We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located for exploring Boston's North End”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfectly located for exploring Boston's North End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel comprises a series of modern buildings that possibly on first impression seem rather bland and non-descript but actually have everything the guest needs and are welcoming and comfortable.

Service was attentive and efficient, beds comfortable, showers powerful - what more could one ask for.Perhaps best of all was the location, quiet yet less than five minutes walk from the Freedom Trail and the delicious Italian eateries along Hanover Street and the wonderful, must visit Mike's Pastry.

Special praise to Cian (spelling?) for his warmth of greeting and efficient service on check-in depsite it being after 11pm on a Saturday night, to Christopher for manhandling all our luggage without a murmour, and to Ned in the bar

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisklopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hello Chris,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, from our comfortable guest rooms to our ideal North End location. I also appreciate your comments about my colleagues and look forward to sharing your praise with the team.
Thank you again for your post and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    309
    122
    41
    31
See reviews for
284
584
72
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a great hotel! The hotel is spread among the lower floors of a few buildings along the bay. (The upper floors are residences.) The rooms were beautifully appointed, the gym was beautiful with great equipment and the breakfast in the hotel restaurant was outstanding. Great location; we were steps from streets of great restaurants, bakeries and bars in Boston's North End. Maybe a 10 minute walk to TD Garden, where we took in a Celtics game. Just a great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBarker34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hello and thank you for your post! I'm so pleased to hear that you had a great stay - especially that you enjoyed our property, amenities, and location in the North End. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Boston.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Boston has a lot of hotels, most of which are indistinct or aimed primarily at conventioneers or business people. Only a few have tourists as their primary source and the Fairmont Battery Wharf is, in my opinion, the best of these based on location, price and service.

My wife and I recently booked a three night stay at the Fairmont for less than $200 USD a night which is a really good price for a hotel of this caliber in Boston. Other than the price we chose this hotel because of its unbeatable location and well, because it's a Fairmont.

Ever since the Big Dig was completed and the old elevated interstate that truncated Boston from its waterfront was demolished, the old warehouses and wharves of the inner harbor have been transformed into one of the great urban waterfronts in America. The Boston Harborwalk is a great addition to the legendary Freedom Trail that connects many of Boston's famous historical landmarks. The Fairmont just happens to be one of a very few hotels in Boston that is located on the Harborwalk yet is only minutes from the Freedom Trail.

All of the buildings on the various wharves at the north end of Harborwalk are on a human scale - nothing over a few stories and all with an architectural unity that makes a stroll on Harborwalk most enjoyable. The Fairmont is actually a collection of four four story buildings located on Battery Wharf, right beside the Coast Guard station. Apparently a good portion of the rooms in these buildings are condos. The room we were assigned, 3134 was in the same building as check in and our view was not of other buildings or busy streets, but rather water, seemingly just outside the window - close enough that I could easily identify a dozen or so species of sea birds bobbing on the waters of the inner harbor. Views from the odd numbered rooms were even better - the Bunker Hill monument and the masts of Old Ironsides are clearly visible from rooms on that side. Needless to say with only a small boardwalk outside there were no traffic sounds. So, the Fairmont has both great views and is very quiet.

The room we had was very well equipped with everything one would expect from a Fairmont and including some nice extras like a kettle, umbrellas and a Nespresso machine that actually made pretty good coffee.

The service you can expect at a Fairmont was well on display here from the valets, to the bell hops, front desk people and the housekeepers.

Although we didn't have a meal at the restaurant we did have drinks at the lounge bar which had a very good jazz ensemble playing Miles Davis and Chet Baker standards on Friday night. It was a very mellow way to end the evening.

Over the three days we stayed at the Fairmont we really came to appreciate just how good its location really was. One morning we walked the entire length of the Harborwalk to enjoy breakfast at Quincy Market. On another we crossed Causeway street directly onto Hanover and in to the Italian district and had great cannolis at Mike's Pastry. It was a short walk to TD Bank Gardens for a Bruins game. In the evening the choices of restaurants in the Hanover street area was unbelievable.

OK, so why not 5 star? Only because of a couple of minor irritants - for some reason the bath towels were not of the quality usually found at Fairmonts. They were actually kind of rough. On one day the hotel ran out of face clothes of all things. Lastly, $45 for valet parking, the only kind offered here, is pretty steep.

However, all in all this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd numbered room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maritimeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, from our location in the North End neighborhood to your guest room and the service from my colleagues. I'm also happy to hear that you were able to take in our weekend jazz series in Battery Lounge! Additionally, we appreciate your feedback on our bath towels and I have shared your comments with our Director of Rooms for further review. I have also shared your feedback on valet parking with our General Manager, though I would like to point out that it is priced competitively for the city.
Thank you, again, for your post and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We recently celebrated my husband's birthday at the Fairmont Battery Wharf, and what a wonderful experience it was! From the warm greeting upon check-in, and the surprise upgrade to a Gold Room in honor of our special occasion, the entire stay was just fabulous. They even sent a small cake to the room for my husband's birthday, which was a nice touch.
Our room was spacious, and had an outstanding view of Boston Harbor. Hats off to the housekeeping department. The room was absolutely spotless! As frequent travelers, we value room cleanliness just as much as location and service when choosing a hotel. The room smelled fresh and clean, the robes and towels were bright white and fluffy, and the evening turndown service was nice to return to after walking around the North End.
The location on the harbor obviously can't be beat. You're a stone's throw to some of Boston's finest dining establishments and pastry shops, a quick walk to the seaport area, and Faneuil Hall Marketplace. The service is polite and professional - the front desk, housekeeping, and the staff in the Gold Room lounge all deserve praise. A special thanks to Ms. Castle who recognized us as returning guests, and assisted with the birthday celebration!
You won't be disappointed if you choose this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hello Steph,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay - we're thrilled that your husband's birthday was such a special occasion! I'm also pleased to hear that you found my colleagues (including our Executive Housekeeper, Danielle Castle) so warm and professional and I have shared your praise with Danielle and her team.
Thank you, again, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were upgraded from a standard room to a harbour view room. The room itself was lovely and the amenties were fine. We couldn't get the TV to trun on an the front desk was there in just a couple of minutes to get it to work.
At first I could hear a lot of doors closing in the hallway but when it came time to sleep it was quiet. We also heard the snow blower going by the walkway outside the room but that stopped before 11pm Maybe ask for an upper level room if you are senstivie to noise in hotels.
No free wi-fi - $15.95 a day
TV channels for children are poor. The only 2 were Cartoon Network and HBO family, neither of which had anything suitable for a 4 year old. Without paying for wifi it made it somewhat hard to entertain a 4 year old
Was somewhat hard to find with GPS - ours sent us into the North End and once we got out it was difficult to see/read the fairmont sign due to snow
Easy walk to Aquarium (15 mins slow walking), North End (2 mins) and Faneuil Hall (10 mins

Room Tip: If you book harbor front, ask for a room on 2nd level or above if you are noise sensitive, ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was fine but not quite the super treat we had envisaged.
Plus points:
Nice room and smellies. Very good chamber maid.
Downside: description on how to get their by public transport misleading. It tells you to get the tube but doesnt mention hat its quite far from that tube station! No free wifi, instead you have to join their club and then get a refund, bit of hassle. Would have been nice to have found the hidden kettle earlier.

Green Features: Not so good except for the normal towel on floor signs. Refill bottles in the shower would be better.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meconopsis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied by your recent stay. As you point out, WIFI is complimentary for members of Fairmont Presidents' Club, which is completely free to join - I do apologize if you were not informed of this prior to your stay. We also appreciate your feedback on our online directions, and I'd like to assure you that I will personally review this area for any opportunity for improvement.

Thank you, again, and I hope you'll consider giving us another chance to "wow" you on your next trip to Boston.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

After many hotel stays for the last 10 years, Fairmont Battery Wharf is now my favorite. The location is great, walking distance to everything and the service is terrific. Wish we had more time. I will now consider Fairmont in other cities.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beachtherapy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Property: Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#30 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing