We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Boston”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Gold Service staff were excellent and truly made our trip to Boston memorable for all the right reasons! We particularly enjoyed the restaurants recommended to us by Christine - lovely young lady and a credit to the Fairmont Battery Wharf :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaJudyKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    328
    129
    45
    34
See reviews for
300
616
75
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedminster, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont Battery Wharf for three nights. Great location! Very comfortable bed and a clean room. The location is close to the all the restaurants in the North End, which was very convenient. Parking was alot of money ($45 each night), but we found parking around the corner. Upon check-in we received two booklets on activities in Boston and Salem with maps enclosed. We used these throughout our trip, extremely helpful!!! Josh at the front desk was very helpful with some great suggestions on things to do in the area. He also was very helpful in printing some tickets for a comedy show that we had purchased. Ate breakfast in the restaurant and the service was great, quick and very good! Yesterday when we ate there we received a complimentary warm scones...nice touch! I also like how you cannot use the elevator without your room key...I liked the added security. Also the hotel was on the smaller side and we were located on the 2nd floor and I loved the convenience of having our room so close to the lobby. I hate when you just want to run to your room and you have a long walk to just grab a jacket. Would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esporrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello and thank you for your post. I’m thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed a fabulous three nights with us! I’m especially glad to hear that you found my colleague Josh to be so helpful and welcoming – I look forward to sharing your comments with him, as well as our Front Office Manager, in order to facilitate appropriate internal recognition. Thank you, again, for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed there one night, we enjoyed the water view. We booked a standard room but was upgraded upon arrival to a deluxe room.

The service was excellent and we enjoyed our stay there.

I would stay there again, but it is a little further away from the city centre compare to another hotel we stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello Mila, and thank you for your post. I’m thrilled to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us, from the service to the lovely water views. I’m also happy to hear that you would visit us again – We appreciate your feedback, and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is my second time staying at the Battery Wharf. This time we stayed in a Fairmont Gold suite and it was great. Fairmont Gold includes access to the Gold lounge which includes complimentary breakfast, afternoon canapés and evening desserts. The food was good (though not as good as some other Fairmont lounges). Fairmont Gold is in a separate building away from the main reception – this was good because it was less noisy but at times it felt a bit deserted. The hotel does not have a pool but as a guest you do have complementary access to the Exhale spa – including the hammam steam room and sauna. The location is nice as it is right by the water (and close to all the North End Italian restaurants and walking distance to Quincy Market) but not as central if you wanted to go shopping (Fairmont Copley Plaza will be better for shopping). The service at the gold lounge was great (we mentioned a craving for cookies and we received freshly baked cookies – yum!) and the front desk / concierge Olivia was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I’m so pleased to hear that you returned for a second visit – and chose to experience Fairmont Gold this time! I’m glad that you enjoyed the additional amenities offered on Gold, and found my colleague Olivia so helpful. Thank you, again, for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had a truly lovely time at this hotel last fall!! We stayed in one of the Gold rooms. It was a corner room with an amazing view of the water. The room was very large and well appointed.

We also had a couple meals at the onsite restaurant and it was very good.

I also enjoyed a message at the Spa. It was nice - but not exactly amazing.

The best and most memorable part of our stay was roasting s'mores by a campfire. The hotel opened up one of the outdoor fire pits for us, provided us all with blankets and handmade marshmallows. So we sat out in the cool fall air, roasting marshmallows and staring up at the city lights. It was a wonderful evening for our little family! We are planning a return trip soon!!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FurnessFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I’m thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay, from the peaceful water views in your guest room to your meals at Aragosta Bar and Bistro. I’m especially happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our restaurant’s outdoor fire pits to enjoy s’mores with your family – surely this will be a special memory! Thank you, again, for your post and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the sixth time that I have stayed at this hotel. It is a beautiful building in a great location. There are persistent problems that have been present for years. First the staff is at least aloof, if not arrogant. This is particularly true of the desk staff. Second, on none of my visits has the room been availatble when I arrived. This visit was quite typical. The room was not ready until 5:30 p.m. Also, getting a cab form this hotel is really painful. It typically takes more than 20 minutes and I have had it take 45 minutes. The reason is that the cabs are not allowed to stay on the street that comes to the hotel. The are summoned from about a block away.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhythmdoc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello, and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. While I’m h that you have stayed with us multiple times, I’m sorry to hear that you have been unsatisfied with the check-in process. While I can’t speak to the specific dates you were with us and delays do happen when the hotel is busy, it is unacceptable that you have been made to wait upon multiple visits. Regarding your difficulties with hailing a cab, we have little control over when taxis will pass by on Commercial Street and do have a car service in place to assist guests with transportation. I do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Thank you, again, for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband booked this hotel as a quiet getaway for me while he had business meetings in Boston. We specifically didn't stay at the Marriott where everyone else stayed and he chose the Fairmont thinking it would be a special treat for me.

The room was nice but I believe in quality control and customer service from a 5 star hotel - not to be found. 1. The box spring on the bed was uncovered/exposed - put a cover on it. 2. there was trash in the hallway for at least 24 hours. 3. room was cleaned but toilet paper was removed and not replaced - did they use my toilet? 4. I used the lovely coffee maker but the coffee supply was not replaced for the next day. 5. There was a broken bottle of Patron in our refrigerator 6. turn down service on Tuesday but not Monday?

The biggest things was the bathtub, the A/C and returning from shopping for a nap at 1pm and our room had not been serviced. I had to ask for service and wait on my nap. So much for my quiet few days away. Here are the details:

1. The bathtub stopper didn't work - I brought special tub salts with a bath planned. I wanted to enjoy a lovely, large bathroom and tub since we live in NYC in a small space. :( 2. The A/C never really worked - we asked 3 times for the air to be looked at and it never changed. It was freezing in the hallway but not our room.

The Front Desk staff was pleasant and wanted to help but alas - the had to order a part for the bathtub - why wasn't it discovered and fixed before I got there? They should have moved us to another room. They said they asked for our A/C to be looked at but I'm not sure the temp ever changed. They did bring me more coffee pods but why weren't they replaced. I felt like I was at a 3 star hotel and not the Fairmont at Battery Wharf - whomp, whomp, whomp. :(

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello Mary, and thank you for your post. I’m very sorry to hear that we missed the mark on a number of details during your stay - This is simply unacceptable. I have shared your comments with our Director of Rooms in order to facilitate the appropriate internal follow-up. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll consider giving us another chance to “wow” you on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,557 reviews
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#34 of 83 in Boston
1,385 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,016 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Property: Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing