazing food; very high class and delicious! My favorite was the boston cream pie with an espressotini the night of our arrival before heading out to little Italy to check out the nightlife. I cannot give enough kudos to the staff at the Fairmont Battery Wharf, Gold! It was a more expensive stay for us than normal, but we would save up and to it all over again in a heartbeat as it was worth every penny!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VailWildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
There are newer reviews for Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,365 - 1,371 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed at the Fairmont Battery Wharf for three days before our 7-day New England / Canadian cruise aboard Royal Caribbean International's Jewel of the Seas. When we returned from our cruise, we stayed one additional night before heading back home. First of all, the service at the Fairmont was top notch, truly five-star quality. The rooms were very nicely furnished and modern with great views of the harbor. The location very convenient and very close to "Little Italy," which has over 100+ great Italian restaurants. Tons of history to see near the hotel, including the "Freedom Trail." I also loved its close proximity to the water, which offered a great location for peaceful walks on the boardwalk.

My only complaint with the hotel was poor sound insulation. We could clearly hear people in the adjoining rooms through the walls. The doors to the rooms were exceptionally poor. It seemed that every voice or door closing/opening could be clearly heard from the hallway.

Other than that, I would still stay at the Fairmont on our next visit to Boston.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Springerhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone, it was so beautiful. Our King Suite was extra nice, the rainfall shower is awesome. Everyone is so kind and helpful. The bed is sooooo comfortable. Beauty awaits you here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glennjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Fairmont and had a great time! The room was spectacular, the bed extremely comfy and we had an excellent view of the water! The staff at the front desk where extremely helpful in helping us get around town and suggest great restaurants. They were always very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Left_on_a_jet_plane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. We took the ferry from the airport, which took you right to the hotel (the bus to the ferry took 30 min.!) The ride to the hotel was enjoyable with nice views. The room was decorated well. One of the people on here complained about the pocket doors to the bathroom, but there are also glass doors to the toilet and it's private enough. Front desk was very helpful. Loved the area on the water to watch boats. Short walk to any restaurants and shops. Enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank JJJTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Stayed for 1 night at this 'new' property. I usually stay at Fairmont hotels so I was excited to have a fresh hotel choice when in Boston. The Fairmont Copley is wonderful and perfectly situated in the center of the action, but having an option for being down by the waterfront/Back Bay area, away from the busy streets is a nice alternative. We were able to stroll around the wharf at night. It was beautiful!
We stayed in a Gold Level room, which in this case, is actually a seperate building! It has a dedicated Lounge with the usual Gold Level foods/beverages/etc. The room was oversized, NYC slick style, with LCD touch pad phone, rain shower, a bed that you never want to get out of, and a wonderful recliner chair with large flat screen TV. A DVD library was available for our use and we snuggled in for a movie with some snacks in the comfort of our room.
Another bonus of the Gold Service is the use of the hotel car for drop-off only. We used it to get where we needed to go each time, and then worked out way back.
I am not sure why other reviews were so negative. Yes, it's a new hotel and it usually takes 1-2 years for things to 'settle'. As a traveler, you are supposed to expect that things will need to be worked out and you will not get a perfect stay if you visit within that time period. Our negatives: when our taxi dropped us at the Gold Building, the doorman told us we had to walk over to the other building to check in-that is not correct. Also we had requested coffee to be delivered with our wake up call )available to Gold Level only). Our call came right on time, but the coffee came 40 minutes later-we actually passed the room service cart on our way down to the Lounge for breakfast.
Great hotel, relaxing location, wonderful services and amenities. I would go back again, no question.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabbygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Stayed at the Fairmont Battery Wharf in Boston at the end of our trip. The hotel seemed to be a little further away from the centre of Boston than we thought. We arrived just after 3pm and it took over 40 mins to get checked in and taken to the room. We'd driven for 5 hours and had to return the rental car by 4pm so that made things a little stressful. Other people were coming in and being shown to their rooms ahead of us so I'm not sure if it was just that the person on the desk was new, but it was not a great start.

I was under the impression from the website that all rooms had a harbour view but the room we were shown to had a view of the valet parking. When we got back to the hotel, we went back to the front desk to ask if there was another room available. For a reasonable cost increase, we were offered a significantly improved room (a suite in fact) on the same floor with a fantastic view. We greatly enjoyed this room but there were still some problems getting the internet up and running as the transfer from our original room didn't seem to be done properly. We couldn't access the internet which was something of a problem as I needed to check in for a flight the following day. That said, the front desk sorted out a laptop that I used to get checked in and the internet was fixed the day after.

The hotel is very well appointed and the rooms are very nice, although not much wardrobe space, even in the suite. We enjoyed the upgrade and would recommend the hotel but I would hope the teething problems will get sorted as Fairmont is a high end chain and you wouldn't expect these things still to be going wrong (the hotel opened at the beginning of the year).

All in all a good experience, but the issues detracted from the last day of our trip which was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#31 of 84 in Boston
1,420 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,314 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 84 in Boston
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,629 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $232 - $812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing