We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, Not Worth the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel was a major disappointment. The decor was meh. The sheets were like sandpaper. I could hear the doors of other rooms slamming shut during the night.
Good location near little Italy.
For the price, there are better hotels in Boston.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesnaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. While I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our waterfront location, I’m sorry you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay. I would like to assure you that I’ve shared your comments with our Director of Rooms. Again, we appreciate your feedback and I hope you will consider giving us another chance to “wow” you on your next trip to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Having traveled to Boston for leisure many times, I decided to use the Hot Wire service to book a hotel as I had heard great things about choices provided. One of the 5 Star Hotels suggested was the Fairmont Battery Wharf, and once I saw that I was so excited because the Fairmont has such an excellent reputation world wide. Unfortunately, my experience was anything but 5 Star.

The first night I arrived, my daughter valeted parked her car. She lost the valet ticket and they were all up in arms about, as if it has never happened before.

The room accommodations were something out of the 1970s- very ugly, dated, and TINY.

One evening, when needing ice- was told by the front desk there would be a 35-40 minute wait. Let me add that ice machines are not provided on the guest floors... how inconvenient.

The overall staff enthusiasm was atrocious. They all were very upset about having to do their jobs. Any request seemed to aggravate and annoy them.

The only redeeming quality of this hotel is the proximity to the North End and downtown.

I would NEVER stay here again and I would NEVER recommend someone stay here. I would have been mortified if I had to pay full price for this room and not booked via Hot Wire.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimkellster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hello Jim, and thank you for your post. I’m very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your recent stay. You are correct in pointing out that we do not have ice machines on the guest floors – I can see how this could be an inconvenience and I will make sure this feedback is shared with our hotel’s leadership team to further assess. I’m disappointed that you felt my colleagues were not helpful – This is unacceptable. We can, and will, do better. Thank you, again, for comments, and I hope you’ll consider giving us another chance on your next trip to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

For the price, this was one of my worst so-called five star hotel stays ever. I have been to Boston many times and usually stay around Back Bay or the Downtown areas. As this was a leisure trip I decided to try something different. Never again!

After you have travelled for 36 hours and arrive at 1am, all you want is a bit of service and a quiet comfortable room to sleep in.

When we arrived we were the only customers within miles yet the porter evinced no interest in us in the slightest until we had lifted our own bags out of the trunk of our cab and were half way in the door. On check in we were given "a beautiful room with a queen bed". If only.

First thing we noticed was the heat, it was stifling. Then the smell, as if there was a gas leak but with no gas. Finally there was the bed, maybe it was fit for a queen but there were two of us.  I really dont know what passses for a queen sized bed in Boston, but you would have to be pygmies to sleep two people comfortably in that bed.

Changing rooms, even though the place was over half empty, was no easy matter, but we did eventually get there. If we had previously had the worst room in the house, this must have been the second worst. It was again stiflingly hot, directly above the entrance, with a rattling aircon, but at least a King sized bed.

The aircon only wanted to rattle and had no interest in actually cooling the room. We could at least open windows, although that did mean listening to the porter directly below us and his inane late night conversations on his cell phone.

Look, some of the day time staff were great, Little Italy was a good place to eat etc, but I would never, ever stay here again! And I suggest that you don't either.

Room Tip: Somewhere else in Boston
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I’m so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. I would like to point out that the gentlemen outside are not porters, but a valet service operated by an outside vendor – that said, I do apologize that you were not assisted with your luggage. As it is winter here in Boston, we do of course turn the heat on in our guest rooms – I’m very sorry that this caused you discomfort as our intention was the opposite. I have shared your post with our Director of Rooms so we can thoroughly review our procedures here. Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent a couple nights here & were amazed that we heard crickets at night! Felt like we were in the woods rather than the waterfront in Boston! Wonderful bed, (& bedding), good location (& yet quiet!) excellent gym/spa facility & super friendly staff. About 10 min walk to the heart if the waterfront district and closer yet to Little Italy...just a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetravellivetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I think this location was great. We were 5 minutes from the Aquarium, Fanueil Hall/Quincy Market, Rose Kennedy Greenway and the Ferry to the Harbor Islands. The room was excellent and had a nice harbor view. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is not a usual hotel. I asked for a high floor and I was told that everything above the second floor is apartments, not hotel rooms. The sea view is mediocre, at best. You see part of it, from a side. I asked for a different room and was offered a suite at an extra $100 a night, which I passed. A few minutes later I remembered I had some President's club coupons for a suite upgrade. So I returned to the front desk only to be told that there are no suites available! In addition, I could never use the complimentary car service although the car was always available. How about waiting each morning for 10-15min to get a cab? What about having the doorman offer you a ride on a private car (at a greater cost) instead of calling for a cab, which was waiting across the corner.
Also, the gym is in a different building. Regarding the wifi, I had to reregister my devices every couple of hours. Also, one of the nights, I found the new bathroom towel to be soiled. Finally, the place is away from the good part of the city (Copley square area); you can't go far on foot; you end up spending a lot of money on cab fares. Having said all that, the room was great.

In my experience, there are much better places in Boston.

Room Tip: Not worth paying for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Voyageur_Monde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Hello and thank you for your post. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied by your recent stay – In particular, I’d like to apologize for the miscommunication you experienced regarding an upgrade. It is also unacceptable that you were not assisted in making car arrangements. I have shared your comments with our Front Office Manager as I think your feedback represents a valuable training opportunity for our colleagues. Again, I’m sorry that we missed the mark during your stay, but I do hope you’ll give us another chance to exceed your expectations on your next visit to Boston. Thank you for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Staff was just amazing. They had recommendations that were outstanding.
The room was excellent and well designed for an ADA room. Location is superb
if you are driving. Easy access and close to many venues. Walking distance to the North End Italian area. Paul Revere house and Old North Church are 2 blocks away. Short walk across the bridge to USS Constitution. Terrace is excellent location to watch harbor traffic. US Coast Guard next door with ships coming and going.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyman96ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#24 of 84 in Boston
1,739 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 84 in Boston
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,971 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#23 Family Hotel in Boston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $228 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing