We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Place but I Expected More”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Adequate Place but I Expected More”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

There are many lovely things about the experience of staying at this hotel. In fairness it is above average--if I could I would give it a 3.5 rating--it just doesn't quite hit the above average when you consider the cost. The best things about this hotel are not necessarily related to the facility itself.

The location is marvelous. Beautiful views , walking distance to Faneuil Hall, and basically located IN the North End. The neighborhood is lovely, away from the crowds and just off the beaten path. The Harbor Walk is wonderful and you can enjoy this right around the hotel itself.

The rooms are very lovely, reasonable size but certainly not spacious. We had the Coast Guard Station view room. I have no idea why some people said there was no privacy due to the boats. (I mean the place is on the water and yes boats can dock there but I really could not see how it would possibly interfere with your privacy as there is some distance.) The chairs in the room were very comfortable. The beds were comfortable and yes, everything was very clean.

Not sure what I was expecting but from the reviews here I really thought the service was going to stand out. I have no specific complaints. But the entire experience was rather hum drum. Normal check-in, no escort to the room--that's okay except that everything is so hard to operate in the room (as has been noted voer and over in these reviews). We had to call the front desk repeatedly to figure out the TV and then to get music connected (and we are not IT phobic folks by any means). Actually the correct remote was missing. There were nice people who came to assist, but really, is this how you want to spend over an hour and then every person that comes in you have to tip. Not a deal breaker for sure, as when contacted they promptly arrived and did what they could. Just time consuming.

We wanted to have a drink outside on the terrace. The bar tender was less than friendly in telling us that it wasn't possible unless we ordered food (it wasn't mealtime or crowded at that point being mid-afternoon). The next morning we ate there for brunch and despite waterside tables being open the hostess sat us at the absolute worst spot. Of course I could have asked for another table, but at a certain point you just get tired of always having to deal with something and all in all it wasn't that critical. Breakfast was fine, but I swear the hollandaise was premade or if not, they need to get a better recipe.

We attended the Jazz Festival for which tickets were $50 and the bands were lovely--these are the jazz bands that play in the lounge through the summer on Saturday nights. But it was poorly arranged. Lines for the food were terribly long. The food looked delicious--but who wants to wait in line for over 30 minutes. If they are trying to save on cost then they should have served less expensive food but made it available. The bars required waiting in another line. Literally to get cheese crackers and a drink took me over an hour. Waitstaff were NOT friendly. You could tell there were just too many people and not enough servers and they were frustrated. But hey, it was a beautiful night and the music was lovely, so we still had a good time.

Sunday morning we got a New York Times at the door and I went downstairs to see if I could have a Boston Globe instead as we were curious as to what was going on in the city. I give the guy credit for going to check but when he came back he said no, they only get five and the five get taken really fast. Okay--really? The hotel is IN BOSTON not New York. And if people always ask for the Boston Globe--why doesn't this fancy schmancy hotel spring for maybe fifteen newspapers?? LOL!!

This was a challenging review to write as we did have a good time and I would definitely stay here again. As you can see there was nothing that bad at all. It was just a series of small disappointments or irritations. My expectatons may have been heightened by reviews here and I also feel that the hotel is quite expensive--especially since it does not have a pool or hot tub or amenities that many other fine hotels provide. (That's okay with me--but then show me something special.) I also think you can hit a place at the wrong time with the wrong staff, or just when things are not going well. But I wanted to write my experences to put it into perspective for other folks considering this place. It just may not be as idyllic as others experience so be aware of that going in or stay in the Gold Level where you can more greatly assure a higher level of service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoyocruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    328
    129
    45
    34
See reviews for
300
616
75
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

THE place to stay on the North End. So close to everything. The boardwalk goes along the water for a great view of the sailboats. THe rooms were top notch; spacious, clean, comfortable bed, large walk in shower. When we arrived ice was already in our bucket. The staff was very helpful, holding our bags until time to go to the airport. The bellman called a Cadillac for our ride to the airport. When you stay in a hotel of this caliber, tip generously everyone you come into contact with and they will treat you like royalty (word spreads among the staff). Cant say anything bad about this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SweetScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My family and I arrived at this hotel to find a friendly and helpful staff. While checking into the hotel one staff member, Josh, really stuck out and went above and beyond to make our stay in Boston amazing. He recommended the most amazing restaurants and helped us pick the best tours of Boston. He is a wonderful staff member and if you need anything while staying at this hotel, he is the one to ask for! The rooms and views are beautiful and the location of the hotel is perfect. The North End is beautiful and a central location to the many historical sites of Boston. I definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Boston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in June. We stayed in the Gold Building, so had free breakfasts and free tapas in the late afternoons. Both were delicious, with a range of items and of good quality.
This was our first trip to Boston and I hesitated to book this hotel, wondering if it was too out of the way. But I loved it! The North End was a fun neighbourhood to wander and it was always buzzing with people. It was easily walkable for us to downtown and Boston Common, amongst other places. And I enjoyed being on the water - walking along the waterfront and the piers.
Our room was a suite - it seemed slightly small for a suite, but was very well-appointed. We had a partial water view and a balcony - although it was too hot to sit out there for very long when we went.
We used the hotel's free bikes a couple of times. What a fabulous way to see so much of the city! We biked along the waterfront and to South Boston and also along the Charles River and over to MIT. We bought a cheap bike lock because the hotel doesn't supply locks and we grabbed a bike map from nearby Urban Adventures.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdnabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The entire stay was excellent. The Presidential Suite was spacious, well finished and exceptionally maintained. The front desk and concierge were of tremendous service and insured that our expectations were fully met. The courtesy BMW vehicle service to near-by venues was great.

The only noise we heard was that of passing pleasure boats, charters and seagulls if you opened the windows on any of the three sides with water views. Quiet pleasant and relaxing. The private terrace was tremendous and offered expansive views of Boston Harbor, the waterfront as well as Charlestown and other nearby areas.

The potential cost of internet service was unheard of in this day and age of free Wi-Fi but the cost was removed by simply joining the Fairmont Presidents Club. The room service generally excellent but pricey as would be expected at a five star hotel. The only issue encountered was with a room service breakfast that, for $80, was delivered late and cold. Without the ability to reheat the meal, the breakfast was sub-par.

The locale of the hotel was perfect for visiting downtown Boston, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, The North End and other waterfront destinations and venues.

Room Tip: Water-front suites and rooms are most desirable. Insure that you request harbor view. The direct wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Make sure to sign up for Fairmont's Pressident's Club loyalty program either before you arrive or at check in to get free Internet access, otherwise it is $12.95 a day. This property compares nicely to other Fairmont Hotels in terms of high level of service and excellent room furnishings and amenities. It is a bit more charming and 'boutique-like' due to its layout. It is really four separate smaller buildings that have been retrofitted into this 150 room luxury hotel unit. We were upgraded on arrival to a Deluxe Harbor view room. The beds were extremely comfortable with luxurious linens. The bathroom was richly decorated with marble and granite and separate full sized bath and shower with excellent toiletries. We had a bit of a learning curve with the Nespresso machine and made quite a mess before figuring it all out. The end result was great coffee so we were happy. The location on the harbor at the north end was excellent for the sightseeing we wanted to do. Our stay was brief so we did not get to try out the spa or restaurants. Would I return to this hotel? Absolutely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've stayed at more places than I can remember, but never had such wonderful service and great room as I did here. Room was modern, full of amenties, great bathroom with large walk in shower. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Waterfront was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridesm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,557 reviews
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#34 of 83 in Boston
1,385 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,016 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Property: Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing