We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed over the Labor Day weekend for a wedding, and we couldn't be happier with experience. The staff, particularly the bell staff, were extremely helpful and provided a very personal level of service. We'll give a call out to Khaleed, Loubens, and Evan, who all exceeded expectations. We stayed in two separate rooms while there: (1) room in building 4, 2nd floor was nicely appointed. Turndown service and housekeeping were as expected. Although it was next to the elevator, I didn't detect any noise. The only issue really is the keys are somewhat temperamental and are needed to access the building, elevator, and the room. The underground walkways are a nice feature to get to the main and the gold building but don't access the spa building. (2) room was one of their larger suites in building 3, which has a great view. The extra space was nice and the room was well appointed to entertain. The only difference from the first room was a lack of a proper workstation, but the shower was outstanding with both a rain shower and horizontal nozzles.

The food at Aragosta was tasty. They have a nice little outdoor set up with couches and a fire pit with the option to order smores. Unfortunately, we didn't have the time to try.

FYI, you can take a water taxi right to hotel from Logan, which is $17 roundtrip per person, so if it is just you, you can save quite a bit over a taxi. Plus it is a nice way to take in Boston Harbor.

Bottom line: hotel's service, location, and amenities make this a perfect place for a Boston stay. The only watch out is if you want to use the T (subway), you have a bit of a walk.

Room Tip: Always ask for a full harbor view especially in the summer and fall. FYI because of the building lo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarksdv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
There are newer reviews for Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me515 was incredibly generous in her review of our stay there. She is right, gorgeous hotel and rooms, very clean. Service: poor. Woman at front desk was not apologetic at all when our room was not ready. In fact, seemed irritated we questioned why it wasn't ready at 3pm (check in time). The round of drinks was only offered after us waiting 50 minutes and becoming increasingly irritated and checking in with the front desk.
Our car was lost twice during our one night stay. At one point they tried to give me someone else's car. And when we left the hotel to go out to bars in the area, we asked for cabs to be called. The valet guy put us in a very nice town car with leather seats and told us this was complimentary from the hotel. Well, we paid 3x as much as our friends in the yellow cab going the exact same distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently spent a weekend in Boston and stayed at the Fairmont Battery Wharf. We had a regular king size room with a view of the Coast Guard - all the room and amenities you could possibly want! Location was excellent - walking distance to Aquarium, Harbor Cruise, Faneuil Hall, Quincy Market. Lovely breakfasts on the patio and cocktails with a jazz ensemble in the Lobby on Friday evening. Be sure to walk over to the Hanover Street area and have a great meal at any of the many dining establishments there. Our favorite was Neptune Oyster House!! But the best part of the weekend was the service at the hotel - everyone was friendly and so eager to provide assistance!! They even provided gratis transport in a larrge black BMW sedan to Fenway Park on Friday night and to our restaurant in the Back Bay area on Saturday night. We;ll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, Marketing Coordinator at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such wonderful comments. We are so thrilled that you had such a great experience and were able to take advantage of so many of the hotel's offerings. We are also happy to hear that our staff was able to provide you with outstanding service. We hope you enjoyed your weekend in Boston and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had no idea what we were in for when we booked our one night at this hotel. As we were travelling to Nantucket we needed a hotel relatively close to Logan but did not want to be at the airport. As frequent guests at other Fairmont hotels we decided to try it out and it was far beyond our expectations! We booked a "gold" club room and found it was in a separate building away from the other parts of the hotel. We were warmly greeted and escorted to our room by one of the reception staff who explained the door key system and introduced us to the features of our room.She even suggested that we really should partake in an Italian Festival taking place that evening on Commercial Street. We did and it was wonderful, we had the best Italian food of our lives and enjoyed the celebration very much. I asked about running and was directed to the "Harbour Walk" which was a good run along the wharfs and jetties. We made use of the "club room" both for refreshment and breakfast and welcomed the personal service of the attendants. All in all it was a great place for two weary travellers to relax and enjoy North Boston.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edmarchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Fairmont on the labour day weekend.
It is a great location close to fine dining as well as Quincy Market.
I would suggest getting a room away from the bar area as it gets a little loud in the late eveing.
We requested a move and was done very quickly.
Hats off to the front desk for there recommondations on dining and shopping.
GO WHALE WATCHING it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Although this is a very nice hotel, there was just something about this property that makes me take pause. Yes, I gave it a "Very Good" rating, but I really feel that it's somewhere between "Average" and "Very Good" although there is not one thing that makes it that way; it's a bunch of just little things put together...

First of all, to get there, take the water taxi from Logan to Battery Wharf. It's an easy transfer from Logan to the dock on Bus 66 (and it's free). The water taxi is really fun, and the views of the harbour are fantastic! And it's cheap; $17 per person round trip. It's a good time!

As a Fairmont President's Club Premier member, I was able to use a couple of coupons to upgrade to a suite, room 4111. There is a ton of room in this suite, so should you wish to spread out, you can do so, no problem!

The room is located on the ground floor of the building opposite the main building at 4 Battery Wharf. The hotel occupies the first 2 floors of the buildings at 3 and 4 Battery Wharf, and there is a third adjacent building that houses the Fairmont Gold rooms. Room 4111 is located opposite the main building at 4 Battery Wharf. As you walk through the 2 sets of glass double doors, the doors to the suite are right there. The room is large and spacious, with a generously-sized entry foyer and living area, and windows that look out onto the boardwalk that encircles the building and to the building on the adjacent wharf; there is really no view of Boston harbour in this location, which is disappointing. The room is nicely furnished in an art deco style with plenty of seating in the living area. Interestingly, the bathroom is located off the entry foyer, and does not connect to the bedroom; a slightly odd floorplan decision. As well, the bathroom only has a shower; there is no tub. Although not a big deal for me, having a tub is nice, just in case you feel like a soak... The base of one of the glass lamps in the living area was cracked quite severely, and likely should be replaced. There is a nice little Nespresso coffee maker in the room, wine glasses, etc., and so the space would be a nice one to entertain in should you wish to do so. The bedroom is not as generously sized as the living area, but the king bed is nicely appointed with soft linens and is very comfortable. A second flat screen TV is located on a credenza that is not opposite the bed (likely it is there because of where the cable connection is). Frankly, I thought there should be another door to the bathroom there so you didn't have to walk out into the living area to get to the bathroom... In any case, I found the furniture layout a bit odd, as well as the placement of the lightswitches; but perhaps it is just me. I just felt the room seemed a little "off"...

Being on the gound floor just inside of the main doors, there is noise from the hallway outside. Everyone has to walk by the front door of the suite to get to their room, and there was a particularly high amount of commotion one morning in the hallways with people coming and going, banging into the walls and dropping things onto the floor. I'm not sure what this is about, but as I do enjoy sleeping in while on vacation, the noise was disruptive.

The staff are very nice, and accomodating, particularly the restaurant staff. They are great! We enjoyed breakfast there on all 3 mornings and dinner the last night we were there after getting back late from a day trip to Provincetown on the highspeed ferry. Twice during the long weekend, I tried to request a ride in the house BMW 7 series, but both times, I was unable to. One time, the driver was at dinner, and the second time someone had reserved it 10 minutes before I asked. I seem to have bad luck with house cars, whether in this property or in others I have visited. Anyways, it was all a bit annoying...

Overall, my weekend at the Fairmont Battery Wharf was nice, but not outstanding. And as I said earlier, it wasn't just one thing, but a bunch of small, probably insignificant things. But at some point, those insignificant things can add up, and I think they did here. Usually, I can't say enough nice things about the Fairmont properties, but likely this is one of the properties that I won't be in a rush to return to. Perhaps I will try the Fairmont Copley Square the next time...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYZErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a newly built hotel in a newly renovated section of Boston. The hotel and its surrounding area was an exceptionally pleasant surprise in a part of town that years back wouldn't warrant a visit. The room was spacious and immaculate with all the usual amenities. I was most pleased to find a Nespresso machine in my room - beats the heck out of the usual horrendous coffee found in most hotel rooms. The staff was friendly and professional and I would definitely stay here again. From check-in to check-out, everything was seamless, no hitches at all! I was on a business trip and was thankful that everything worked perfectly and speedily. A plus was that the hotel was quiet, perhaps because of its being on the water, but whatever the reason, I was able to get a good night's rest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#31 of 84 in Boston
1,420 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#20 of 84 in Boston
1,067 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#23 of 84 in Boston
1,633 reviews
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $228 - $851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing