We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the best fairmonts I've stayed in. You can get a water taxi from the airport to the hotel and it only takes 7 mins.
The hotel is in a great location it's in a quiet area along the water front and only a ten min stroll into the centre.
The rooms are modern and a great size and very clean!
The only thing I was missing was they don't have the usual fairmont breakfast buffet but the breakfast was great regardless!
I would def stay here again!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janenormanjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    340
    132
    48
    36
See reviews for
314
629
76
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

GREAT location; beautiful waterfront by the North End Italian restaurants. Very good service (knowledgeable front desk folks; no separate concierge). Beautiful hotel (2 separate buildings), trendy, well-laid out rooms and large lovely bathroom. Comfy beds. The Nespresso machine made such delicious espressos that we came home and bought one. Large well-equipped gym in adjacent building. Constructive criticism? Some scratches in wood door/furniture. The hotel offered reasonable discounts on rates. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHE713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel was a major disappointment. The decor was meh. The sheets were like sandpaper. I could hear the doors of other rooms slamming shut during the night.
Good location near little Italy.
For the price, there are better hotels in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesnaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. While I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our waterfront location, I’m sorry you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay. I would like to assure you that I’ve shared your comments with our Director of Rooms. Again, we appreciate your feedback and I hope you will consider giving us another chance to “wow” you on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Having traveled to Boston for leisure many times, I decided to use the Hot Wire service to book a hotel as I had heard great things about choices provided. One of the 5 Star Hotels suggested was the Fairmont Battery Wharf, and once I saw that I was so excited because the Fairmont has such an excellent reputation world wide. Unfortunately, my experience was anything but 5 Star.

The first night I arrived, my daughter valeted parked her car. She lost the valet ticket and they were all up in arms about, as if it has never happened before.

The room accommodations were something out of the 1970s- very ugly, dated, and TINY.

One evening, when needing ice- was told by the front desk there would be a 35-40 minute wait. Let me add that ice machines are not provided on the guest floors... how inconvenient.

The overall staff enthusiasm was atrocious. They all were very upset about having to do their jobs. Any request seemed to aggravate and annoy them.

The only redeeming quality of this hotel is the proximity to the North End and downtown.

I would NEVER stay here again and I would NEVER recommend someone stay here. I would have been mortified if I had to pay full price for this room and not booked via Hot Wire.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimkellster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello Jim, and thank you for your post. I’m very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your recent stay. You are correct in pointing out that we do not have ice machines on the guest floors – I can see how this could be an inconvenience and I will make sure this feedback is shared with our hotel’s leadership team to further assess. I’m disappointed that you felt my colleagues were not helpful – This is unacceptable. We can, and will, do better. Thank you, again, for comments, and I hope you’ll consider giving us another chance on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

For the price, this was one of my worst so-called five star hotel stays ever. I have been to Boston many times and usually stay around Back Bay or the Downtown areas. As this was a leisure trip I decided to try something different. Never again!

After you have travelled for 36 hours and arrive at 1am, all you want is a bit of service and a quiet comfortable room to sleep in.

When we arrived we were the only customers within miles yet the porter evinced no interest in us in the slightest until we had lifted our own bags out of the trunk of our cab and were half way in the door. On check in we were given "a beautiful room with a queen bed". If only.

First thing we noticed was the heat, it was stifling. Then the smell, as if there was a gas leak but with no gas. Finally there was the bed, maybe it was fit for a queen but there were two of us.  I really dont know what passses for a queen sized bed in Boston, but you would have to be pygmies to sleep two people comfortably in that bed.

Changing rooms, even though the place was over half empty, was no easy matter, but we did eventually get there. If we had previously had the worst room in the house, this must have been the second worst. It was again stiflingly hot, directly above the entrance, with a rattling aircon, but at least a King sized bed.

The aircon only wanted to rattle and had no interest in actually cooling the room. We could at least open windows, although that did mean listening to the porter directly below us and his inane late night conversations on his cell phone.

Look, some of the day time staff were great, Little Italy was a good place to eat etc, but I would never, ever stay here again! And I suggest that you don't either.

Room Tip: Somewhere else in Boston
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I’m so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. I would like to point out that the gentlemen outside are not porters, but a valet service operated by an outside vendor – that said, I do apologize that you were not assisted with your luggage. As it is winter here in Boston, we do of course turn the heat on in our guest rooms – I’m very sorry that this caused you discomfort as our intention was the opposite. I have shared your post with our Director of Rooms so we can thoroughly review our procedures here. Thank you, again, for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent a couple nights here & were amazed that we heard crickets at night! Felt like we were in the woods rather than the waterfront in Boston! Wonderful bed, (& bedding), good location (& yet quiet!) excellent gym/spa facility & super friendly staff. About 10 min walk to the heart if the waterfront district and closer yet to Little Italy...just a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravellivetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I think this location was great. We were 5 minutes from the Aquarium, Fanueil Hall/Quincy Market, Rose Kennedy Greenway and the Ferry to the Harbor Islands. The room was excellent and had a nice harbor view. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#32 of 83 in Boston
1,403 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#19 of 83 in Boston
2,239 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#25 of 83 in Boston
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,029 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Property: Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#29 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing