We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed one night in this beautiful hotel in the North End of Boston. Our room was directly on the water. When we opened our window, we were looking directly at the Coast Guard boats. The room was beautiful with cozy beds and a large modern bathroom. The products were dreamy. The room is 5 star! The location is also 5 star. We turned right out of the lobby and walked to the Freedom Trail. The restaurants in this area are charming and delicious. We ate upstairs at Mamma Maria's and I recommend this spot for dinner. Neptune's Oyster is a few blocks away and Modern Bakery where we had our first cannoli. This hotel is excellent!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor with a window facing the boats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threekidsplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    317
    125
    42
    32
See reviews for
293
596
74
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have to travel back and forth to Boston often during the year. I always think I should branch out since there are so many choices of hotels in Boston that I am sure are lovely. That being said the Battery Wharf has my heart. Another wonderful stay. See you in March (I hope).

Room Tip: If you expect a water view make sure you make that known when you reserve your room. The hotel is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houseelfdobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBattery, General Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for your loyalty to Fairmont Battery Wharf. It is so great to see guests return time and time again and I hope that you will continue to do so on future trips to Boston. If there is anything I can do for your during your next stay please do not hesitate to ask. We hope to see you in March!

Warm Regards,
Indu Brar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
361 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on Saturday night. With kids in college in Boston we frequently stop up for a one night stay to visit or drop them off. We have frequented many of the hotels in the area and the Fairmont is right at the top. The design is beautiful and just what my wife andI love. The little touches that are evident everywhere make the place special. The jazz trio in the lounger on Saturday night was very relaxing as we sipped cocktails by the fire listening to the music. The room was huge and well appointed and he turn down service with the little touches was not expected when we returned to the room. One caveat is that if you are looking for a central location for tourist trip, Battery Wharf is a little off the beaten path. We have been there so much that this is not an issue as we were really visiting the north end only. However, Boston is so small and most is within walking distance if you don't mind a 15-30 minute walk, or a short T ride, even the location for someone wanting to tour the city is not a real problem. We highly recommend the place as you feel you are part of something special and are treated that way.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBattery, General Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to make it a special experience. It is great that you were able to take advantage of the live jazz in Battery Lounge. It one of the newer additions to our hotel, and we are thrilled that it has become so successful. I appreciate your recommendation and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Regards,
Indu Brar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I enjoyed this property in while in boston. Very good location to go walking and on tours! The hotel has good food if you wish to stay in the hotel and eat. It's attached to the residences that they offer for the lucky people who bought a condo from them like so many hotel brands are doing now. Would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViraniMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico CIty
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Despite the cold we are not used to, the staff at the Fairmont has made us feel allways warmly wellcome. We spent new year's eve at Boston and received a complimentary upgrade to the gold building. Although we couldn't use the services of the gold lounge, because of remodelling, we were advised well in advance of the situation and offered every generous courtesy to make us feel cozy. The room was excellent, big and with a gorgeus corner view of the bay.
The staff is allways attemptive and after several visits they make you feel well aclonwledged and received. We will definitely allways consider the Fairmont Battery Wharf when staying at Boston. Thanks to all of the proffesional and very friendly staff, form making a cold winter stay very warm.

Room Tip: If you chose the gold building, try a corner suite with a view. May be a little bit more expensive b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at The Fairmont Battery Wharf over Thanksgiving 2012 in the Club Building. We had a fantastic experience and really enjoyed the property. First of all, staying in the club building was WELL worth it. The staff there were extremely friendly and helpful. They assisted me in having room service sent to the club lounge for our children and helped us get dinner reservations. The food and drink assortment in the club lounge for breakfast and appetizers was outstanding and above and beyond what I had expected.

The room was very spacious; however, a little oddly laid out...although it worked for us. It was a suite on the corner of the building and had a nice living area, a separate mini-bar area and a separate dining area, as well as a second bathroom. My only complaint was minor and was with housekeeping. When we arrived there were no towels, soap or trash can in the second bathroom, which was annoying as we did use it. There was also a half used bottle of scope in the master bathroom, which was obviously an oversight. Other than those things the rooms were clean and well kept.

We really loved the location of this hotel. It doesn't feel like you are in a major city. Being on the water was beautiful (even in November) and being so close to the North End and Little Italy felt so charming and neighborhood-y. We walked everywhere and did the Freedom Trail without having to get into a car/taxi. It is very easy to get to Faneuil Hall and many of the sites by foot from this hotel. If you walk along the water the Aquarium is close by too.

Being in the North End, there were many restaurant choices within walking distance too. We did eat at the Hotel restaurant for Thanksgiving and received spectacular service by Colleen!

Next time we are in Boston we will come back to the Fairmont...looking forward to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb7764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontBattery, General Manager at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am happy to hear that you had such a great experience in Fairmont Gold and thoroughly enjoyed the use of the lounge. I would like to apologize for the housekeeping mistakes in your guest room and appreciate your understanding. I will make sure your comments are addressed at the department's weekly training meeting.

It sounds as though you experienced all that our location has to offer despite the chilly November weather. I hope that you will return again soon, perhaps during the summer months as our waterfront location during that time is idyllic. Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you during your next stay with us.

Regards,
Indu Brar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

What can I say....we loooove Fairmont hotels. We love the rooms, the service, their restaurants and their locations. We have fallen in love with Boston's North End and that is, in part, due to our stays at the Battery Wharf. You wanna take a walk on Hanover Street and enjoy the endless good Italian restaurants and pastry shops? That's a 5-minute walk. Wanna go enjoy Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall? That's a 10-minute walk. The Aquarium? 15 minutes. And we have always felt warmly welcomed by the Fairmont staff. And when we have run into any little hiccups they address them prompty and to our satisfaction and always remeber that the "customer is always right". We have never left a Fairmont disatisfied and will hopefull continue to make the Battery Wharf our annual year-end holiday destination.

Room Tip: All Fairmont room are good. Just tell the friendly staff what you want and they will always do their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Property: Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing